We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Madame Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madame Moon Hotel
Ranked #46 of 628 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel was a great find in Hanoi. It is reasonably priced and offers spacious and clean rooms with a good brekkie in the morning. Mr Binh could not have been any more helpful. He assisted us in arranging our trip to Halong Bay and did not push us towards any tours that we were not interested in. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to visit. Although it is right in the hustle and bustle, it is not as noisy as some other hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Madame Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

clean and spacious, with all the facilities you need, with a very decent price!
it's a tiny place, only 5 rooms and i got the 5th floor walk up both times i was there (the stay was divided by a ha long bay trip) and it might be a problem for somebody with big luggage, but i only carried a backpack and it's quite manageable. just make sure you have all your stuff with you when you go because going up and down several times won't be fun :)
since it was quite steep, i'd advise pre-booking the lower floors for people who have problem with stairs or for the elderly. don't know if this is possible, though, because they only have one room per floor.
i was there on winter and the room could be quite cold at night despite of the heater, but they provide extra blanket so i had no problem sleeping.
but other than that, it's great! the room got wifi and flat TV with ample international channels. two fresh bottles of water always provided every day. the bathroom layout was a bit awkward but it got hot shower! (very much appreciated on winter days).
the breakfast menu provided in nearby cafe was also quite varied, not the standard tasteless fare. the staff was super helpful and friendly, maybe not the best english but enough to communicate with.
i'd stay there again, but make sure to get a lower floor room next time :)

Room Tip: only one room per floor. as far as i know, 103 and 105 got bigger beds, so better for couple. but ge...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room. The room was clean and spacious with business hotel facilities: air conditioner/heater, wifi, LCD TV with cable TV channels, desks, cupboard, chairs, a safe deposit box, ensuite hot/cold showers, toilet and wash basin complete with toiletries (flip flops, soap, shampoo, tootbrushes, combs, cotton buds, towels, etc).

Breakfast is included and of the best value: buffet in Buon Dua Le Cafe, just across the guesthouse. The food there is great with nice varieties.

Location is superb, near Hoan Kiem Lake. Just 5 minutes walk to Old Quarter. However, Hanoi is a small city and you can virtually walk to one corner to the other corner (in fact, you should walk as it is the best way to enjoy the city and avoid the fast metered taxi. Also, you're more likely to reach your destination faster than using public transport).

Service is great. The staff may speak broken English but helpful. We booked a Halong Bay cruise tour package through the guesthouse and satisfied with the reccommended cruise.

The room may lack of artistic touch (at least in my perspective) but not in a depressing way.

The hot shower didn't work after my wife used it. The staff said it was because of the cold weather. I had to wait for around 20 minutes before the hot shower is hot again despite the water heater is a well known brand (Ari***n), not a chinese brand.

All rooms are upstairs and the stairs are steep. It was quite a legwork for me to climb them (note that I am a fit person). The staff can help you carry your bag and tip is not expected (but do tip them, just $1 will make them happy and, as I said, the stairs are steep and demanding thus anyone carrying such weights deserve an appreciation of their efforts)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SuarSanubari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Rooms were adequate for price paid, clean and comfortable enough. Breakfast in cafe across the road was very good, with a variety of local dishes that changed daily and fresh fruit available. Reception was very helpful with suggestions of places to visit and to eat at. Very close to centre of town and markets which was handy but unfortunately meant it was quite noisy at all hours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 423rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

we stayed in madam moon in october. the hotel is located in a relativly quite street in the centre of the old city, 2 min from the lake. great location

the room are very nice and clean, very hot water in the shower.
the internet connection is good.

we stayed one night in there new hotel and the rooms are very nice and clean as well.
the stuff is helpfull and kind and helped us with train tickets.

the travel agency has room for improovment

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noamshpayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This guesthouse was our first Vietnam stay, and it set the bar very high. Reception gave us detailed instructions on how to get there from the airport, including information on how much we should expect to pay for a taxi, which service to use, etc. They also assisted us with booking a fantastic trip to Halong Bay and showed great interest in us being comfortable while in Hanoi. The staff also allowed us to store our bags there while we wandered the city after we had checked out of the hotel.
The room was very comfortable and quiet and the internet signal was strong (unlike in other places we had stayed). The breakfast in the morning was in another hotel across the street (1 minute walk), but it was the best "included" breakfast that we had during 6 weeks of travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor, if possible. Otherwise, there are a lot of stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarbuckB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We found here on Trip Advisor, didn't have time to book so arrived late in the evening and asked for a double room. We were led to the quietest spot available for an excellent price and enjoyed rose petals sprinkled over pristine bed linen and a spotless hotel room with ensuite. Amazing shower and toiletries provided! The breakfast is included and absolutely delicious with wonderful service. The best selling point of this Guest house is Mr Binh...the most friendly, sweetest and most astute manager as well as travel agent we have yet to find. We did two trips with this guest house - Sapa for 2 days which unfortunately proved to be rather rubbish given the thick fog, rain and generally bleak conditions (winter time in November apparently!) The major downfall of this trip was a hellish night sleeper service whereby the conductors were intent on making a westerner's life a misery. Basically we were forced to move to non sleeper seats despite paying full fare so that they could sell on seats again to locals en route. When we refused to move we were shouted at, pushed and generally made to feel extremely stressed for the 12 hour journey. Awful. However when we returned to Mr Binh and recounted our story he called the bus company, complaining on our behalf and then refunded us both the cost for our bus fare as well as transfers which also failed to make an appearance! On the other hand, Halong Bay 3 day, 2 night tour was AMAZING!!! The best trip we have yet to do. Stayed on Imperial Junk boat for the first night and a Beach Bungalow the second, we have to say this is a must see. Again this was organised by Mr Binh. We can not recommend this guest house highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#114 of 597 in Hanoi
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
#67 of 628 in Hanoi
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Holiday Hotel
Family Holiday Hotel
#60 of 628 in Hanoi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artisan Boutique Hotel
Artisan Boutique Hotel
#45 of 628 in Hanoi
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#38 of 628 in Hanoi
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Moon Hotel

Address: 17 Hang Hanh Str, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Madam Moon Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £18 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madam Moon's Guesthouses! Madam Moon Guesthouse is located on 17 Hang Hanh Str, with the best location in the center of Hanoi old quarter, the guesthouses are almost in one minutes walking to Hoan Kiem Lake, so you can find everything in a short walking distance such as shopping center, Dong Xuan market, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, the Night-market,city view cafe and thousand of restaurants. GUESTHOUSE ROOM FEATURE: + Aircondition 2-ways (Hot & Cold) + Free Wi-fi in the room and at the lobby of the hotel + Private computer and printer is for free of charge at the lobby + Fan with remote control + Led Tivi LCD 32-inches with cable + Fridge + Private Bathroom + Hot Shower + Free and very strong Wi-fi for internet access in the room + Buffet breakfast included (6:30am - 9:30am) + Tours desk for free information / We are also the travel companies organized tours with the best quality and cheapest prices guaranteed (Tour-information) + Free luggage storage + 24-hours Reception + Free Motorbike/Bicycle Parking + Free local phone if less than 3-minutes + Safety Box + No lock out or Curfew + soft beds + Towels/Soaps/ Shampoo + City map + Hair dryer + Goverment tax included + Currrency exchange + A front desk opened and staffed 24/7 + Daily housekeeping Thank you very much for your time reading about us, we are loooking forward to welcoming your lovely time in our guesthouse! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madame Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Moon Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing