We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #104 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Great once made reservation via agoda, the hotel was absolutely worth for a value. Room was wisely cozy and good facilities. The breakfast was nice and lovely, its location was on a small alley(Yen Thai) where many local merchants sitting around. Great staffs would recommend for a holiday trip to halong Bay at A Class cruise. We will return hotel after our trip. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    279
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
131
588
173
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We used Hotel Charming as our base to explore both Hanoi and parts of Northern Vietnam, and were very pleasantly surprised by what we found here! The reception staff were absolutely exceptional, especially Huy! He catered to our every need and went above and beyond - organising showers for us after our overnight train and securing a free drop off to the airport. He is absolutely fantastic!

The rooms are very small but very very clean. The shower has great pressure and very consistent hot water! And our room (and i think most do) had a desktop computer which was fantastic - after a few months of travelling to not have to bother with internet cafes or connecting tablets to wifi if was a much appreciated addition!

I'd definitely recommend the hotel - its a great base to head out and explore Hanoi from - and a very quiet street if you're after a peaceful nights rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel is a excellent base in the old quarter for exploring Hanoi, and also an excellent place to catch your breath if you have been travelling for a while and need to chill out. They have PC's in the room's, which is excellent for planning the rest of your trip in peace, and catching up with the outside world. The breakfast is substantial and tasty, and the staff friendly and helpful. There are two great local restaurants 2 minutes walk from this hotel (Bun Cha Nem Cua Be Dac Kim, and Bun Bo Nam Bo) which are both a must-try in Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I seldom write good reviews for hotel, but charming hotel is really one hotel that i will strongly recommend to others as its value for money.

The hotel is at strategic location at old quarter area which is within walking distance to the night markets (opened on weekends). Though its along a narrow alley where cars can't drive through, the hotel guys will go all the way to the main road to pick your luggage to the hotel, so no worries about that. It is also because it is not along the main road, the room is quiet and noise from cars honk cannot be heard.

The room is relatively spacious (if you pick the ones without the city view), with free wifi services as well as a desktop in each room. The beds as well as the toilet are also very clean, and bugs free. Items in the fridge are very reasonable priced (in fact cheaper than what you can get from the mart) and are replaced daily, this saves us a lot of trouble from buying and carrying water back from super marts.

What is most attractive about the hotel is the staffs there. They are very friendly and polite, and always puts up a welcoming bright smile. They speak relatively good English, so they are helpful in giving directions and recommending tours.

Thumbs up to charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xinnixinnixinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here 5 nights at two occasions. The hotel gives a nice first impression, that is, after picking you up for free at the airport. The staff tries very hard to keep you happy, so you shouldn't take advantage of that.

We stayed there on two occasions. When we came with the morning train from Sapa, they even let us use a room to sleep in from 6 in the morning until our room was read at no extra cost (it wasn't our suggestion, but they sort of insisted and said we looked very tired).

I would like to personally thank you very much for your hospitality. You made our stay in Hanoi memorable, and even though we hear people have different opinions about the city, we loved it and you played a big part in that. Thank you and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I'd booked this hotel online not knowing what to expect. I stayed here 4nights and this hotel certainly felt like a home away from home...............clean,cômfortable and secure with all mod cons to meet one's needs including free in room internet/wi fi and with staff happy to see the guests no matter what time of the day or night, always helpful and interested in how your day/trips went! For a small hotel, the services shown by all the staff were well beyond what I had expected, always striving to please from the duty manager, Mr. Dủc to staff at the front office, room service, bellhop,and catering service! I was so surprised when arriving back from Sapa overnight this morning at 5.30am to the hotel, Hưi the night receptionist greeted me warmly with a big smile, offered me a drink of coffee and a room to have a shower and take a rest before my room was ready for check in at 12pm...............how is that for service!! I was stoked. In addition,this little gem of a hotel is ideally located to all attractions within easy walking distance and yet is in the heart of the old quarter, tucked away less than 20m from the hustle and bustle of traffic down a side well lit lane. This Hotel is highly recommended and one worth considering when in Hanoi!!

Room Tip: because of where this hotel is sited down a quiet side lane, the rooms are well presented away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank international_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at the charming hotel. We found it offered brilliant service with tidy, reasonably sized rooms. The staff were very obliging, especially after we were given a hard time by a taxi driver. Our only small qualm would be that the breakfast selection wasn't the best

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#62 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#85 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#117 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#163 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming Hotel
Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing