We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be deceived...”

Hello Vietnam Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hello Vietnam Hotel
Ranked #506 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be deceived...”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We booked in a hotel called "The World Hotel" via Hostelworld.com. Considering the price is cheap and the pictures in their website looked very high-class, we decided to booked here. We originally booked for a single room and a twin room but later on, changed to 2 twin rooms. We sent them an email twice but no reply was every returned to us. So we went ahead in good faith that the guys there got what we requested.
When we arrived at the place we were very shocked, far from what we imagined. The taxi rolled on in a dark and narrow alleyway called Thanh Ha lane in the old quarter and I hoped the taxi got the wrong location. A few meters ahead we saw The World Hotel, a tall and seemingly old and dingy building. A man in his 50s called in for the receptionist when we arrived. We were then transferred to this hotel, "Hello Vietnam Hotel", which is just a few meters across the street.
We were ushered into the room and had the shock of our lives. The room seemed almost dilapidated. The ceiling corners were filled with cobwebs and the bathroom door almost fell apart. The door had a small gap at the bottom that we could hear the voices outside. When I get to hang my clothes in the closet, the wood clothesline was broken, there was no hanger and a huge bulk of matress filled the closet instead. The window sill was plastered with a newspaper held on by masking tape. The only consolation I had was that the TV seemed OK and the water pressure is strong and the heater works well.
The next day around 3AM, we were awaken by cussing voices from the outside. Sound insulation is close to non-existent. Later on, we discovered that they switch off the general electric control every time we go out. We had to go back downstairs and ask them to switch on the current.
The receptionist, who are two guys are quite accomodating, both can speak broken English. But as always, I was now very cautious with them especially when its time to check-out to pay the bills. They calculate so fast. I did not agree with the calculation so I persuaded the guy to calculate the rate step by step. The new calculated rate was half of the price that he originally calculated. He seemed apologetic and agreed with me.
Well as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. But I think it's not right to deceive customers just to get bookings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARE-PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    2
    11
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We booked David guest house which was over the road from this place. Without explanation when we went to check in there he led us over to Hello Vietnam Hotel.
First sign of awfulness was they had to turn on the power in the hotel.
Second sign the guy gave us the key then made himself scarce
Thirdly the door to the room was ajar as it was unable to be closed/locked
The bathroom had dirty towels in it and bath was disgusting.
When we questioned the man about the state of the room it didn't seem to matter to him.
We walked out after 5 minutes it was by far the worst place we have been in since we started traveling 2 months ago. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwirish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

sheffield uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

When we arrived at this hotel we were greeted by a really friendly and warm greeting. It looked a bit rough around the edges but didnt seem too bad. Then we got to our room, it was dirty and dark. The shower head was not attached to the wall the toilet was broken. We did get a free toilet roll though! We were out of the hostel the next morning at 6 to go to Thailand they did organise a taxi for us which was nice. There were plenty of people around workind the next morning with buckets and mops and cleaning products I just wonder what they were cleaning!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

When we arrived in Hanoi, we were very disappointed that the promised free pickup was not there. We went by the airport taxi ( 15 USD ) to Hello Vietnam. After arriving we got a room on the 4th floor. In front of our room door, there were women sleeping on the floor. Look very strange. When entered the room, we were in a shock.
The ceiling was leaking, the smell was bad, and there were no curtains in front of the window, There was lot of hair (not from us) on the floor. The bathroom had no light, so we went immediatly down floor for complaining. The boy in front desk get a look with us and said only sorry, tomorrow we will fixed it, everybody is now sleeping....
So we take shower without light, the water from the shower was running very bad. There was no toiletpaper. We got a horrible night. At 05.30 am there was a big noise from the street, people were starting a market. Without breakfast we immediatly check out of this hotel.
We booked this hotel from hostelworld.com. All comments were good/ outstanding, I think this is fake. Also the photo of the room on that website is fake. I think they have used photo's of other hotels. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikoman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The photos of this hotel are very deceiving. We booked this hotel based on the reviews & photos, but the rooms we stayed in on levels 1 & 2.. were nothing like the photos or reviews at all. The room smelt, the beds were damp and linen all stained, the bathroom was awful (looked like it had not been cleaned in many many years). The toilet seat also fell off when I lifted it up. It is ok if you're on a budget and not after something really clean, but if you want clean - I would not recommend this hotel at all. I could not handle it and had to leave the hotel and go elsewhere (was VERY happy to give up the fee already paid) I can't understand how I've read other sitesd review and people rave about this hotel.. It is NOTHING at all like the great reviews. The service at the counter was ok, but when asking about prices for car travel, we were quoted with one price, then charged another much more expensive price when confirmation was made.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMsVy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

We booked this 'hotel' via Asia Rooms and when we arrived very late at night, we found out that it was a backpackers hostel (and looked NOTHING like the pictures).. The room was meant to be the Deluxe suite, and was very dirty.. The owner removed a pillow and towel before we could see them properly.. The window was replaced by screwed up newspaper and there was no soap in the bathroom.. When we decided to go to bed we pulled back the sheets to find a lot of hair and dirt that wasnt ours.. The doona was filthy and had stains and other stuff still stuck to it.. As a consequence we put the doona on the floor and slept in our clothes for the night and checked out the next morning without our breakfast.. We ended up staying a few doors down at the City Gate, as it was recommended by fellow travellers, and had a wonderful time..

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_smurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Found this place through Lonely Planet Thorn Tree Forum. Cannot THINK why it rated a good review. If you want to stay in a place in the Old Quarter, think again!!! Incredibly noisy, filthy beyond belief, and some of the most unfriendly people on the streets I have ever met while traveling. This hotel itself is down a nasty, narrow and absolutely filthy alley type street, unaccessible by taxi. We had to drag our wheeled luggage along the alley, picking up lettuce leaves, garbage and who knows what else to get to the front door. Our room was listed as the "deluxe, balcony suite - very quiet". Well, it did have a balcony and may have been the deluxe suite, but it was not quiet. There is a street market directly below that starts up at 5:00 a.m. The bathroom had a kitchen tap dish rinser for a shower, the toilet was stained and the floor dirty. No toilet paper. The floor to ceiling curtains were stained a foot up the fabric. The doors to the balcony did not shut properly. The three very narrow and dirty flights of stairs up to the room had never seen a vacuum. There was a mattress covering a broken window in the stairwell, where someone's luggage had gotten away from them and presumably crashed through the glass onto the street below. The towels were little more than rags, though appeared to have been laundered. I think the stains were at this point, permanent. The laundry on the bed however was clean. The host is wonderfully accommodating and cheerful. Willing to please and the very best thing about this place. (A little disconcerting to have "I love you!" with a heart drawn on the business card though.) Did I mention that breakfast was included? We did not partake and in fact, left as quickly as possible the next day. If anyone mentions this place as a possible destination - RUN!

  • Liked — The host.
  • Disliked — The accommodation,location and filth!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank tellitlikeitisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#179 of 578 in Hanoi
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 578 in Hanoi
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Vietnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Vietnam Hotel

Property: Hello Vietnam Hotel
Address: 28 Thanh ha lane | Hoan kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing