We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically helpful staff, nice rooms great location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #100 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastically helpful staff, nice rooms great location, great value”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of the old town making it an ideal location to wander by foot. The rooms have really good A/C with a quiet setting which is ideal for the humidity of Hanoi. The beds are very comfortable with good shower and really clean rooms. Breakfast is an extensive choice of Vietnamese food or full English breakfast.
The staff at this hotel are so helpful and obliging. Although we only stayed one night at this hotel they stored our luggage for 2 nights whilst we visited Sapa and gave us a room to shower in on our return before flying home. They also helped us out with an issue as we nearly missed a connection with a train to Sapa. Overall I would definitely recommend staying here. It really is good value for money. Would also recommend the hotel to book a cab from & to the airport as this cuts out hassle & getting ripped off by Taxis.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room book one away from the main road. We were on the 6th floor and did not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenathans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    285
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
133
592
177
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived we were given a fantastic map which shows the whole of Hanoi. We only had one day to see the city and the receptionist was very helpful, drawing a walking route for us and highlighting the main sites.
The rooms are spotless and a very nice size. The breakfast was delicious, I recommend the French toast! It is also in a fantastic location in the Old Quarter.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank emmat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the tail end of our SE Asia trip, and we were so happy to have a good hotel experience to end the trip. Mina and her staff were exceptionally polite and helpful, the rooms we had were comfortable, clean and well-presented, and the price was very good for the location (about USD19 per night).

We stayed there on 2 separate occasions in the same week as we went on a 3 day trip to Ha Long bay in the middle of the week. The first time the room was very small but still of a high standard. There was no natural lighting as the window was less than a foot from the wall of the next building, but we didn't mind.

The second time we were given a choice of room and chose one facing the street, which did have natural lighting and was larger, though we were woken up at 6 am on Saturday morning by the government broadcasts blasting out of loudspeakers up and down the street. This wasn't the fault of the hotel, you just might want to consider if you're hoping to sleep in.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's cost effective, well-presented, super convenient, and the staff are wonderfully nice. The breakfast is pretty good too, and the computer in the room is a nice touch. Would totally recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank knightsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were just staying one night in the Charming Hotel but when we will come the next time, we will definitely stay here again. The rooms were very clean and had anything that a traveler needs. A big bed, TV, A/C, a computer, a fridge and a very nice bathroom. The only thing I missed was daylight, but that is actually not possible in every room of the hotels in the city as they are very high and built wall to wall. And at least it is just for sleeping ;). The staff was very kind and gentle, as they try to help you with every problem you have. I forgot something very important tome in the hotel and they sended it after me with the overnight bus to Hoi An, without any costs. Thank you for that :).

So if you are looking for a very good hotel with great breakfast that is central and good for a small budget, then you should definitely choose Charming Hotel:)

Greeting from Sandra

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly and helpful staff are incredibly accommodating. Their English is great too which can't be undervalued for tourists. The rooms are clean and the tv has a great selection of channels. The complimentary breakfast is unlimited and quite good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emichae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great location in the old quarter so walking distance to main attractions. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff were lovely and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was tasty too and you can order more than one dish if you want. Would recommend this hotel if you're staying in Hanoi.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We've stayed at this little hotel a number of times over the last few years. Great value for money but what really makes the difference is the quality of the service. Mina and her team go out of their way to assist - booking accommodation in other locations, train tickets - even opening up at 4.15am after an early train arrival! The rooms are okay, maybe a little tired now and could do with a refurb. But, the hotel is in a great spot, really quiet in the heart of the Old Quarter. Overall, the Hotel Charming is a good option for a budget hotel in a great spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#162 of 578 in Hanoi
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#86 of 578 in Hanoi
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#122 of 578 in Hanoi
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming Hotel
Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing