We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little Hotel with great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #122 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I already stayed 2 times in this little hotel in the old town of Hanoi. The rooms are small and simple, and some rooms don't have a window (unless you book window-rooms!). So when booking, make sure you get a room with city view.
However, the hotel is just awesome because of the people that work in there. They are so helpful and whatever you need assistance in during your travels, they will help you. They even let me shower in the hotel before my flight in the evening (after I already checked out). Mrs.Yen and Mr Duc are the good souls of this place. I feel save and comfortable there.

The rooms are small and simple. So if youre main preference is a big room, it is not your best choice.But the rooms are very clean and the location is convenient. And i prefer a great service over a big room!! I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: book "city view room" - some other rooms have no outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadic-tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

It really lives up to its name Charming! A small hotel with very friendly staff. They go out of their way to make your stay amazing. We booked our trips through them and they were great. They even invited us to share in their New Year's Day Hotpot celebration! Lots of food, drinks and laughter!
Only a short walk to the lake and a great coffee place called Joma Bakery. The lane it's in is very quaint but full of action all day with so many stall holders selling meat, fruit, food, clothing and shoes. There are 2 hairdressers and I had my hair washed and blow dried for $5!!!!!
The markets and shops are a short walk away too.
We will be back to stay at Hotel Charming next time we are in Hanoi!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at Charming in November while traveling throughout Vietnam. The stay went off without a hitch - extremely friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, hot showers and a very central location. Can't ask for more for $24/night.

The staff helped us book our Halong Bay Cruise and went out of their way to make us at home - I arrived with a terrible cold and one of the bellboys went so far as to walk me down the street to the pharmacy and help me translate what I needed so I could successfully buy night-time cold medicine. Talk about going the extra mile!

They also offer $18 airport pickup - since its over an hour drive not a bad deal. You can email to arrange.

Definitely recommend. Room tip- ask for a room higher up in the building - in the the lower floors you can hear breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

With the budget price offered, I really wasn't expecting too much but my mom and I were totally blown away by our stay at the Charming Hotel.

We stayed there for 1 night on our day in arrival in Hanoi, and then for 3 more nights from 26-28 Dec.

The hotel is located in a little alley that gets busy in the morning but hardly any of the sound could be heard from our room, and both of us (who are light sleepers) had wonderful sleep during our stay. Some key sights were also just within walking distance -- the West Lake, the famous Pho restaurant at Ly Quoc Su, and the street shopping areas. The amenities offered in the room were pretty good for what we paid for. The free wifi signal was good and the free PC in the room worked very well.

On our return stay, the room we had was smaller and the toilet door didn't close properly. This was later fixed by the staff with a simple hook latch. The power points were also located in odd places, e.g. there was one behind the TV but there was not enough space to plug in anything. And so we had to unplug the computer mouse every time we needed to boil some water or charge our phones, which was an inconvenience.

But these were all small inconveniences compared to the utterly charming staff of the hotel. True to their name, we saw friendly faces every time we came down for breakfast or returned to the hotel after a day's adventures. The receptionists - Hong, Chi and Huy were all adequately fluent in English and were very helpful to all our needs and questions, and also helped us book the tour to Trang An with a reliable tour agent and my taxi ride back to the airport. The other staff and stewards were all really helpful and patient.

Mr Duc, the hotel manager, was great in arranging for us the Hanoi junk cruise during the very busy Christmas season. Once he found out the two junks I originally wanted was fully booked, he promptly suggested a few more options and helped book for us the one on Galaxy.

Best of all, the staff surprised me with a cake on my birthday! I haven't had a surprise birthday in a very long time and it was quite a touching moment. The cake was so pretty and it tasted good too!

Totally impressed with the capable and personal touch that Charming Hotel offers. Highly recommended for its value and its excellent service!

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor and 6th floor, with no windows and they were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syzzlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Enjoyed our stay here - the hotel is a basic no frills one, but was good value for money. The staff was helpful and smiled all the way, especially Mr Duc. The location is a good one - off the noisy main roads, and there are convenience shops and a pharmacy located nearby, We could not find the power points though and a staff had to show it to us as it was hidden behind the desk. We had to boil our kettle on the floor because of the location of the power supply. Otherwise, the room was pretty satisfactory.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherenengade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here after a long international flight and specifically asked for a quiet room. The driver who picked us up at the hotel was organised by the hotel and didnt know where the hotel was.
that was a very anxious moment and was sorted after some phone calls. The bathroom door didnt shut in the room, the fridge was very noisey so we turned the plug off. We were woken theoughout the night with lots of noise from the room above, scrapping of chairs, hairdryers. Beds were very average. The rooms had no windows. We paid an extra 50% for a room for an extra four hours so we could sleep, but it was just so noisey. It was cheap but Id recommend spending a little extra for something more comfortable. For the same price we got bigger and better rooms in other parts of vietnam. It is in a very good location in the old quarter so good for walking and exploring.

Room Tip: Not the rooms we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
Especially thanks to Poppinz,by receiving your comment ,We have updated all the funiture and rooms in our hotel .Also ,We would like to send you our appriciation for staying in our Hue Holiday Diamond hotel.We want to send you our appology for all the inconvinence you encountered during your stay .We wish to welcome you back to our hotel s group one day and promise to bring you the most comfotable stay.

Your Best Regards,
Manager
Minh Pham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the charming hotel in the center of Hanoi's old town and loved it. Very friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. Located in a quiet small road it offers clean rooms with TV, A/C and PC for Internet access.

The staff at the reception helped us with recommendations for street food, restaurants and planning a tour to Halong Bay. We booked a 3 days - 2 nights tour for Halong Bay and Cat Ba Island and it was simply wonderful.

Absolutely worth the money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 599 in Hanoi
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#141 of 599 in Hanoi
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#170 of 599 in Hanoi
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#164 of 599 in Hanoi
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#199 of 599 in Hanoi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing