We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but attention to detail missing”
Review of Golden Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Lotus Hotel
Ranked #196 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but attention to detail missing”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Our booking was mucked up so we didn't get the two room types requested, the baths don't fit the surround and always seemed to leak onto floor. Staff service was excellent - friendly and professional. Nicely appointed rooms but perhaps some details overlooked like windows that don't close properly - preferable in a city that rises early and loves horns.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank manucaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    119
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
118
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our 5 days trip in Hanoi and we loved it. This hotel is centrally located to all the things we wanted to visit, for a great value. We love to take our nightly walk along Hoan Kiem lake and visit the markets during the days. Ha Noi is a bustling city during the day, but seems to take a quieter back step at night to yield for a more airy and romantic feel. We were there in late January, and the Spring weather is peaking through damp wet weather. We always look forward to go back to our room at night. The morning sound of propaganda on the street's radio is quite amusing we find - educating the mass to think and be.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blurredline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

15 (all immediate family members) had arrived from Singapore (transit from Johore) dated 6th Dec 2013 to Golden Lotus Hotel (Hanoi) by VN (tour to Halongbay and Hanoi). After we had our dinner, checked in to the hotel and prepared for the next day tour to Halongbay. Just as we were boiling water to make milk for the baby,without realising the boiling kettle had toppled on the baby. We got panicked and asked for assistance at Reception Counter. We are lucky on that day there are an English speaking staff, Mr Duyl whom came to our rescue. He took the initiative to render his exemplary service by accompanying us to the hospital. Without his kind assistance we would certainly be lost due to communication issues. We would like to extend our deepest thanks to all the relevant parties and personnel that had made our trip a short but memorable one !

Room Tip: Recommended three person in a room. Spacious and large room. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohdpuad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed our first 2 nights in Vietnam at Golden Lotus Hotel and the room was lovely and spacious. It was great value for the budget we were on. The staff were very welcoming and attentive as soon as we arrived and recommended the good local places to eat and visit. We came back for a 3rd night one early morning after an overnight train from Sapa and we were very tired and were lucky enough to get an early check in to a great room for no additional cost! Also, the location of the hotel is perfect. The street it is situated on is not too busy and it is a short walk from the lake and all the tourist destinations while still having easy access to all the local places if you are looking for the experience. Overall, we loved this hotel and it really set the standard for every hotel we stayed at afterwards! I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Firstly, when I arrived at golden lotus at 2pm, check in time, there was no one at the front desk and a bag boy who spoke no English had to call the reception girl who came running in from outside 10 minutes later.

I was then checked in to a room the size of a shoe box, there were leaves on the floor and white water marks, from shampoo or soap, all over the shower floor.

I then decided to order room service which took over half an hour for food I did not eat. They then forgot my drink which took another half an hour to be sent to my room. And I had to call room service 4 times until someone answered.

When I was checking out I still nicely went to thank them for my stay yet the lady was to busy saying good bye to a group of older adults and just waved me off rudely.

Overall an unpleasant experience. The service, cleanliness, organization and experience was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenLotusHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Valued customer!
Firstly, thank you very much for spending time posting your reviews on Tripadvisor. On behalf of Golden Lotus hotel, i am terribly sorry for what you experienced during your stay with us. Actually our hotel also very upset and feel regretful because we always focus on best services and satisfaction to serve customers. However your review will help us to take experience and improve our services.
Be sure that when you posted your review, we already had meeting with relating departments to transfer your ideas and solutions to enhance our hotel services.
I do hope that these bad memories will be faded in your mind soon and look forward to having chances to serve you again. Once again, sorry to you and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Hanoi at the Golden Lotus and loved the 3 days I stayed there .. on my 3rd day in Hanoi I had the misfortune to lose my money and my mobile phone so I was a little distraught ..went back to the hotel and the staff assisted me as much as they could ..a special thanks to the lovely lady ( who's expecting ) who helped out and hopefully the little gift I gave to her upcoming baby will give a lot of delight.
Lovely breakfast and wonderful staff and great location made for a lovely time in Vietnam.
Would highly recommend any one to stay there .

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size but all in all they're all marvellously clean and tastefully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

On our family holiday to Vietnam we had the privilege to stay at Golden Lotus hotel a number of times, the rooms are very clean with all the things that a make your stay very comfortable. The included breakfast is very good with a large selection and the free wifi is great. The hotel staff are very friendly and we're able to assist us with all of our needs. With the Hotel being in the Old Quarter of Hanoi and very close to Hoan Kiem Lake it was the perfect place to base our stay in Hanoi.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#133 of 592 in Hanoi
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#100 of 592 in Hanoi
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#103 of 592 in Hanoi
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#25 of 592 in Hanoi
921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
#125 of 592 in Hanoi
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lotus Hotel

Property: Golden Lotus Hotel
Address: 39 Hang Trong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lotus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 rooms and suites with modern facilities, right in the centre of Hanoi and near Hoan Kiem Lake ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing