We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for money business hotel, lacking some facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Ranked #99 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed a number of times at the Mercure in Hanoi - which is in a good location near the centre of the city.

It is a relatively small hotel (8 floors of rooms) and as a consequence, tends to get full quickly. Due to the price point, it is also very popular with tour groups - which can over-run the hotel at either check-in / check-out and / or breakfast times. On a prior stay, due to many guests checking out at the one time, I waited what would have been 10 minutes for a lift.

Rooms are small, but well equipped, with very comfortable beds (they do not have ironing facilities within the room, which can be an issue when you arrive late and need to go to the office first thing the next morning). Food / restaurant is quite good, and very reasonably priced, although for breakfast, it pays to check if there are any tour groups in the hotel and what time they will depart. Gym is very basic and sub-standard.

The hotel does the job for a night or two (especially at the price point), but lacks the facilities to appeal for longer stays. The location means that space is at a premium, but it the hotel had better facilities (especially a more complete or modern gym), I would stay there more often.

Room Tip: Rooms on the railway side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

A modern, clean, comfortable hotel with friendly and efficient staff made for a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are a good size and well equipped. Free wi-fi that worked well. Good location. It’s a little walk to the old town but that wasn’t a problem for me as I enjoyed the walk and at night it’s only a short cab ride back. I’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When I arrived, the receptionist said my booking was bluntly cancelled by reservation department. The fact is, I missed the email that they sent me over within a day (less than 24 hours) before my stay, asking me if I am coming because they couldn't charge my credit card. They should have asked me much earlier as my booking was made and confirmed a month ago. (You don't expect me checking email through out the day during holiday, right?) As their hotel was full, they just asked me to book another hotel at first without any giving any help. After a long argument, they finally agreed to relocate us to Pullman. Time wasted.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred_NG_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Alfred_NG119,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm very sorry that your reservation was canceled.
After investigation, it seems your reservation was canceled as per the terms and conditions of the rate you've booked.
Even though these terms and conditions allow us to cancel the bookings automatically without further notice, we always contact our guests one day in advance to support and assist, all the more during high occupancy periods.

I take into consideration your comment and will review with the team the explanation provided for guests who don't have time to read their emails 24h before arriving.

Let me apologize again for this poor experience with us and I'm happy that a solution was found within Accor hotels in Hanoi.

best regards,
Vincent Delsol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked the hotel for a day use after Jetstar delayed my flight in 8h. Although I didn't actually sleep there, I found the room quite comfortable and adequate. Location is really good, close to the old quarter and walking distance to many nice restaurants. The only issue was the bathroom not being clean when I had already checked-in into my room.
Nice option for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel was part of the package tour we purchased in Australia and we were impressed from check-in with the friendly and helpful staff. Extremely attentive to our needs, efficiently exchanged currency for us and we were delighted to have the "best" room in the hotel. Recommendations for dinning were spot on and we enjoyed the free wine tasting which is held on the last Wednesday of each month. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the famous "eat street", the railway station and about 15 minutes walk to the Old Quarter or a short and cheap taxi ride.

Room Tip: Stayed in three different rooms - all were good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MittagongWinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear MittatongWinos,

I'd like to thank you for your very nice comment about the room, the staff and the quality of the food.
Your recommandations are very accurate and give some good tips to future guests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a Mercure Hotel.
best regards,
Vincent Delsol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank vietan_tran
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed over Easter on way to Halong Bay. Great hotel, lovely staff and good breakfast. No complaints and the tour desk lady is fantastic. It has a good enough gym and the bar is nice. Would stay here again next time. Wifi was good too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#80 of 597 in Hanoi
1,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#102 of 597 in Hanoi
659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#89 of 597 in Hanoi
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#81 of 597 in Hanoi
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silk Path Hotel
Silk Path Hotel
#58 of 597 in Hanoi
2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel

Address: 94 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Hanoi, Mercure Hanoi La Gare is the emergence between the French Colonial architecture with modern interior design. Just 10min walk to the Old Quarter or the Temple of Literature and Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing