We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service - great added value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madame Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madame Moon Hotel
Ranked #40 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service - great added value”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Was here 4 days ago - found this place via TripAdvisor.

As the Madam Moon is now part of the Golden Sun group, have no worries on the overall quality. Even though Madam Moon is the most affordable of all the other Golden sun hotels, they are not compromising the value. Instead, they give you only what you need (and cut less on stuff that you will probably don't need).

Appearance of the hotel is deceiving - it looks like another regular travel agents (they have no fancy signs in the front), but wait until you see the room. Hence, ask for airport pick ups to avoid scam, or ask the taxi to go to Golden Sun Lakeview (which is only 2 buildings away). Given the nature of buildings in Hanoi, each floor of will only have 1 rooms, hence, try asking for a room on 1-3 floor. Their stairs are pretty steep, but they are more than welcome to help you carry your luggage. The hotel is also very strategic - very close to the Hoan Kiem Lake - only 3 mins away.

Rooms are equipped with 1 AC and 1 fan. We were unlucky because they had problems with the AC, so we stayed 1 nights there, and they upgraded the room to Golden Sun Lakeview for the other nights (without adding more cost). They tried their best though to keep ourselves comfortable by adding more fans. Surprisingly that night was not as hot as i thought :).

Breakfast is served next door at Golden Sun Lakeview. Simple breakfast with bread, egg (loved the scrambled egg which is fluffy :), and rather complete. Couldn't ask for more.

If you are lucky - try finding Binh Pham - the hotel's manager. He is simply amazing. He organized and ensured that we have the best tour (value for money - we went for Halong Phoenix Cruiser), and also get us discounted ticket price for Water Puppet show (we got 1st class ticket with the price of 2nd class). It is highly recommended to book the water Puppet show ticket via Binh Pham, because the ticket sold out fast.

Also, before going out, ask them for a free map. This is quite a handy map, because at the back of the page, they already enlisted several points of interest. Binh Pham will also help you to point out which one has moved (i.e. Quan An Ngon), and several other recos. Not to mention, that the map is very accurate and easy to read.

I will definitely be back here :)

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, but as i've mentioned before, try getting rooms at lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank si_mandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    74
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
140
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

What i am most impressed is the receptionists. They are nice and helpful and seems to be very happy to welcome guest at hotel, as well as to Hanoi. I checked out and asked them to keep room in 2 days later for me, but i came in 1 day earlier, they were quite flexible to find room in another hotel of their group and personally walk with me there, arranged in some minutes and I got a room in Goldsun 23 Hang Hanh w the same rate as at 17 Hang Hanh.

I felt really like home when i got back to hotel. That's so much for a guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anhluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I booked a few months in advance my room and tours to Sapa & Halong Bay all through email with Mr Binh who was very helpful. Its a good little guesthouse right near the lake. Room was comfortable and cleaned each day. Breakfast is included but you have to go out to one of their hotels a few shops down. Only problem I had was that the man at the desk was slow and did not seem to know English very well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kimanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stay 10 days with interruptions in this guesthouse. Room and breakfast were excellent. The staff very kind and helpful. We thanks specially M. Binh who booked for us a few splendid tours, even in less touristic places like Minh Binh where he knows a lot of very good people. We will definitely spread this address and come back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bagnolet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We booked 2 nights in this hotel in July. Staff helpfull and friendly. Binh helped us in many way. I recommanded this hotel. Good value for money, in the old quarter. We enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamarande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

guesthouse is small, staircase is narrow, but rooms are clean and location is good. It's extremely near to Hoan Kiem Lake and is not noisy in the night. The manager Mr Binh is helpful and nice. He booked us on a 2D1N Halong Bay tour and gave us a single room (there are 5 of us) without extra charge as promised in his email.

The breakfast spread was good and the guests can order pho, omelette and pancake from the kitchen too!

Overall, the stay was pleasant and comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinusLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballarat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Great hotel with very friendly service. This hotel is ideally located to explore Hanoi whether its exploring the narrow streets or simply people watching whilst sipping coffee in the many street coffee shops. Tip go see the puppet theater or just walk around the lake. tip 2 haggle haggle haggle when shopping there is a local price and a tourist price for very thing guess which one is highest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0dC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#102 of 578 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#34 of 577 in Hanoi
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
#68 of 577 in Hanoi
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
0.0 mi away
Artisan Boutique Hotel
Artisan Boutique Hotel
#44 of 577 in Hanoi
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Moon Hotel

Property: Madame Moon Hotel
Address: 17 Hang Hanh Str, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Madam Moon Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madam Moon's Guesthouses! Madam Moon Guesthouse is located on 17 Hang Hanh Str, with the best location in the center of Hanoi old quarter, the guesthouses are almost in one minutes walking to Hoan Kiem Lake, so you can find everything in a short walking distance such as shopping center, Dong Xuan market, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, the Night-market,city view cafe and thousand of restaurants. GUESTHOUSE ROOM FEATURE: + Aircondition 2-ways (Hot & Cold) + Free Wi-fi in the room and at the lobby of the hotel + Private computer and printer is for free of charge at the lobby + Fan with remote control + Led Tivi LCD 32-inches with cable + Fridge + Private Bathroom + Hot Shower + Free and very strong Wi-fi for internet access in the room + Buffet breakfast included (6:30am - 9:30am) + Tours desk for free information / We are also the travel companies organized tours with the best quality and cheapest prices guaranteed (Tour-information) + Free luggage storage + 24-hours Reception + Free Motorbike/Bicycle Parking + Free local phone if less than 3-minutes + Safety Box + No lock out or Curfew + soft beds + Towels/Soaps/ Shampoo + City map + Hair dryer + Goverment tax included + Currrency exchange + A front desk opened and staffed 24/7 + Daily housekeeping Thank you very much for your time reading about us, we are loooking forward to welcoming your lovely time in our guesthouse! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madame Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Moon Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing