We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambivalent impression”

Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel
Ranked #190 of 626 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2010

After a long journey we got there. The first thing we needed was hot long shower, but due to electricity problem we had no hot water (neither AC) in our room. We asked the team to have shower in one of the empty rooms and they asked us to come downstairs to the hotel lobby and take a shower at the crew shower stall which was not so clean and comfortable. beside this event the crew was incredibly helpful and speak excellent english. Breakfast was good comparing to other hotels and the room was clean, big and we even had PC with free internet. Overall experience was that you can get more for 30$/night...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

It wasnt bad the first time we stayed here. the staff neglectd to tell us we had compllimentary brekfast until the last day of our second check in. communication was poor very little to no english spoken which is fine. the first room was really bad had no hot water when we told the staff they told us they would fix it tomorrow.... which ofcourse didnt happen. we asked for a different room which fixed that problem. we used the laudry service and most of our clothes came back ruined. then to top it off the manager asked if he could borrow 380000 dong from us because the person he was paying for i dont knnow what wouldnt take USD not goinng back when just arouund the corner there are better places for less..

the location was great

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

This hotel has the potential to be outstanding as it's in a great location smack bang in the middle of the old quarter however our stay was tainted by the awful service by staff which left us feeling unsafe.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by night staff with limited english who took us to three different rooms before settling us in the 'right one'. There is no elevator in the hotel so up and down about 6 floors with bags on was quite annoying to say the least.

When we finally got to our room it seemed clean however there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom that got worse after you showered.

The bathroom door didn't close and the wardrobe door handles were broken. Upon checking out the "in room safety locker" we realised the door had been broken off its hinge and asked the staff to look at all three things, the door, wardrobe and locker. They fixed the locker by jimmying it back into place and said that nothing could be done about the rest of our problems.

We weren't told about the free breakfast included in our room rate until our second morning which left us feeling ripped off. We went on a day trip to Halong Bay (not booked through hotel) and upon returning in the evening we found our safety deposit box had been broken into and the lock had been bent (possibly with a screwdriver??) to force entry.

Luckily we weren't stupid enough to leave any serious valuables in the box but our stuff had been gone through. We were furious and when we confronted the hotel manager we were told that the "cleaner probably did it to make sure the room was clean" the cleaners job to break into the safety deposit box? After an enormous discussion the manager finally agreed that maybe he needed to talk to his staff but we were offered no consolation and got no apology for the fact that we left feeling unsafe.

All throughout the night you are woken by banging doors and people running up and down the stairs. We stayed out of necessity and did not enjoy it at all.

The manager of this hotel constantly has tripadvisor open on his computer so Im sure I'll get a response, but a final word of warning.

It is not amazing. It is not a great place to stay and the staff are not attentive. Full stop. Hanoi has alot to offer, this place does not.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Booked Hanoi Phoenix II through the airport at a reasonable price. The hotel is located down a side street but we later found out what a great location this was, I will give more info on this at the end. The room was fantastic we were given the choice of low middle or high floor, my boyfriend chose high which was the top floor 6, no lift so this meant we had to lug our luggage up to the top but that was our own fault. The room was clean, fairly big, mini bar (great at cheap Vietnam prices and saved trugging down 6 floors every time you wanted a drink!), clean bathroom with toilet and shower, supplied breakfast also which I thought was a fairly good range with at least 8 options. 2 computers in lobby with free internet and free tea/coffee all the time. As for the location we got a map from the hotel and found that at the end of the street is a great little restaurant called Little Hanoi recommended by Lonely Planet which was lovely, then not far after is Bai Hoi junction, a cross roads of small shops that sell cheap beer a great place to sit on little chairs and meet other travellers from all countries on all types of trips! Its also a couple of mins walk from all main shops/eateries etc. Met plenty of other travellers in the hotel lobby too which was great to swap tips and get info!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Most of the builidings in Ha Noi are tall so there will always be stairs to climb, but we stayed on the top floor and it was a seriously long way up, especially with a heavy suitcase! As the weather was rainy the room was freezing and damp; not necessarily their fault but with damp beds it wasn't the most comfortable place to sleep.

Breakfast was ok, you don't have a choice on what you get, as with most budget places in Vietnam, so we didn't complain. BUT they only have two tables so you're forced to sit on top of people you don't know; not great if you're feeling antisocial at 7am.

The location was the best thing about this hotel but other than that I wouldn't bother going back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBritishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I booked this hotel because my friends stayed to recemmend,this is mini hotel so it is not fit with high budget tourist ,especially location is inside a lane not easy to find but with me ,a backpacker so it is fit with me ,i stayed here total 4 nights ,2 nights before trip to Halong and 2 nights after that. i felt very happy to stay here,the staff is very friendly ,gave me a map and told me detail information around area and how to get back hotel the easiest way ,breakfast with many options to ready to you in the morning,there is one table with tea and coffee available all day ,free internet sometime slow but usable
I booked halong bay trip with them It is very great trip at cheap price so it was a great time to stay here

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiterabbit15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Oh my god! Run the other way. Their website makes this place look great, amazing what a good lens can do. This is the hotel that made me question the whole TripAdvisor concept. People actually rate this place well…I don’t get it. We only stayed one of the three nights we were supposed to then moved to Gia Thinh

Pros
· Friendly staff, very helpful even with all the havoc their hotel caused us
· Two free internet stations
· Did arrange a very luxurious Ha Long Bay cruise on the Hanoi Opera junk
· On a very quiet alleyway with no car traffic

Cons
· Did not honor our reservation. We booked 5 rooms, they only had 3 and sent some of us next door to the Indochina Queen Hotel (did not review). I was not impressed with the rooms there until I saw the rooms at Hanoi Phoenix then I was glad I was moved.
· 6 floors, no elevator
· rooms smelled bad
· laundry (ie towels) spilling onto the stairs, very messy in general
· quietly billed as gay owned or gay friendly…no gay person I know would be comfortable here

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddyinbedtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel

Address: No. 12 Dao Duy Tu Alley, 50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 626 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June, 2008,Hanoi Phoenix II ideally situated in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter (middle of everything) and on quiet street surrounded by bustling old streets The 30 rooms with spacious and well-furnished rooms. The rooms with Big window and are equipped with IDD telephone, air-conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, comfortable bathroom, (bath-tub and hot shower), coffee and tea making facilities, ADSL Internet, fully English and Continental Breakfast for free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Phoenix 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing