We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Ranked #124 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I don't have much expectation to hotel, it is good to me as long as it is clean and tidy. However, i am disappointed this time, i can see some dirty spot and stain on the bed, the chair and the towel, the cup in the mini bar and the bathroom looks like it have not been cleaned for days...

The good side is the services, the computer and free wifi in the room, however, i would rather live in a clean room...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 說走就走
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    118
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
227
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Myself and my wife had a 24 hr stopover in Hanoi and for us it was a great opportuniny to spend a day in Vietnamese capital. Initially we booked a twin room at Rising Dragon Legend Hotel and received confirmation from booking.com. After that we received a message from the hotel's manager offering us a transfer from the airport to the hotel for 17 USD. It was great because the airport is located rather far from Hanoi, about 45 km and it takes about 50 - 60 mins to get there or back. I must say that nobody met us at the airport. I changed money (the rate was 1 USD - 21800 Vietnamese Dongs) and talked to the guys at the arriving hall. They wanted 30 or 40 USD but before the flight I checked prices through the Internet. The normal price is 16 USD from the airport to any hotel in the center of Hanoi, the price for the car and your baggage, not per person ))

When we arrived at the hotel early in the morning, we were told that they would try to find a room for us because check in time was only at 1 or 2 pm. We were offered breakfast but we did't want. We had a long flight and ate 2 times in the airplane, it was enough )) After 15 mins we were told that the hotel was fully booked and they would move us to another Rising Dragon. In fact, they have 6 or 7 Rising Dragons in Hanoi, it's a chain.

They called a taxi and a guy from the personnel accompanied us to the new location. It was free for us, he paid. Another one was Rising Dragon Grand Hotel. The price was the same - 28 USD/twin room/night for 2 persons in total.

The personnel there was good, they tried to be effective, but you must understand that international business in Vietnam is in the beginning of its way, don't expect fluent language )) It's simply understandable ))

It was a tipical Asian hotel, rather convenient room with bathroom and toilet, TV, 2 complement small bottles of water, good Wi-Fi. But.. sound proof should be better .. inside and outside the rooms. When you check in, ask them to give you a room facing to the yard, not to the main street, because the traffic in Hanoi is intensive 24 hr a day, it could be a problem to sleep well. As for the walls, if you have "energetic" neighbors, it can be the problem too. For example, after midnight young British couple from another room started to.... "sleep" with fantastic wild cries. Sometimes it seemed to me that they were in our room... too noisy.

As for the transportation, take taxis, they very cheap and effective. I don't recommend to use public transportation or rent a car or a bike... As weel, be careful on the roads. Mainly everybody breaks the road rules.

As for the hotel, it's OK for 1 or 2 nights, no more. Also they offered a taxi to the airport for 15 USD, good price. If you travel back by air, ask them to arrange the transfer!

In conclusion, this is your decision - to stay or not to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask to give you a room not facing to the street!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I cannot imagine who writes the reviews for this hotel. Yes, the staff are pleasant and eager to please, but the hotel is in desperate need of care and attention. The rooms are small and cramped with stained furniture and the wallpaper is peeling from the walls. The bed is as hard as a rock and the street noise is constant. Breakfast is lacking in both quality and quantity. The balcony has no seating provided and the wi-fi is slow and erratic. TV reception is impossible on most channels. There are far better choices in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaW506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I love this hotel. Good enough for me to write a review for them. I gave them the wrong arrival time that made us 2 hours late than the time I told the hotel. Surprisingly, the shuttle car driver was still there! And after we reached the hotel, which was 4 hours earlier than check in time, we were seated in the restaurants of the hotel, served with welcome drinks and with a receptionist explained everything for us personally. My parents' room was being upgrade without any additional charge! The staffs were so helpful. Do ask them anything, they would try their best to answer you. Another thing I love about the hotel is they don't request for tips. I hate people standing in my room or hinting me to give them tips. If I ever visit Hanoi again, Rising Dragon would absolutely be my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yini90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This was a very nice hotel, the staff were friendly and knowledgable - they spoke excellent english and were always available with a smile. We reserved a superior double room. The room was large and comfortable. Very clean and visually pleasing. The bed was comfortable with big pillows and extra linens available in the room. The bathroom was large and well appointed, but the water pressure is a bit low, but was not a problem. The staff helped set us up with an excellent HaLong Bay overnight cruise and worked with us to extend our room an extra night. Breakfast was very good and even offered when we came down after the scheduled hours. Excellent location in the Old Quarter. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and happily reccomend it to anyone who is going to Hanoi. They offer very reasonable pick up and departure service to the airport. Exceptional value for the money. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noname12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Our 11-day holiday in Hanoi was truly a wonderful experience - thanks to the exceptional service and hospitality of all the staff at the Rising Dragon Grand Hotel. A beautiful cooked breakfast; clean and comfortable rooms with WiFi, and staff that excelled in ensuring that our holiday in Hanoi remains as one of our most memorable events. From Airport taxi pickup to organisation of various tours; from assistance onto the train to Sapa - nothing was too much trouble, and hotel management should indeed be very proud of the staff that work at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located in the Old Quarter; and provides a very affordable and friendly sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Linda & Graham Nixon, Dunsborough, Western Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

we stayed several times in rising dragon during our stay in Vietnam.
no problem to store our luggage.
Mr Home even guided us to the railway station and even picked us up when he should have been sleeping ;-) Best personal service! Thanks ever smiling Mr Home.
Breakfast is fresh, good variety. also for the staff serving breakfast, any question, ask and you are helped immediately.
rooms are bigger than rising dragon Villa, and very OK. rooms with the balcony the best. other once maybe lack some daylight and air, but still fine + good price/value.
wifi works well.

we organised our tours to sa pa and ha long bay from the hotel and sat a complete morning with Miss Anne to get every single detail about the trip. she helped a lot, any question was seriously handled in correct english ( as we don't speak vietnamese ). Today she even guided us to the etnylogical museum and showed us the best value shopping spots.
Many thanks Miss Anne, you and your staff made us feel home at Rising Dragon.
1 minus is the taxi pick up from the airport, as in 2 occassions they were not there or apparently somebody else from the hotel already picked our taxi just before us.

I would recommend this hotel to any kind of traveler. (business, couple, family)

Room Tip: for quite sleeping (no street contact) ask for rooms ending 02, 03 for more air, daylight and a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#113 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel
Icon 36 Hotel
#131 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#57 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#142 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#86 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Grand Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Address: 24 Hang Ga St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Rising Dragon II Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Grand is located in the heart of The Old Quarter, just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater and alongside a thriving outdoor market. Along Hang Ga street, you will find cafes, an award-winning spa, pharmacies and various shops and stores carrying clothing, handicrafts, and other amazing finds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rising Dragon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing