We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for a few days business trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #250 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel for a few days business trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My business partner made the reservation. The hotel is really outdated, 15-20 minutes drive from the city center, depends on the traffic. The restaurant at the lobby level expensive the night bar extremely overpriced.
My room was theoretically non-smoking one, but in practice it smelled like hell of smoke. I checked a smoking room to compare but it was a real nightmare.
Next time I try to find a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    53
    45
    12
    1
See reviews for
6
4
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the lake view wing. Dated hotel, lax security and very expensive food center.
The hotel have a casino downstairs that only caters to foreigners.
Strange layout puts the gym entrance outside the hotel.. = you have to come out from the lobby main entrance, walk 50 meters down a side street to get the the entrance to the hotel gym. A real bummer if it is raining as there is no shelther walkway.
Internet is complimentary but exceptionally slow and unreliable (there is no wifi connection at the courtyard of the food center)
No shopping or interesting places within walking distance, however there is a bakery at the hotel and the food center on the ground level is opened 24 hours.
Hoe kiem lake district is 15- 20 min drive away ( 80,000 vnd charge)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it's in the Embassy district and we were travelling for work. The rooms (lakeside wing) are spacious, but old. Make sure you get a non-smoking room or you'll quickly have a headache. There's nothing overtly wrong with this hotel, but it's evident that gentlemen travellers make use of the massage parlour. There's also a nightclub, which will be blaring Asian pop until the wee hours. Slot machines too, if that's your thing. Given the Hanoi's room price, your better bet is to try the bigger hotel about 2kms away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newlyvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I didn't choose this hotel, it was booked for me by my host company as it was close to the conference & exhibition centre where I'd be working. I would have much preferred to stay closer to the centre of Hanoi in the Old Quarter or French Quarter as there was nothing within walking distance of this hotel, I had to catch taxi's to the city centre and the restaurants I wanted to go to (which in the end was easy and cheap enough).

The first thing I noticed when I got to my room was that it had a very strong musty, old smell. I only noticed this on arrival though, so I must have gotten used to it by the next day. The room was very old and dated but clean and neat enough. I had a suite with a bedroom and lounge area with a TV. The bathroom was pretty dated too. The bed was huge and very comfortable.

I had a problem with the power. My power converters didn't seem to stay in the power outlets. I tried to ask for a converter but the staff didn't undertand what I was asking for and ended up giving me a power board which didn't end up working anyway (and also didn't seem to plug in properly). But I was SO lucky that there was one Australian power plug for the kettle which I had to manage with for my laptop and all my various chargers.

I enjoyed the breakfast buffet (pork and chive dumplings, yum!), and the buffet lunch was also good. The Hot Pot dinner where you cook yoour own at the table was..interesting for a Westerner! But it ended up being quite fun since I stuck to the beef, pork, vegies and noodles.

Overall it wasn't a bad hotel, but not one I would choose to stay in, especially if you were in Hanoi on holidays. It's ok for business.

Room Tip: I believe the lake view rooms are better, the rooms on the other side where I stayed were very old a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel gets the job done without much fanfare.

I am an avid hotel gym goer and the gym in this hotel offers decent cardio machines, 1 weights machine, some free weights, thats it. Serves it purpose.

I prefer the wing with the lake view. It offers decent view of the lake, and is slightly quieter compared to the other. If you are someone who is sensitive to the sound of car/ motor bike horn noise, i recommend the lake wing.

I like the key card security in the lift. It gives me a feeling that this hotel is safe.

Wifi connection is Good! My only gripe is the room wifi network does not allow its user to logon multiple devices at the same time. If you are a businesman who works on your pc, you cant whatsapp your family while working. To get around this, you could access wifi from the hotel lobby ( no login needed)


Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Average describes the Hotel well. Nothing special, but not a total disaster. Restaurant service is very poor, food is overpriced and poor quality. The coffee shop is OK, and the coffee is good but costs $5 per cup. There is a selection of three ageing cake slices that you can buy with the coffee - again overpriced. Breakfast buffet is OK and caters for all tastes. There is a casino downstairs and an in room massage service which although more expensive has very attractive staff. There is a night club upstairs if you wish to spend more money here. If you have other options, don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dude6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Back to this hotel after an absent of about half a year. Nothing change much for this hotel. But staffs are still very friendly and still remember you.
Still prefer staying at this hotel, maybe because I am use to the surrounding and the good room rate I am getting.
Weather at this time of year is very warm, and hotel room air-con working very well to keep off the heat.
The morning breakfast restaurent at 2nd floor now under renovation, and you directed to the restaurent at the ground floor, which is good. Breakfast is rather good now as compare to previous.
Food court menu is much better now, as there are pictures to show the dishes you are ordering. So you will not get it wrong.
Overall, I still prefer this hotel as compare to others, and I stay again on my next trip, provided they do not up the room rates.

Room Tip: Prefer room that faces the lake rather than old houses or building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#121 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.4 mi away
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
Fortuna Hotel Hanoi
#167 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#104 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#89 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hotel

Property: Hanoi Hotel
Address: D8 Giang Vo St, Ba Dinh Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Hanoi. It distinguishes itself from others because of its exclusive facilities that no other hotels can provide. This all-in-one hotel includes one of the top night clubs, the finest Chinese cuisine, and of course the best e-gaming center in Hanoi. Winners Club Slot Centre is one of Vietnam’s few electronic gaming venues with more than 50 slot machines, Blackjack, Baccarat, Roulette games, and Hanoi’s first and currently only poker table. If you are feeling lucky, undoubtedly a jackpot or winning hand awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing