We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it when you need an Italian food fix out here”
Review of Angelina

Angelina
Ranked #298 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Angelina - the exceptional bar - lounge - restaurant Angelina offers western cuisine with Italian influence and has a gourmet selection of fine grilled meats and seafood as well as modern tapas, pastas, risottos and lighter fare. Angelina is also where the "who's who" of Hanoi come to play. Avant-garde design, a live DJ and a top shelf guest list make Angelina the place to be seen. Innovative mixologists show talent with their signature cocktails, premium spirits and enviable wine list.
brussels
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth it when you need an Italian food fix out here”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent food not only by local standards. Expensive though but who cares when Pho is the only alternative.... ;)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joerg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    35
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Second time , no regret”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

we loved angelina the first time we visit the sofitel metropole,again ,we had the very best meal and service ever. (thanks chef Evan) . This time we took the aperitif at bamboo bar( see separate review) but still we loved angelina very much .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fry8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I booked into Angelina restaurant in the Sofitel Metropole. The experience was amazing. We enjoyed a tapas platter as entre which was just so tasty. Our mains were delightful and the desserts to die for. The cherry tartlet and tiramisu was just magnificent. We topped it off with coffee and complimentary liqueur. The waiting staff were on the ball, with timing of the meals and never missed the opportunity to top up our wine. They were extremely polished and professional. It was truly an experience. We would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very good meal, excellent service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

An Italian restaurant at a French hotel in Vietnam, where we were served by a German manager (Camilla). It was lovely. I had a few special requests and Camilla tailored my meal to those requests. The food was fresh, hot and tasty. What more can you ask? Our additional servers were just as attentive.

The bar which was downstairs from where we ate was smokey and the smoke made its way to the dining area, which was disappointing.

For a meal inside a hotel, this one was fine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Smoky, small portions and overpriced but tasty”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The food at Club Angelina was tasty but the portions were very small especially given the prices. Also, even the no smoking section is filled with smoke because the smoke rises from the bar and smoking section below. Until and unless the ventilation system is modified I cannot recommend it unless you smoke...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelina also viewed

 

Been to Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing