We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask more from a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Dolce Vita Hotel
Ranked #127 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Located in the centre of the old quarter. Just 5 minutes walk to Lake Hoan Kien. Restaurents and coffee houses are all around. Friendly staff ever willing to assist. The superior room with attached bathroom was clean and comfortable enough. The size of the room was more than sufficient to air/dry my wet/sweaty clothes after 3 rounds of golf. A large flat screen tv and good wifi signal can tempt you to stay in the room indefinitely. Fairly good breakfast spread with western and local delicacies. It's buffet style with egg and noodle stations respectively. You can't ask more from a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: It will be quite noisy if you are in front room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for La Dolce Vita Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

La Dolce Vita is right smack in the middle of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. Everything is within walking distance. And I think that is pretty much the saving grace for this place. It's not bad, but it wasn't great either. It was satisfactory, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not very memorable, save for the chef who did our omelette. Perfect French-shaped. But considering that it is located where it is, this is a good spot to stay while exploring Hanoi.

Traffic is terribly busy right at the doorstep, and at nights after the shutters of the shops have rolled down for the day, out come the locals with their tiny stools, congregating on the five-foot way with their snacks and meals to catch up with each other, or to sell their wares in a make-shift night market. Walking along the roads in the Old Quarter is death-defying. Don't hesitate. If you are planning to cross, just make eye contact and do it. If going with babies / toddlers, best to leave the prams and strollers at home. There is not much pavement to walk on and many a time we had to walk on the street. In Hanoi it seems that applying the horn takes precedence over applying the brakes. The cacophony of honking can be quite unnerving initially, but give yourself a day or two and you won't even notice it after. We were quite lucky not to have heard much traffic from our hotel room.

Dolce Vita's beds are quite comfy, and the lobby lounge looks inviting enough. The staff speak English although it can be quite hard to comprehend. Perhaps it was the language barrier, but we thought they could be more helpful during our stay, especially with places of interest and places to eat. There was one young lady who deserves special mention. Pity we did not get her name, but she was the most helpful and arranged our restaurant reservations and taxi for us, and went the extra mile confirming the exact location (we had no idea that the restaurant had moved). She provided local information as to the nearest bakeries or Pho restaurants, and was just an absolute pleasure. Speaking of Pho noodles, the staff recommended one to us that was on 49, Bat Dan Street, just down the road from the hotel. We went twice, but on both occasions they sold out. It appears very popular with the locals, and even though we didn't get to eat there, the bovine stock smelled fantastic.

On the whole the hotel is convenient and since it is unlikely that guests would be staying in their rooms all day, it is a good base to explore. The main attractions like the water puppet theatre (a must-do, even if the puppet show is in Vietnamese) and Ho Chi Minh's house etc are a bit further off, so it would be best to take a taxi. Be warned, some taxis do not use the meter. And those that do, have the tendency to take you on the longer route back. Quite annoying. Most cabs accept US dollars, but probably best to ask. Keep your Vietnamese Dong for the small shops and local eateries. It's best to bring a bit of both currencies.

We took TA's recommendation and ate at Bun Bo Nam Bo on Hang Dieu, which is a beef dried vermicelli noodle tossed in some sauce. Great stuff! We also ate at a charming little restaurant called Green Tangerine where they served some French-style cuisine. Duck liver parfait was absolutely delicious, if not a little rich, and the duck breast was excellent. Sizeable portions. For a nice meal at very decent prices, try Hoa Sua Hospitality School. It is a training school for disadvantaged children and they have an operating restaurant. It's a little further out from Old Quarter, but it is something different.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights.
Very good location, in the center of old quarter .
Poor breakfast, not enough vegetables, good fruits .
Pleasant rooms, warm, nice and clean.
Very large and very comfortable lobby.
Quite rooms.
Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel at the end of May for 3 days. The staff were very helpful and the room and facilities were very nice. We booked the VIP room which was slightly more expensive but worth the extra space and the balcony to look down over the bustle of the old quarter. great location - would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doob62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

located in the old quarter within walking distance of bars, restaurants and the Hoan Kiem Lake area. So perfectly situated. However this is the busiest and noisiest area so be warned, crossing the street is like nothing you have ever experienced in the west, but thats part of the fun of Hanoi.

So the hotel. Seven floors with rooms at the front, overlooking the street, and the back with no view. We had a room at the front on the first floor with a balcony. Nice room with a large king size bed, small sitting area and adequate bathroom. The room is a bit tired with carpet stains, mould in the tile joints in the bathroom and flaking paint on the bathroom ceiling. Facility was very clean, but it just lacks that little care and attention that could get this hotel a four star rating, or if not picked up could lose it a star!
Our room was very noisy, even with good double glazing, we needed ear plugs to sleep before midnight. The staff are very friendly and the management very accommodating, when we told them we could not sleep they moved us to a suite on the 5th floor, room 501, which being set back was a lot quieter. All rooms have dressing gowns, slippers, tea / coffee, a large flat screen TV and free wi-fi.
Breakfast was a buffet affair and perfectly adequate particularly if you start the day with a bowl of delicious Pho. they will also do you eggs any way you like, and there is always fresh fruit and juice.

All in all we enjoyed a 3 night stay in la Dolce Vita

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Hanoi. Great location very good room and nice staff very helpfull. The breakfast was good and there was enough choice of what to eat. Only drawback was a room without an outside window, but saying that being in the heart of Hanoi was a blessing in disguse (seeing how noisy Hanoi is).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On my recent trip to Hanoi, I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, When I check in at the hotel, I asked if they had a room with King size bed and they said all had been taken up and gave me a queen size bed room. To my surprise the bed was a king size bed in the room which was fine. The understanding of English at the front desk was not very good. The hotel deco was simple and nothing elegant about it. The rooms were fairly large and the house keeping keeps the hotel clean. One thing I found very strange was that the only telephone in the room was located in the bathroom. The hotel staff could not quite explain how the thermostat worked in the room as it was still quite cold in Hanoi in March. There is internet in the room whicn was quite slow. The breakfast was a good enough for a 3 star standard hotel. I can't complain about the location as it was in the old parts and very close by to the shopping.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window and do ask for a room at the back as the front room gets...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
Luxury Old Quarter Hotel
#90 of 598 in Hanoi
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Sky Hotel
Hanoi Sky Hotel
#167 of 598 in Hanoi
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adamas Hanoi Hotel
Adamas Hanoi Hotel
#450 of 598 in Hanoi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Flower Hotel
Flower Hotel
#198 of 598 in Hanoi
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#84 of 598 in Hanoi
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Hotel

Address: 53 Hang Bo Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Dolce Vita Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly opened La Dolce Vita Hotel is perfectly located in the historic Old Quarter, with easy access to the restaurant, shopping and nightlife areas. With its convenient location, the hotel is just 3 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem lake and 40 minutes drive from Noi Bai International Airport. Hotel has 3 kind of room: Superior, Deluxe and VIP. Thank you for booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Dolce Vita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing