We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to explore Hanoi”
Review of Madame Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madame Moon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Hanoi”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Madam Moon twice during our time in Vietnam and found the place to be perfect for our needs. In all we spent 6 nights with them. The location is great, near the lake, but on a bit of a side street so you don't get too much traffic. It's easy to get out and explore from here. The rooms are decent sized for a guest house in the middle of the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful for any questions we had for them. The breakfast they serve is one of the best we've had in our two months in South East Asia. We'd come back again!

Room Tip: We found the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms to be the best. Far enough away from the street to limit the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegotlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    74
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
141
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Madame moon is situated right next to the lake and is excellent location, the breakfast provided is lovely also. The rooms are very very comfortable and clean with good showers and view , the staff were so warm and friendly. My brother binh the manager is very helpful and organises tours etc. we arranged a night at ha long bay on a boat and automatically got upgraded to the luxury room . The boat was very nice and spacious and there were about 10'people in total , we had lunch then went to the cave but after were informed that there was a bad storm coming and it wouldn't be safe to stay as previously people had been killed a few years back so they make sure every ship returned to port and had dinner which was incredible . We returned to hanoi rather than staying near the bay and spoke to binh who asked us to have a coffee in the morning and talk about our opinion on the matter. The next morning he got us coffee and we talked about the unfortunate trip cancellation and we agreed it wasn't their fault at all and we still enjoyed the afternoon trip with lunch and dinner and we came to a agreement and he got the beers in and hung out with us for a few hours which was nice . They do airport pick up , breakfast,shower,TV, and fridge wardrobe etc .
Can't thank binh and staff enough for a lovely stay in hanoi and will see you again , Rich and Lumina

Room Tip: All rooms are pristine , rooms on floor 5 and above offer lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, General Manager at Madame Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Rich and Lumina,

On behalf of Madam Moon Guesthouse 's team, I would like to show our sincere thank for your recenstay in Hanoi during your holiday.

We know that Madam Moon Guesthouse is the first destination of your beginning trip in Vietnam, therefore we would love to bring you the best services for a happy holiday in Vietnam.

It was unlucky for us because of the bad weather, but we are so happy that you could understand of our position, because we have right to control the services, but there is no way to control the weather that is changing every day.

We are more than happy to see this Review on TripAdvisor, it will be the only way for us to understand you, your friends or million tourists coming to our guesthouse or not. That is our business future.

After all, I would like to thank you so much indeed for everything, and the guest house's team is really looking forward to welcoming you and your friends soon.

For any further questions, please keep contact with us at: info@madammoonguesthouse.com/ or you also can have different information at: www.madammoonguesthouse.com.

Yours sincerely,

Binh (Mr)
Sales Manager & Madam Moon Guesthouse's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay. Big highlight is the staff that is so nice , smiling , helping for the booking, etc. they do pick up at airport. Breakfast is included and was very nice. 22$ per night. Really central, the lake is at 2 min. All restaurants and bars are closed by.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-MaudeMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, General Manager at Madame Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Marie-Maude,

Thank you so much indeed for your review express on tripAdvisor that would be so helpful to our guesthouse as well as to many travellers all over the world to have more information before they are travelling to Hanoi!

We could be sure that your review also really healpful to the travellers who want to stay in hanoi old quarter, but paying a cheap price for a budget madam moon guesthouse which is just two minutes walking to Hoan Kiem Lake.

In our heart, we would love to thank you so much for your stay, everything and we are really looking for an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Madam Moon Guesthouse team & Binh (Mr)
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmendingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the service-team of madam moon guesthouse was so friendly and helpful - so much thanks for that!
also the location of the guesthouse is a great starting point for a Hanoi visit.
the rooms a quite big, clean and quiet - a really good value for your money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasZai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, General Manager at Madame Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear AndreasZai,

Madam moon Guesthouse team would like to thank you so much for your recent stay in the guesthouse.

We are so happy and lucky to have chance to welcome your stay and we could understand that you are happy with our services.

I wish, we are going to have more and more guests saying that they are happy with the money they paid for our services, that is also the most important way we run our business. We always think that today we have chance to meet you, today we must bring you our best services to keep you happy with your holiday that is the only way to keep friendship with you.

We are the small team is always looking forward to welcoming you one day!

Yours sincerely,

Madam Moon Guesthouse team & Binh (Mr)
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Madam Moon is brilliantly located on a quiet side street, just outside the old quarter, which is perfect for escaping the crowded streets of Hanoi. When we checked in we were greeted by Mr. Binh and his lovely staff. They quickly showed us to our room, which was spacious, complete with a refrigerator, hot water and a comfy bed. Our breakfast was included and located at the neighboring restaurant across the street. It is set up buffet style, with lots of choices and great coffee. Sit out on the balcony, while you eat, and watch the morning bikers stroll by selling everything from flowers to raw meat - a great way to start your day. Mr. Binh also was very helpful in booking our 3 day 2 night visit to Halong Bay, which was definitely a highlight to our trip. He answered all questions we had and made sure we were comfortable every step of the way. I would recommend this hotel/travel agency to anyone and if I make it back to Hanoi, there's no other option for me. Hope to see you soon Madam Moon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyourwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, Director of Sales at Madame Moon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guests -Sparkyourwanderlust,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing Madam Moon Guesthouse for your recent stay in Hanoi.

We would like to express our sincere thank to your Review Express on TripAdvisor, that will be really helpful to all the staffs understand they have been going on the right way to keep improving services to all guests day after day.

We all know that Tripadvisor is really helpful to most of tourists, our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. So we are always eager to hear from our guests that Madam Moon Guesthouse is their “Home away from home....” in Hanoi.

Thank you again, and the guesthouse'team is looking forward to welcoming your stay in Madam Moon Guesthouse the next time you are in Hanoi.

Wishes you all the best wishes!

Madam Moon Guesthouse's Team & Mr. Binh.
17 Hang Hanh Str- Hoan Kiem - Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The guesthouse is excellent! Very clean and nice, excellent location for a tourist and the staff is the best part. We loved it there... Breakfast included, fair price. Excellent value for money. The staff helped us getting everywhere we wanted to go and was very friendly. The only "negative" thing is walking to the room on the top floor... if you have bad knees - look for a room on the 1st floor because the stairs are very steep...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed a couple of days in Madam Moon guesthouse and had a great time. I was traveling alone, but the staff made me feel part of the family. They took care of me when I felt sick and organized good trips to Sapa and Halong Bay.
The rooms are clean and nice with enough space. But when you have a room on the 5th floor, like I had, you have to like stairs...
What I missed was a kettle, for I like making my own cup of tea after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#110 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#92 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#164 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
Madam Moon Guesthouse 2
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
#37 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Moon Hotel

Property: Madame Moon Hotel
Address: 17 Hang Hanh Str, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Madam Moon Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madam Moon's Guesthouses! Madam Moon Guesthouse is located on 17 Hang Hanh Str, with the best location in the center of Hanoi old quarter, the guesthouses are almost in one minutes walking to Hoan Kiem Lake, so you can find everything in a short walking distance such as shopping center, Dong Xuan market, Thang Long Water Puppet Theater, the Night-market,city view cafe and thousand of restaurants. GUESTHOUSE ROOM FEATURE: + Aircondition 2-ways (Hot & Cold) + Free Wi-fi in the room and at the lobby of the hotel + Private computer and printer is for free of charge at the lobby + Fan with remote control + Led Tivi LCD 32-inches with cable + Fridge + Private Bathroom + Hot Shower + Free and very strong Wi-fi for internet access in the room + Buffet breakfast included (6:30am - 9:30am) + Tours desk for free information / We are also the travel companies organized tours with the best quality and cheapest prices guaranteed (Tour-information) + Free luggage storage + 24-hours Reception + Free Motorbike/Bicycle Parking + Free local phone if less than 3-minutes + Safety Box + No lock out or Curfew + soft beds + Towels/Soaps/ Shampoo + City map + Hair dryer + Goverment tax included + Currrency exchange + A front desk opened and staffed 24/7 + Daily housekeeping Thank you very much for your time reading about us, we are loooking forward to welcoming your lovely time in our guesthouse! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madame Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Moon Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing