We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked two nights, stayed for a week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drift Backpackers Hostel

The Drift Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drift Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #147 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Booked two nights, stayed for a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

I was a first time backpacker and The Drift was our first stop in Vietnam. We booked ahead online and they arranged a taxi for us to pick us up at the airport which was great. Even at 3am we got the warmest welcome in the world from Alicia and I knew we were on to a winner.

Dorm rooms were a good size and had loads of space for you pack and bits and bobs. Air conditioning was amazing as a lot of other hostels dont have/are stingy with it. Clean sheets and towels everyday and a clean bathroom which actually has space for you to get changed in. I agree the beaded curtain thing was annoying but I dont really care. Movie room was wicked, spent a lot of time in there when should have actually been out and about seeing Hanoi but what can you do when you're in good company. Free high speed internet and loads of PCs meant we were able to plan the next leg of our trip easily and the staff were great at offering honest advice. I didn't feel pressured or lead on at all.

Breakfast was a bit rubbish but we'd brough our own Veggimite! so we were happy - and what can you expect really for that price?! The food in the cafe, particularly the burgers were amazing and you could ring orders through from the movie room and have it brought up - luxury!! Didnt really spend a lot of time in the bar because there wasnt any air con up there and I just boiled alive but everyone up there was super friendly when I did make it up there - thank god for the lift!

WE'd only planned to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying a whole week cuz we were enjoying it so much. Only down side for me was I thought it was a bit too far away from the main sights and old town - but then I'm a lazy backpacker!!

Basically I thought it was the best hostel I stayed in for the whole trip and i did Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand. And so I think that's praise enough. Well done ladies!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbalici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
11
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

It was so clean and felt so upper class for a hostel, the team there were amazing and friendly, meals were great and cheap i felt like i was staying at afriends awesome place rather then a hostel. I loved the Mangager tiff, she was really lovely to my boyfriend and i, made us feel at home as weel as all the other staff who were just as lovely. It was so clean and the room were amazingly kept for a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

The service was for the most-part friendly, although I was rather rudely treated by one particular receptionist - but he was gone the next week!
The room was clean and tidy and having the toilets right there (also clean) is cool.
The common-room is cool and there are plenty of computers there and in the reception area, that you don't have to wait.
The location is a bit out of the central Backpackers area, but that's actually nice. You get hassled by the locals far less! :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank begganp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Friend and I stayed at the Drift when we arrived in Vietnam. The dorms are clean and tidy withh clean linen and towels and as a bathroom afor a backapckers they were great! Nice and clean. The Drift had a n elavator and would organise everything for you if needed. Cant help but feel that the staff tried to rip us off more times than we could count. The bar that they advertsie on their website has been closed down for noise restrictions as the hostel is located down a quiet street. So there is no bar which was dissapointing. It is also about a 15-18 minute walk to the old quarter.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wah_wah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

Me and my wife went on a trip to hanoi and halong bay in Dec 2009 and booked with them... A bunk for 5 $ seemed quier reasonable to us... They picked us up with a cabbie from the airport and that was cool.. The price also seemed to be reasonable for 1st timers as otherwise you will be ripped for sure.... The hostel is 15 minutes walking from hoan kiem lake and i would say the location is not much of an issue...but maybe people who want to get the feel of the old quarters should stay somewhere nearer to the lake... We were given nice bunks..the bed was very clean and comfortable... The aircon was not very good..the bathroom was spotless clean... i accept the beaded curtain was a pain for sure.... They did try to sell you their tour but i dont see anything wrong in it as long as you know what you wanna do.... They were very helpful to me when i needed some currency exchange and offered good rates... The door locking problem was with us also.... but as all our stuff was secured in the lockers so we didnt worry much. We arrived on the christmas eve and there was a crazy party on the rooftop which was quiet enjoyable..... The breakfast offered with the room was just bread and banana... The reception gals were very friendly and spoke good english apart from one local chap who i found in the night was very grumpy and arrogant.... i think it is quiet suitable if you wanna stay as a backpacker.....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debarchan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hostel didn't live up to the reviews or rating on hostel world. This was the first stop on our trip so we thought maybe our expectations had been too high but all of the other hostels we've stayed at have been much better. The rooms were clean and comfortable although a bead curtain into a shared bathroom isn't the most practical when people get up at different times. The hostel was noisy till late, great if you're partying but not so good if you need to get up early. The cafe area was really quite dirty and didn't look like it had been cleaned properly for a while, the sugar pots, dishes etc weren't exactly clean. The door to our dorm didn't close. Alrthough teh staff were friendly they were also quite pushy to sell tours and get us to stay longer. I'd try another hostel if I go back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sedfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
driftadmin, Owner at The Drift Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 8 February 2010
Dear Sedfive,

Firstly I would like to express not only our surprise but our dissapointment to read your review on our hostel and the fact we potentially have a dissatisfied customer.

We have had nothing but good feedback from our guests since we opened 6 months ago and do our best to keep our hostel in perfect order.
Of course as much as we try we cannot be 100% perfect and our highest focus is our guests happiness and satisfaction.
I'm sure we met during your stay at the hostel as we have personal contact with all our guests and I do wish you had of shared these comments with me at the time of your stay. so I could understand a little more.

In relation to your comment regarding our staff pushing tours, I would like to explain a little on the background of our staff. Within Vietnam if you cannot speak, read and write English you unfortunatly do not obtain a job as a receptionist or any position like this, which in VN is classified quite high in the work force status. We are different and we like to give opportunities to young people as a way to get them into the workforce and obtain higher skills as most cannot afford the schooling to improve themselves. Due to this our staff are very passionate when speaking to customers to learn and improve, so they can come across quite eager to sell or when giving advise, however this is just there excitement and high energy as they love what they are doing.
My apologies in regards to the doors, during your stay as this was the first few days of warm weather we have had since we opened the hostel. Due to the heat the doors expanded, which eventuated into non closure, this has since been rectified.
Sure I agree the cafe can look a little crazy at times as during peak dinner time we run about trying to keep the cafe clean and in order and for an hour or so it can get a little messy , i assure you though hygiene is a focus of ours as well.
As far as noise, unfortunatly it is a hostel and we do try to keep the levels of noise down after 11pm of an evening for both guests and locals within the area.
I hope you can appreciate our comments and reconsider if you were to visit Hanoi again.
Regards
Tifani Meagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yayorc
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

Yeah its a clean western style hostel in a city that's everything but...but the staff here are a bunch of con artists. Lockers that use only a type of lock they sell, over priced Ha Long Bay & Sapa tours, a terrible breakfast, and a staff with little knowledge of the city. I bought a first class express train ticket from them for 630K dong and showed up at the station to be handed a local train ticket for 450K dong.

While conveniently located a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, they tell you everything is 30 minutes away and to use a taxi service, for which they pick up a fee. Use them for the beds, and nothing else.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yayorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 334 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.7 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Youth Hostel
Hanoi Youth Hostel
#69 of 334 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drift Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drift Backpackers Hostel

Property: The Drift Backpackers Hostel
Address: 42 Truong Han Sieu Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drift - A chilled out and comfortable hostel owned by 3 Aussie backpackers - your home away from home with a rooftop bar, cafe, tours, movie room and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Drift Backpackers Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing