We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Ranked #102 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“best value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

I love the street the hotel is located at, since it is a pretty quiet street right in the centre of Hanoi.
Very kind staff, very nice breakfasts and clean and comfy rooms.

I enjoyed my stay, had a great rest and felt pretty much at home there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    285
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
133
592
177
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Charming Hotel is within walking distance from the night market. The hotel has excellent and friendly staff who will go the extra mile to help occupants. For example, there was a time the water from the heater is not hot enough. The staff came immediately after I made the call. He tried for about half an hour to get the heater working, without a word of complaint. Very good service! I came back to the hotel 1 day earlier after my short trip, sad to find out that the hotel does not have any room. The hotel staff arranged us to go to another hotel and picked us up with their motor bike the next morning, even though it is within walking distance. Moreover, Mr Duc readily provided us a room to shower before we left for our Sapa trip, despite the fact that we checked out the room in the morning. I would strongly recommend this hotel to travellers!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We arrived in Hanoi at midnight and when dropped off at our hotel, we had no idea what a find it was. From the moment we arrived, the staff was helpful, attentive and courteous. The rooms are comfortable, the location unbeatable and the breakfast, with a choice of western or local got us going in the morning.

This was excellent value and we stayed for 5 amazing days with Mr Duc and his excellent staff as our host.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BicyclinBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Most of them can speak simple English.
The double-room is good enough for 2 person and has movement space. As for the triple-room which they had added an extra bed to a bigger size double-room, movement is limited, but overall the room is cozy and comfortable. Breakfast is yummy and hot.
Though the hotel is situated at a small alley, is near to restaurants and shopping. If you want to see how the Vietnamese lives, the alley transforms into a market in the morning. There are also 2 travel agency just next to the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

The hotel staff was indeed as per the name of the hotel - very charming! They were very helpful and when I enquired about the trips around Hanoi and also how to plan my 4N5D trip there, they were all the more happy to help me plan my itinerary for me.

If you are looking for a hotel that is mid-range closer to the budget but with all the basic ammenities, this is the perfect hotel to choose! They even had a promotion (stay of more than 3N) of free pick up airport transfer - save USD15! :)

They were very polite, very courteous and always smiling and helpful. The room is also clean and had a comfy feeling to it. There's free internet at the common/dining area too!

This hotel is located on a street that only motorbikes / bicycles are only possible due to the small and narrow lane. Perfect location and away from the noise and hustle and bustle coming from the next street - very accessible to walk to the nearby lake and soak up the lifestyle in Hanoi!

Mr.Duc and his team is very helpful to assist you in anything you want, from hot water flasks to helping you plan out itinerary and telling you how much does a taxi costs from one location to another.

Totally recommended! Thumbs up to Mr.Duc and his team of Charming Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwong99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We have just returned from a four-week trip through Vietnam and Cambodia. Hanoi was our first stop and Charming Hotel made a great home away from home. The online booking and confirmation process was easy, and we asked Charming to arrange for an airport pick-up. Due to a nine-hour delay in Taipei, we called the owner Mr. Duc who had provided his mobile number in case of emergency. He was very helpful and we were able to meet his driver and get to the hotel without a problem.

Our stay was enjoyable and comfortable. We had a clean, pleasant en-suite room with AC, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was a shower/no tub set-up, but it was not a significant issue since everything tended to dry quickly and the cleaning staff were very diligent. The location was great – on a quiet side street but still in the heart of the Old Quarter. A Western or Vietnamese breakfast was included, and we loved having their pho every morning.

We had planned to return to Charming for one more night before flying to Cambodia. Due to bad weather in Sapa, we decided to return to Hanoi three days early. We called Charming to ask if we could extend our stay. The first night was fully booked, so Mr. Duc arranged for us to stay at another hotel at the same rate and one of his staff helped escort us to the hotel. After 10 hours on a bus, we really appreciated the personalized service and we were very happy to return to Charming for the rest of our stay in Hanoi.

For very good value, attentive service, clean facilities, and a nice location, Charming is an excellent option for budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golly.g.whiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

I was planning my trip to Hanoi and checking out good value hotels and found charming here on trip adviser, Charming is one of only Hotel you can get that have quiet rooms and good for value. They do not just have friendly staffs, but extremely helpful staffs that can get almost everything done if possible.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, cozy place to stay in. And definitely worth the value.
The staffs makes you feel so welcome that the Supervisor, Mr Duc even invites me to join him for tea sessions.
They are well literate in basic English communications and not like the other hotels. Never have to worry that no one can't understand you there.
And most of all whatever you need is available near the hotel vicinity.
A definitely highly recommended hotel from me personally. MUST CHECK IT OUT!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Chiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#60 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#171 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#86 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming Hotel
Address: 15 Yen Thai St. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ++84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Charming Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi old city, Hanoi Charming Hotel offers beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hanoi old street. Hanoi Charming Hotel is equipped with all amenities that you expect such as air-conditioning, international standard elevator, Internet ADSL, cable television, mini bar and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing