We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky, Soviet-era dump”
Review of Star View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star View Hotel
Ranked #390 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stinky, Soviet-era dump”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I think the windows in my room had been slammed shut and sealed permanently when Saigon fell in 1975. My room stank and the air conditioner ratlled loudly all night long - an accompaniment to the loud traffic outside.


When I emerged for breakfast in the morning, the restaurant stank as well. The damp appears to have gotten into everything. Nevertheless, I was hungry so I chose pho. The noodles were cold and the broth was a luke-warm oil-slick with some bits of meat floating around in it. I skipped breakfast and had the coffee, which was ok.

Staff were nice, coffee was good, everything else was sub-standard and a bit repulsive. There are cheaper hotels in Hanoi which are modest, bright and clean with comfy beds and nice breakfast in the morning, in a busier area. I wouldn't recomment Star View at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K-Melb-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starviewhotel120, Manager at Star View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear valued guest

Greetings from Star View Hotel.

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

We are new team Management for one week. Our hotel have just been renovated and improving about service.

We are very happy to welcoming you and your family back our hotel to enjoy your stay at Star View Hotel.

Robert Tran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
10
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

There was a rat running around the restaurant and the staff didn't seem to care. It's dirty hotel, the rooms are disgusting. If you want to have a shower I suggest you bring the domestos with you. The toilets make a loud noise when the room next door flushes. It's so noisy with the traffic, they need to double glaze the windows.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starviewhotel120, Manager at Star View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

We are new team Management for one week. Our hotel have just been renovated and improving about service.

We are very happy to welcoming you and your family back our hotel to enjoy your stay at Star View Hotel.

Robert Tran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Rooms small, breakfast satisfactory, but great location. Walking distance to many historic sites. Price was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starviewhotel120, Manager at Star View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

We are new team Management for one week. Our hotel have just been renovated and improving about service.

We are very happy to welcoming you and your family back our hotel to enjoy your stay at Star View Hotel.

Robert Tran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Hotel is between two old quarters of Hanoi. It is also situated at a four way intersection with a tremendous amount of horn honking vehicles. The windows are not double glass so you hear everything. Rooms are worn and quite soiled, you don't want to walk on this carpet unless wearing slippers or shoes. Beds hard as is standard throughout this area, sheets ripped in places, towels in bath quite old and thin. Bathroom is musty and dated, could also use a good cleaning.
Staff are pleasent with limited English skills.
If not with a group would never stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starviewhotel120, Manager at Star View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

We are new team Management for one week. Our hotel have just been renovated and improving about service.

We are very happy to welcoming you and your family back our hotel to enjoy your stay at Star View Hotel.

Robert Tran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We had a broken stay, 1 night, then off to Halong Bay, then back for two nights. First impressions weren't good.
The first night the power wouldn't work and we had to get a maintenance man to come and fix that. The room was small and very "ordinary". Commented to others that we were quite disappointed with our accommodation. However second visit changed that. Liked that we could leave our luggage there whilst we took overnight bag to Halong Bay.

When we returned to the hotel, they upgraded us to a suite, which was roomy and clean. The bathrooms definately need updating, although they were clean. The towels were threadbare (even my dogs have better towels!!).
The staff at reception were friendly and were extremely helpful.
Good location 10 minute walk to Old Quarter and West lake.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandAndrew06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starviewhotel120, Manager at Star View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

We are new team Management for one week. Our hotel have just been renovated and improving about service.

We are very happy to welcoming you and your family back our hotel to enjoy your stay at Star View Hotel.

Robert Tran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This hotel is quite ok. Nice outlook, nice room, good service. Location is convenient. Easy to go to both Old quarter or West lake. Love walking a long the street near Hanoi ancient citadel nearby. Enjoy coffee on the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stay at Star View Hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the hotel is quite ok. The location is very good, easy walk to Hanoi Old quarter or West lake. The room size is big enough. Staff are friendly and helpful. Enjoy drink on the rooftop cafe, looking to the park and lake. No problem stay here, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#140 of 586 in Hanoi
245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.9 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.8 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star View Hotel

Property: Star View Hotel
Address: No 120 Quan Thanh Str | Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi +844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the lively heart of Hanoi capital, Star View hotel enjoys a truly stunning location, offers the ideal accommodation choice both for business or leisure traveller with a super combination of comfortable accommodation, great value rates, versatile amenities and an excellent central location.Staying at Star View hotel allows you to experience the city’s awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture, it is a wonderful place where the tourist atractions are all in the immediate vicinity and are most certainly worthwhile to visit during your stay. The hotel’s convenient location and great access to Hanoi’s efficient public transport network means you can reach any part of the city easily and quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing