We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$153
US$137
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$125
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Sun Palace Hotel(Hanoi)
US$50
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Sun Suites Hotel(Hanoi)
US$65
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,047 results
Traveller rating
368
519
131
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
519
131
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquan an ngonold quarterclose to the train stationbusiness tripegg stationstandard roomrestaurant stafftour deskrooms are smallhalong baycomfortable stayfrench quartershort stayphoconvenient locationbreakfast buffetenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 1,047 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was really good. Nice nice room, nice bed, the service excellent. I only give 4 starts because the restaurant was not that great. The menu is really wide but the food is not so good given its high price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Omar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were very pleasantly met by the staff of the Mercure Hotel in Hanoi. They quickly offered us a refreshing towel and check was so quick it was such a delight to just go straight to the room and know you could relax. The rooms although smallish by most hotels we have stayed at were extremely comfortable and very clean. There is no pool but there is always the shower which had great water pressure. The gym is a little small also and the only downfall I could mention here was there was no exercise machine for walking/running. But there was an alternative.
I think the highlight of the hotel was the staff. They really were pleasant and friendly.
The food and beverages at the hotel were excellent and very moderately priced.
The convenience of the hotel is great for shopping, a short stroll around the corner is a great food hall for everyone including the locals - so you know it must be good food. Also close by is Hanoi Hilton which housed such inmates as John McCain and other American pilots/soldiers during the war. The lake is only about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel and the restaurants around that area are of excellent quality.
Also the manager took time out of his busy schedule to come and introduce himself and have a chat to us as he had lived in Australia for some time going to University. He was an extremely friendly man and was interested in whether we had enjoyed our stay at the hotel and if there was anything he could do for us. We met him in the morning and he even booked and told us which taxi to use as they were the best and cheapest taxis to use in Hanoi. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed 2 nights but 3 days apart and found our room on the 7th floor overlooking the road was excellent and the noise didnt bother us at all. But the room we had right next to the gym on the 2nd or 3rd floor was a little noisey when people used the gym and also the street noise was notable in the morning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the convenient location and were impressed with the level of service provided by our team. We will be sure to share your positive comments with them.

It was my pleasure having a conversation with you during your stay, please rest assured that I am taking the appropriate measures to address your recommendation to improve our Gym.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanoi in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hieu Tong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was ok. It was not 5 star as promised more a very nice motel. If you can get a cheap deal stay there. Good things first... Staff are excellent. Room service and cleaning excellent. You have an ATM at the entrance. You can change major currency in the lobby. Hotel is walking distance to most things. Free Wi-Fi. Restaurant served nice food of different types but it was three times the price of eating across the road but that is not unusual for hotels. Buffet breakfast was great but compared to Nha Trang and Saigon it was small and lacking in variety.
Bad things. No rooftop pool. No view. Hotel is a bit old and dated. No dvd player in room. I don't care it's a third world country. It's suppossed to be 5 star??
Staff where excellent but only spoke limited English.
I would stay there again only if i got a cheap deal. Boutique hotels in the area we saw where much cheaper and nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to hear of your positive experience with the level of service provided by our team and will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and really appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. I am pleased to share with you that we have added more items into our breakfast offers such as local foods and Juices.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Hanoi La Gare in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Hieu Tong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's an excellently situated hotel, ideal for walking around Hanoi. Close to some good shopping areas.

The food is very good, Happy hour is very good value.

Very good for business and holidays.

Friendly staff

Room Tip: Higher the better :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank oasis7639peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you were well taken care of by our team and had enjoyable experiences in both the food quality and happy hour value . As we strive to exceed our guest expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with the team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Hanoi La Gare in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hieu Tong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stay there for my business trip for couple of times and I find that the hotel is very good for business travellers, the room size is just good as same as the variety of breakfast is good enough for business man who has no time to enjoy much. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kaiser-Pummoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureHanoiLaGareGM, General Manager at Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback and for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you to enjoyed your stay at our our hotel.

We continuously strive to exceed our guest expectations and your kind feedback is a gracious commendation of our team.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Hanoi La Gare in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Hieu Tong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews