We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel
Ranked #154 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 separate nights whilst visiting Hanoi & surrounds. Very clean, comfortable, friendly staff & reasonably priced. I had breakfast which was included, plenty of street food nearby and 10-15 minute walk to the markets and shops. Definately stay again when in Hanoi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Offshore21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Like most people I stayed here for the intrepid trip. It is absolutely fine. But if you are not on a tour or you have extra time go somewhere else. I had 2 days before the tour started so I stayed at another hotel (the charming II- highly recommended) in the old quarter and then moved here for the start of the tour.

It is more than adequate, just about clean and comfortable, although my room was a bit damp/musty. Good wifi. Quite a nice breakfast. Staff are ok but don't go out of their way for you. It is cheap but there are cheaper and better places to go. It is quite handy for the western lake, but a bit of a trek to the old city. My overwhelming feeling was it will do, but it isn't a treat or all that delightful. If you have time before a tour, don't just go here because that's where the company starts, try somewhere else first and give yourself a bit of a treat.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good breakfast with several selections. I liked the big wooden furniture and the complimentary slippers. They stored our luggage for us while we went on an overnight trip to Mai Chau (highly recommended.) It is a bit of a walk to the Old Quarter. Hanoi is great, but prepare to get lost, no matter how good you think you are with maps - it's like a maze!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest,

That has always been our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel during the trip to Hanoi. Without complacency, we will keep on striving our best to ensure that every moment of your stay here will be most pleasant and memorable one.

I wish you continued safe and enjoyable travels and look forward to welcoming you back. There will have much nice offers for these customers who have been in Hong Ngoc hotel.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the evening staff were friendly and spoke good English. We chose this hotel as we were joining an intrepid tour the next day. The rooms were good size, with a balcony, the bed was hard as a rock like sleeping on the ground! Very noisy on street side honking horns till late at night and early in the morning.. Shower had about 5 minutes of hot water, and it got all over the bathroom floor. Free bottled water daily small bottle.. We had breakfast at the hotel daily as it was included.. It was fine, ask for eggs if you wish for them as they won't tell you about them and you won't see them.. We didn't eat any other meals there but we went up the road to the left on the next corner for tasty pho.. And down the road to the right is a bakery.. Taxis are right out the front and you can also walk into old town for markets and more food.. Make sure you try bún cha a local pork dish, as well as the coffee with egg in it and the best that we had was cha ca.. We ate the cha ca a fish dish at the self proclaimed oldest restaurant in Vietnam, they only make the one dish.. The restaurant is called cha ca va long on cha ca road in old town.. Go there and try it! The hotel was fine as it was clean, staff were helpful and reasonable prices. I wouldn't stay again, I would chose a four or five star but only because hot water and comfy beds are important to me..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank greenpawcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to take the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconvinience and dissatisfaction regarding to the hot water in your bathroom and the hard bed.

We have discussed to our hotel manager and be noticed that:

There was a storm (haiyan) in Hà Nội, we have to reduced power as goverment policy, so the hot water need more time comparing to normal.

About Sleep Quality, we would like to inform you that we have 4 bed types, maybe one of beds is not appropriate for you. You can be absolutely sure that we will discuss your feedback with the respective leaders to make sure to improve the problem in your next visit.

Once again we would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope to get the chance to present you our new renovated rooms also our service upon your next visit. We hope to see you again soon in the only privately run 3-star hotel in Ha Noi.

Best regards,

Manager teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our first hotel to stay in when coming to Vietnam and it did not disappoint! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and really helped with anything that we needed. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the lift runs fast (something we did not have a lot of our trip in Vietnam)....and we only paid $30AUD per room, per night to stay here!

The bar and restaurant are fairly pricey for Vietnam standards but of course in Australian standards is cheap. Everything we ordered here was great and it is good if you just want some downtime away from the hustle and bustle of the streets.

It is approximately a 15 minute walk to the lake where all of the bid shopping is although there are plenty of little shops and places to eat just doors away. The weekend night markets are also just up the road. The hotels spa services were brilliant and not too bad priced for the quality you get. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again should we return to Hanoi - definitely a great and cheap place!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our high standard of services. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and we are glad that they can feel it like you did.

We thank you once again for your continuous support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Was in Hanoi for three days and used this hotel before an Intrepid tour. The staff were excellent (very helpful, and sent one to buy my wife a phone and SIM card). Helped with directions, and had a good exchange rate changing US dollars into Dong. The Resturant was reasonable in both food and price ( we had two breakfasts and one dinner).

About a 20 minute walk from the Old Quarter and the Lake, however if you turn left from the hotel and walk about 200 metres up the street you come to Ho Truc Bach and West lakes, both have some nice cafe's and are a bit less hectic than the Old/ French Quarter.

Try the lake at 6 in the morning (if you cant sleep) there is a locals market along the WestLake shore, with the locals also doing their Ti Chi and Aerobics. You will be just about the olny tourist there at that time (and take your camera).

back to the Hotel, the rooms are typically Asian size, with a hard (but good for your back) bed. there aer two lifts however they service different sides of the hotel so make sure the one you are shown to is the one you always use. We had a 7th floor room facing the street. There was not much noise (for Hanoi) and we both slept very well.

Only issue was the bathroom that tended to flood when using the hend held shower, be careful getting out of the shower.

Helpfull English speaking staff, comfortable room, cheapish good food, reasonably priced hotel.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Higher Floors facing the street have a good view over the rooftops of the local area. Noise is fine
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joffaboy_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. Certainly it is our highest ambition to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued guests, which is why we appreciate your review, as it helps us to monitor and improve our services

I wish you continued safe and enjoyable travels and look forward to welcoming you back. There will have much nice offers for these customers who have been in Hong Ngoc hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

During my stay in Vietnam, I felt that Hong Ngoc Cochinchine had a lot to offer to weary and the adventurous.

The staff at Hong Ngoc was helpful, friendly, and always willing to take the time to get to know their guests. The front desk is a great way to get information of where to go to around the place. The hotels location is situated within walking distance to Hong Kiem lake, Hong Ngọc Hospital and, Ho Chi Minh mausoleum. In addition, the front desk can easily and safely book transportation and excursions in Hanoi. During my stay at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine, after talking to the friendly front desk attendant, I was able to book a trip and travel to Ha Long Bay the very next day.

Despite the noise of the busy streets, I found the room I stayed in to be conformable, clean, and relaxing place to stay in. The room had everything I needed including phone services, Internet, and storage to put all your belongings. Breakfast, which was included, was very good and consisted of a wide variety of American, Chinese and Vietnamese cuisines.

Indeed, I found my stay at Hotel Hong Ngoc Cochinchine to be both a simple and satisfying experience and recommended it during your time in Hanoi, Vietnam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure reading such positive a feedback as yours and I thank you for that. Our priority is to have all of our guests have a magnifique experience at Hong Ngoc Hotel and I am proud of my whole team who have met your expectations in terms of high quality of services.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#137 of 598 in Hanoi
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
May de ville City Centre II
0.0 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#118 of 598 in Hanoi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
#103 of 598 in Hanoi
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View Hotel
Moon View Hotel
#222 of 598 in Hanoi
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#150 of 598 in Hanoi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel

Address: 97 Nguyen Truong To | Ba Dinh, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the French colonial architecture, the hotel was named after the southern territory of Vietnam, whose principal city is Saigon. Highly recognized levels of service await guests in each of our 60 rooms and suites; each a charming blend of Vietnamese traditional architecture and modern facilities, with high speed internet access, spacious bathrooms and panoramic views of the city. Hong Ngoc Cochinchine is the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler.Just a short walk from the hotel, you can easily visite numerous attractions in the city including Hoan Kiem Lake, the Old Quarter, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and especially the breathtaking West Lake – where you can enjoy a break from the busy city life.Why not starting your day with a workout in the Fitness Center or simply relax in Hong Ngoc Spa. Enjoy fresh pastries, croissants, specialty dessert buffet or the best of Vietnamese Cuisine in one of our restaurants and immerse yourself into the exciting nightlife in Hanoi.Event planners will appreciate our hotel's meeting room with professional event planning and creative catering. Allow our attentive staff to arrange group outings, restaurant reservations, sporting event tickets or anything else to ensure your stay is both productive and pleasurable.Hong Ngoc Cochinchine – a place you can call ‘home’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing