We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't have wished for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
Ranked #309 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I came to Hanoi for 3 weeks on business and chose to stay close to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake. It was only fitting that I stayed at the Hotel named after it!

The staff and service was fantastic, really friendly. For the price, I don't think there is a better Hotel in the Hanoi city center! I would fully recommend this to anyone visiting Hanoi - business people, backpackers, family etc. Everything you need is catered for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H-Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Nice hotel,near Hoan Kiem lake.convinient.comfortable.relaxable.Good place to stay.
Reasonable price,kind people. Many shops near there,you can go shopping there,paintings,artwork,silk,untique,nice food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YANG Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here for a month while working in Hanoi. The two girls who run the place Nhung and Tuyet are incredibly friendly and helpful and really make it feel like home to come back to each evening! Nhung's English is among the best I have encountered in Vietnam. They helped us get maps, bus tickets, flights, laundry...
Nothing was too much trouble!
Rooms are simple but clean and ours was good sized and quiet and had a large window and great wifi connection. The pho for breakfast is excellent.
The tours they organise were good and when comparing to others on the trip, we seemed to get good value.
It's a good location, near to the old quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake but on a quieter street than some.
Definitely recommend if you're looking for a budget hotel with a personal touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. They accomodated a few changes we needed to make with a big smile and tried to help however they could.
They looked after our luggage for free while we travelled to Halong Bay.
The rooms which face onto the street are best. There is traffic noise, but it becomes more 'white noise' and wasnt a problem while sleeping.
Breakfast is simple but yummy.
The hotel is well located, near the river and in the middle of the old quarter
On my final return trip, I stayed in a room not facing the street. I really battled with the amount of noise, everything echoes up the stairs into the room, resulting in a not great nights sleep. I guess the traffic noise in the other street-facing rooms drowns this out.
Lots of stairs, but the staff kindly carried our bags up!

Room Tip: Choose a street-facing room, the other rooms echo the noise up the stairs badly. The traffic noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessJuliaGoolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

This place is just great, the staff are incredibly helpful, we stayed in a double room on the top floor for 4 nights first then travelled to sapa and climbed mt fansipan, we arrived back in hanoi at 5 in the morning and the staff were weary but still smiling! We booked a day trip to halong bay through them aswell which we got cheaper than any of the few other agencies we checked, and when they noticed we were struggling up the stairs they organised for our room to be changed to the lowest floor and moved our luggage while we were away! They really will help you with anything you need including putting credit on our mobile phone! We paid $15 a night and that is a bargain, great location, great bed and even better staff! While I am writing this we are waiting for our taxi to the bus station and the receptionist has brought us a plate of fruit! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornishjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we turned up knowing the room was $12 (we had checked via agoda previously). The girl at the desk told us it was $15 but we bartered by seeing we would go away and book online so they may aswel give it us for $12... which they did.
The room was on the top floor (no elevator) and had a comfortable double bed, tv, fridge and hot shower. The only downside to the room was it was pretty cold due to being next to the hole for the A/C ducts on the top floor but still the duvet was enough for at night (summer will be fine).
Quite petit but as we checked out they asked us if we had drank the 2 500ml bottles of water and as we had assumed they were complimentary like most places we said yes and they charged us $1 for the both, like i said petit but when your on a budget and can get more for less it was a bit annoying - i said they need to put a price guide up for future visitors.

Room Tip: The water isnt free. The top floor is cold in the colder months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turbominicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

For $13- a night for a twin share this place is fabulous value for money! We had breakfast included, a balcony with street views and tv. The rooms were some of the cleanest I've come across in three months of travel and the location is ideal.

The staff are so lovely and the english is great. They helped organise our overnight trip to halong bay and let us keep out big packs in our room for free for the night and kept our original room for us for our return. The only minor issue was the wifi was a little slow but this is budget accomodation and did not effect my stay at all

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#222 of 607 in Hanoi
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#297 of 607 in Hanoi
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#482 of 607 in Hanoi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#153 of 607 in Hanoi
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#144 of 607 in Hanoi
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#209 of 607 in Hanoi
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel

Address: 29 Hang Trong Str., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel is located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter. It takes only one minute to walk to reach romantic Hoan Kiem Lake, to visit Ngoc Son temple, the Huc bridge. Banks, post offices and airline boxes are just a few minutes walk. You can either stroll around through Hanoi popular small streets with silk and souvenir shops or visit Thang Long water puppet shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing