We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #185 of 670 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days, and loved it! Upon arriving they were decorating there Christmas tree in the lobby....I am a Christmas fanatic and before even checking in they let me jump right in and help, eventually asking me how to make it look better than they did it....which was very kind of them!

The staff were friendly and amazing, and invited us to dine with them after hours often!

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The showers hot, HBO is awesome, and the double beds very comfortable!

I highly recommend this hotel! Don't be put off but the walk down the alley to get to it, if you are a first time traveller to Vietnam! We've found the best gems at the ends of sketchy alley ways!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sionna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Paramount Hotel in Hanoi Vietnam was a good little hotel for the money with a couple cons. My wife and I stayed there for a few nights in late November 2013.

As we checked in we were greeted by the hotel travel agent/tour information representative. We were slightly weary of booking activities from the budget hotels as we have read online that these hotels are notorious for overpricing activities and treating you poorly if you book elsewhere.

First con: As soon as we checked in, tired from our long flight, not fully acclimated to Vietnam culture - we were walked through the tours they offered (Sapa, Halong Bay, etc.) We had planned on going to Halong Bay with a higher end boat (Deluxe to Luxury range). Right away we were told about the tours to Halong Bay. "Not many spots left, we have a great high end boat. Here are the prices. $220 US." We said thanks - we will think about it and were escorted to the room.
- We would rather of had a chance to check into the room and get situated before the tour presentation. We were treated with a glass of tea upon arrival which was nice.

Second con - The location is kinda hard to find, as it is down the side of a side street. It is in a good spot, but we stayed in another spot that cost the same that was right on the main roads (which we preferred better).

All in all we liked our stay with the Paramount Hotel. We did end up booking a tour with a tour agency (not the hotel) and had a great trip on the Imperial Luxury Boat 3 Day 2 Night (1 night on the boat, and 1 night in a bungalow). We paid $138/person for 2 people - It was a great trip!

Lastly, unlike the reports online - we still felt welcomed at the hotel even though we booked our tours with another tour agency.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTravelRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate nights, while traveling in and out of Hanoi. The rooms were spacious. On our first and last night the room seemed a bit dirty though. However on the second night, the room we stayed in was great. It's a no-frills hotel, but the staffs were amazing, always very helpful and the location was excellent. We enjoyed the complimentary wifi and breakfast. Also we had booked a transfer from and to the airport. Each time the car was always on time. On our way to Hanoi we were worried that we would have to wait at the airport for a few hours since the time of our flight had changed. But to our surprise the driver was already waiting for us at the airport. Such a great value for your money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

A nice experience - enjoyed it so much I went back after a Ha Long Bay trip. Great location in the Old Quarter, merely a few metres from a host of eateries, handicrafts shops and in easy walking distance from the main attractions (lake, cathedral, museums). Great views from the 7th floor. Room was huge, more like a tasty apartment than a well hidden hotel.

Wifi was incredibly reliable and fast, a rarity in my experience. The staff were great on check in and continued to offer advice, assistance and their time whenever needed. Personally believed it was good value at £13 on hotels.com.

Only downside was the breakfast - eggs as you like but buffet was poor.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Previously reviewed but been back again due to the fact we just love it so much, staff so friendly , happy & helpful, rooms are spotlessly clean with a bath & a shower, full facilities including free Wifi that does work, huge rooms & very comfortable. Great breakfasts included in an excellent price & close enough to walk up into the main shopping areas & markets etc. only 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral & excellent restaurants.
The night before we left we were presented with a beautiful framed painting of Hanoi by the staff, totally elated & still do not know why., was just wonderful.
Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: have stayed on levels 3 & 8 & these rooms in the corners are great, so big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annisa161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

In fact, we really enjoyed staying in the hotel. We have booked Superior Room and it was so spacious, and just great. It's definitely not newly renovated, but clean and nice.

But, BEWARE of what kind of room hotel staff gives you first. Because in our case, firstly they gave us Standard Room, but we immediately realized that it's not what we booked and they changed to the Superior (bigger and nicer) with no hesitation. So, keep in mind what have you really booked, don't trust reception.

Location is nice, in backpacker area, so lots of food and souvenirs shops around. 15 minutes walking to Hoan Kiem Lake.

Staff is helpful, though sometimes too obtrusive. Breakfast same everyday and not so many choices.

Would stay here again if in the same room. Really liked it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleksasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Arrived in Hanoi early morning (6.30am) was met by our hotel transfer at airport as requested. We had initially booked to stay at Hanoi Luxor hotel but was relocated to Paramount hotel as the Luxor had to be closed down. It had all been previously confirmed via email with myself so I was aware of the change before arrival. When we arrived in Paramount hotel we were greeted by a very friendly lady at reception who immediatley made us feel welcome. We were sat down with coffee and given a map of Hanoi, the receptionist (sorry I didnt take her name :() highlighted the main attraction areas for us which was very helpful! Although she did try many times to get us to book train tickets, tours, cars etc. we politely said no as I had already arranged these myself. We were also very grateful to be informed that there was a room ready for us so there was no waiting around after a 12 hour flight :). The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. A good place to get your head down after hours sightseeing in the town. Complimentary breakfast was good, not amazing but was plesantly suprised! Fresh omelette, coffee, toast with jam etc.The hotels location doesnt seem the best when you first arrive but it really is ideal. Near St Josephs cathederal and Hoam Kiem lake, theres also some lovely little restaurants/cafes near the hotel which offer great food for cheap! My partner and I stayed at Paramount for 3 nights and I would not hesitate to stay here on my next visit to Hanoi. Its not the most fanciest of hotels and could do with a bit of a revamp but the service is very good and the location amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Hanoi

Address: 28 Ngo Huyen str | Hoan Kiem dis, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £29 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paramount Hotel Hanoi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paramount Hotel, 28 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, is located near Hoan Kiem Lake, the heart of Hanoi, one street from St. Joseph’s Cathedral in an area offering a wide choice of excellent Western style and Vietnamese restaurants. On the edge of Hanoi’s Old Town of Thirty-Six Streets, the hotel is surrounded by colourful shops selling silk, lacquer, wood and stone sculpture, one block from Hanoi’s Silk Street, Hang Gai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paramount Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing