We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Charming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #104 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We had a bad experience at this hotel. The room was small and the bathroom was a wet-room style so you had to wear shoes after taking a shower. The bathroom also reeked of drains, and when mentioned to them, they came and sprayed airfreshener which wore off in about 2 hrs. great!

There was also no storage in the room and very little room to put your suitcase down. The staff were very friendly during the day and the hotel breakfast was fine, toast and juice but did the trick.

The location is right in the heart of the old town but is in very busy area. We had a large amount of culture shock as the streets are so busy and mopeds go so close to you, i would advise to stay somewhere a little further out, perhaps by the lake (Jasmine Hotel recommended) as there is more room on the pavements and easier to travel into the old narrow streets than living there. Room was also relatively quiet at night other than slamming doors.

We left the hotel early, at 11pm as there were strange noises coming from another guest in the corridor of the hotel, With no peep hole we didn't know what it was. It sounded like someone shuffling on the floor, moaning. After a while of wondering what it was and getting more scared, I called reception and asked them to check on the person outside, because at one point it sounded like someone either very very drunk or someone not very welll at all. When no one came i called back again. Everntually he came up and knocked on our door. My husband answered and it was the receptionist wondered why we called, as it was just a group of people sat outside our room smoking and not quite acting normal... We were furious - what kind of hotel sees nothing wrong with a group of 6 men smoking and acting drunk outside another persons room at 10.30pm. We were even more upset that he didn't ask them to move, he instead questioned us infront of the men. Evenaully we asked him to ask the men to move and went downstairs to complain. He then laughed at us. We said it wasn't funny, we were scared. We decided there is no point staying somewhere where you are physically scared. Trusting our instincts we then packed up our bags and left the hotel, getting rescued by a member of staff from fab Jasmine Hotel. Never Again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charminghanoi, Manager at Hanoi Charming Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2009
Firstly,On behalf of all hotel staff,We want to say thank you for all the review to our hotel.It will help us to improve our service.
Regarding to this review,We want to say sorry for all the proplem.The 6 men smoking in your next door room is also our guest.When we recieved your complain,We asked these guest to come down stair to smoke.and after some minutes,They also went down.
So we are very sorry to make you feel not satisfied .
Thank you for all
Manager
Minh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    279
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
131
588
173
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

The Charming Hotel and staff were wonderful. As new arrivals in the bustling city of Hanoi without travel plans, we needed assistance. Through the recommendations of the Manager and Reception staff, we committed to tours to Halong Bay and Sapa....the transport arrangements and accommodation for each was outstanding. Not to mention the Charmiong Hotel accommodation and service. We were very impressed with all aspects of the Hotel and would highly recommend it to all travellers....price wise it is excellent value for money. They are efficient, friendly and accommodating to your individual needs and the Hotel is spotless. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel and appreciate the efforts by staff to assist with pick ups and travel plans. We will stay there again when next in Hanoi

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcoast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Charming hotel is situated right bin the heart of the old part of Hanoi. It has easy access to most parts of town. The staff are both helpfull and freindly and we thoroughly enjoyed are stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

friendly and helpful staffs. great servie. the room is clean and water is hot.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fluffydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We spent a total of 3 nights in the Hanoi Charming Hotel. From booking the hotel via the website to the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this lovely new hotel. The price of the room at the time of writing was 22USD a real bargain!! Despite being a noisy area, the room was very quiet - one of the best nights sleep I've had.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The location is perfect for easy access to many of the sights, but if you need to travel by taxi it will not be a problem as Mr Duc and his team will organise this and other things for you. You can even be collected from Hanoi airport and taken straight to the hotel for only 15USD!

I totally recommend staying at the Hanoi Charming Hotel, you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baloo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Stayed three nights at Hotel Charming.
Mr. Duc and the staff are wonderful! The thing I liked the best about this hotel was the staff and how helpful they always were. The staff and service is what makes this place so great.

They picked us up at the airport, checkin was quick and easy. Our room was on the top floor over looking the other "old town"buildings. The rooms are totally new and clean and quiet.

After the first night, we checked out and left for Halong Bay overnight. When we returned to check back in, the staff saw us coming down the street and already had us instantly checked back in and handed us the key as we walked up.

The staff eagerly answered ALL of my questions for any tourist info or restaurants, bars (gay) and directions. Even when I asked the same questions each day (as I would get confused in the city -- they always cheerfully answered each one in their "Charming" manner.
Mr. Duc and his staff will take good care of you -- no mater who you are.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

A small charming little place in the centre of everything. Rooms are rather small but very neatly kept. But for what you are paying, you're getting a great deal. The staff are all very young - in age and in experience, but their lack of experience is amply made up for by their genuine desire to help. They will direct you to places and even help negotiate the price for a hair dresser!!! I stayed there for 4 nights and enjoyed every bit of it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#61 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#84 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#117 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#163 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming Hotel
Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing