We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #89 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hanoi”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

What a lovely Hotel. Clean and comfortable. About a 45 min drive from the Airport and 20 mins by cab into Hanoi town. Plenty of food choice. and Staff would bend over backwards to help.

We did a trip to Ha Long Bay from here. the trip was fine but it is a 4 hour drive to get there ad with one night on the boat and another 4 hours back was a bit of a drag. Have got to say the driving in Vietnam is the worst I have ever seen.....Madness

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiftie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    545
    186
    39
    19
See reviews for
223
441
95
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Sheraton hotel looks and feels the same in every part of the world. However, they would try to add a little local flavour, such as the furniture, the ornament & the food. I enjoyed the short performance of Vietnamese music at the lobby in the evening. I also find the free shuttle transport downtown very helpful, especially when Sheraton is a little out of the way.

However, I was rather disappointed that wifi is only accessible in the lobby as compared to the smaller & cheaper hotel in Hanoi downtown, whereby wifi is accessible in every corner of the hotel, from lobby, to restaurant and to the room. Also, I received daily newspaper & fruit basket when I was in a four star hotel but not in this five star hotel.

Room Tip: I was staying in level 6 and I got very little view of the west lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear “SuzyLim”

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write and post this review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the Vietnamese music in the lobby and our touches to make the Sheraton more local. The free shuttle into the city is also very handy and it is great to hear that you used the service. We have now installed wifi in the hotel so it is not only available in the lobby, but also in the rooms and Oven D’or restaurant.

Thank you again for this review. I do hope that we will welcome you again to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm regards
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Keith & I returned to Sheraton again this year in Nov/Dec . WE had 8 nights at the beginning of our 5 weeks in Vietnam and 3 nights on the way home. Once again we were not disappointed. This year on the way back for the last 3 nights we upgraded to the club level which was a lovely treat but the rooms are no different which was fine with us and we missed the relaxed atmosphere and the bubbly staff of the lobby lounge and I am not saying that the staff upstairs were not pleasant as they were its just a different atmosphere on club level ( a lot quieter). The buffet breakfast is enormous lots of choices lovely and fresh too. The beds are the softest in Vietnam oh so good to come back to after travelling around. You are always greeted at the door ( even if its 6 times a day) with a lovely smile which great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear “fitnfifty”

You are very kind!! Thank you for these warm words. It’s great to hear your comments about the lobby lounge staff, I think they are all fantastic. As you have pointed out, the club lounge is different to the lobby. In the lobby lounge you can see many more things happening in the hotel and it can be quite interesting.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and getting the day off to a good start with a great breakfast is very important. The beds that you have mentioned are Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and are fantastic after a long day to get for a good nights sleep. The door girls are something we do to give the Vietnamese touch to the hotel and their warm smiles are a reminder that you are in Vietnam.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here to use it as a base for a Ha Long Bay cruise (four hours away) and to do a bit of Hanoi on the side. I've stayed in hotels close to Hanoi's old quarter while on business, and was a bit worried that for this break, it might be too far from the city center where I thought the action was. We couldn't have picked a better location. The west lake area has a very good expat community vibe that was quite enjoyable to watch. Good restaurants around the area (all the three restaurants we went to had really great food, thanks to recommendations by the concierge). The area presents a different aspect of Hanoi -- more quiet, a bit more cosmopolitan. You wouldn't hear motorbikes letting their honking rip, so you'll have some peace and quiet after a day at the city center.

Although the staff's English is not that great (even for a Sheraton property), they were really friendly and helpful. We asked the staff for their names after each pleasant interaction and we had a list of five names after just two days. Thanks to Phuong at the front desk and Vu the concierge who arranged for our airport transfer on our way back, because they really stood out.

The rooms are quite large and if you stay in even number rooms, you will most likely have a good view of the lake. Nonetheless, it helps to ask for a good view when you check in. Room amenities are up to standard.

Other great things going for this hotel:
- The gym is great and the pool is very private.
- Free Internet stations at the lobby
- Two ATMs steps outside the front door so you can do international withdrawals
- Clean bathroom, you won't feel yucky

Two other concerns I had when reading previous comments that made me unsure about choosing sheraton hanoi for this trip:
1. That it does not look as nice as the intercontinental next door. True - the Sheraton looks old and unspectacular as the white resort-type intercon. Our stay was really great though so it didn't make a difference in the end. Intercontinental might be worth a visit just to see what it really looks like in there (maybe next time).
2. That the breakfast area is on the same floor as the reception. Not a big deal. It is quite far away from people checking in and they do have a good spread so we didn't get bothered much by it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Starwood Prefered Guest floor, with a view of the West Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYKNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear “MYKNN”

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I personally like the West lake area, it really isn’t far from the old quarter and as you have pointed out, there are a number of great restaurants and bars close by the hotel. If you are not used to it, the traffic noise can be very unsettling and having a place to relax and not hear tooting of horns is calming. Thank you for pointing out some of our staff. They all work hard and for you to acknowledge five staff is fantastic.

Thank you for your warm words regarding the breakfast spread and positive comments about the fitness centre, pool (though a little cool at the moment), internet and the ATM convenience.

I do hope that we may welcome you again to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for two nights and found this place pretty good. There isn't much located near it but it's about a 10 to 15 min taxi ride from the old quarter. Given taxis are real cheap and they never kept us waiting for a taxi the wife and I didn't mind the location (believe they have their own fleet of taxis).

Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff generally friendly. May have been nice if the showers had more water pressure but that and the quality of food is probably the only thing I would knock. Yes the food.... You are in Hanoi so you shouldn't be eating over priced and substandard hotel food anyways when there are so much good local places.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear “shawnth”

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. The hotel is located slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the old quarter and as you have pointed out only a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride away. The taxi service is owned by “taxi group” and they supply the hotel with trustworthy taxi’s and drivers.

Thank you for your comments about the spacious and clean rooms and also the friendly staff, they work hard to ensure everyone is well looked after. Apologies for the slight drop in water pressure. The hotel is the only hotel in Vietnam that has the ISO Environmental Management System certification and one of the few buildings in the country. As you can imagine, the engineering team are very proud of this accomplishment.

Warm regards,
Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is a big hotel -- a confusingly big hotel. I was consistently lost amongst the towers my first two days off the hotel.

The property and rooms need a refurbish. Feels like a hotel stuck in the 80's.

Service, for such a large hotel, was decent. The managers are all quite helpful.

The gym is quite big, but the pool is small -- more for dipping than swimming. From the hotel, you can easily access a small road that goes all the way around the perimeter of the west lake (about 15km). Not a bad road to run on (traffic is relatively light), and you get a good sense of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjon97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Typical american hotel with lots of dark wood and furniture that makes you feel like you are at a grandparents house. No stylish interior here.

Staff made the difference here. Very friendly and capable. Breakfast and lunch was outstanding! I stayed at the club level and the breakfast there was great!

Gym and spa was ok. Equipment is good, sauna and jacuzzi are outdated.

In general i think it is good fir 50+ but if you want to sleep a bit more stylish for the same price than i suggest the sofitel plaza

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear “bergo”

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I completely agree with you, the staff do make the difference. I am pleased to know that you felt well taken care of during your stay. If you are a club lounge guest there is the choice of the club meals or a full buffet spread at the restaurant. Great to read that you thought the breakfast was great at the club lounge.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review. Your comments are valued and appreciated.

Warm regards,
Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 586 in Hanoi
1,729 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
3.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 586 in Hanoi
2,124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 586 in Hanoi
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Gather in the Link at Sheraton, a communal, interactive space that keeps you connected to what matters most. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, all with Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing