We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional, inexpensive hotel with a decent lobby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #256 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Functional, inexpensive hotel with a decent lobby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel gets the job done without much fanfare.

I am an avid hotel gym goer and the gym in this hotel offers decent cardio machines, 1 weights machine, some free weights, thats it. Serves it purpose.

I prefer the wing with the lake view. It offers decent view of the lake, and is slightly quieter compared to the other. If you are someone who is sensitive to the sound of car/ motor bike horn noise, i recommend the lake wing.

I like the key card security in the lift. It gives me a feeling that this hotel is safe.

Wifi connection is Good! My only gripe is the room wifi network does not allow its user to logon multiple devices at the same time. If you are a businesman who works on your pc, you cant whatsapp your family while working. To get around this, you could access wifi from the hotel lobby ( no login needed)


Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    53
    45
    12
    1
See reviews for
6
4
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Average describes the Hotel well. Nothing special, but not a total disaster. Restaurant service is very poor, food is overpriced and poor quality. The coffee shop is OK, and the coffee is good but costs $5 per cup. There is a selection of three ageing cake slices that you can buy with the coffee - again overpriced. Breakfast buffet is OK and caters for all tastes. There is a casino downstairs and an in room massage service which although more expensive has very attractive staff. There is a night club upstairs if you wish to spend more money here. If you have other options, don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dude6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Back to this hotel after an absent of about half a year. Nothing change much for this hotel. But staffs are still very friendly and still remember you.
Still prefer staying at this hotel, maybe because I am use to the surrounding and the good room rate I am getting.
Weather at this time of year is very warm, and hotel room air-con working very well to keep off the heat.
The morning breakfast restaurent at 2nd floor now under renovation, and you directed to the restaurent at the ground floor, which is good. Breakfast is rather good now as compare to previous.
Food court menu is much better now, as there are pictures to show the dishes you are ordering. So you will not get it wrong.
Overall, I still prefer this hotel as compare to others, and I stay again on my next trip, provided they do not up the room rates.

Room Tip: Prefer room that faces the lake rather than old houses or building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here as a business associate booked it.

The hotel is your average hotel in a developing country trying to make good. It has a travel agency, an HSBC ATM, a couple of restaurants (including one called a Food Center that was frequented by locals), a casino, and a massage parlour. The massage parlour is meant for the men: the frosting on the two glass doors showed two cavorting ladies.

The hotel is comfortable for a business stay where you are during the day and return to get some work done and sleep. Bathroom amenities are absent the body lotion (good before flights).

Doors and walls are very thin. I'm in a corner where I can view the greyish water of the lake but even so I can hear my neighbour coming and going.

There's nothing particularly good or bad about this hotel. So if you landed here and your business associate advises you to book it, go for it. If you are with family or looking for a hotel near shopping and other tourist distractions, keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The view of the lake is nothing to shout about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hanoi elegance ruby hotel location in old quarter town very convenience to walk around for hanoi city tour and shop around for souvenirs, food, branded shop boutique and shopping Mall There are many choices for the hotel accommodation in old quaters and most of the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.

must do :
i) Vietnamese foot massage very confort and worth to try and value money around USD 6 for 60 - 70minutes.

ii) vietnam cutural Water puppet show

iii) local rice noodler soup(chicken & beef), vietnamese spring roll, fried beacurd, fish cake

iv) vietnamse local coffee (strong and aroma)

Sapa mountain - have to travel by overnight train will reconmend Sapaly Train and buy 2 berth for confortable and it will restless for those whose height more than 5'8'' for the bed lenght. Fansipan train not so heiginic - bed & blancket. Worth visit to Sapa mountain - natural beautiful scenery and a lot of mountain track. visit minority groups, in particular the mountain villages and the rice paddy fields - best month to visit is June - july more colourful view

Halong Bay cruise - Worth going (reconmend 3d2n) suggest Paradise cruise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whyyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacoor, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I understand there are two wings in the hotel, I was put in the old wing with city views. The newer wing gets the lake views. The elevators in the old wing could barely fit 4 people. Hanoi Hotel has that old hotel feel, my room was a little too dark for my taste and the furniture were too grandpa, I think. :p

There's free wifi, which was reliable, though I got a feeling they don't offer this to all guests, as there was a tariff of internet charges in my room. There's also a flat LCD TV that had English channels I could count with one hand. The buffet breakfast is in the new wing, so I had to walk quite a bit every morning. The food is the reward, there's a nice spread of bread, noodles, dim sum, meat, and fruits. One of the best selections I've seen in the region.

As for the staff, we asked the front desk for restaurant suggestions, and gave us the top restaurant, Quan An Ngon, which of course we've done already. He was challenged and gave us another suggestion, which turned out to be quite good. Really appreciated his help.

Overall, I'd stay in this hotel again, and probably will pay a bit more for a room in the new wing. ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yjgisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

My second stay at this hotel. It is not located in the old quarter of Hanoi, but is reasonably near and in a less crowded locality and about 1 km from the convention center. Check in was handled efficiently, however, I got a room in the old wing. The old wing rooms are old, small and the view is mostly of the front and the road. The TV is small, no LCD or flat-screen. (However, I stayed in the new wing during my last trip, those rooms are bigger and have a nice view of the lake). The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but I found that this is a Vietnamese standard and not restricted to this hotel.
There is free internet in the room, which worked well. The breakfast is good, with a good selection of Vietnamese and international dishes. The Chinese restaurant is excellent, one of the best I have experienced anywhere. There is a decent nightclub, a small casino and a full spa attached to the hotel. The spa is really good, great value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful, even though many of them have difficulty understanding English properly.
All in all, a decent hotel, good value for a business traveler, will definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the new wing with a lake view- a bit more costly, but the rooms are newer,bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#123 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.4 mi away
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
#168 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#99 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#75 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hotel

Property: Hanoi Hotel
Address: D8 Giang Vo St, Ba Dinh Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Hanoi. It distinguishes itself from others because of its exclusive facilities that no other hotels can provide. This all-in-one hotel includes one of the top night clubs, the finest Chinese cuisine, and of course the best e-gaming center in Hanoi. Winners Club Slot Centre is one of Vietnam’s few electronic gaming venues with more than 50 slot machines, Blackjack, Baccarat, Roulette games, and Hanoi’s first and currently only poker table. If you are feeling lucky, undoubtedly a jackpot or winning hand awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing