We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient top-class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #86 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Efficient top-class hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

No major complaints although I can't describe the hotel as "charming." It's efficient, staff is friendly and electricity only went out twice during the two days we were there.

This is certainly a safe choice for Western travelers and the free ironing service was greatly appreciated.

Only other minor hitch was that when shoes were placed outside at 9pm for the overnight shine they had still not been picked at 9 am. Unlike other hotels which go around, floor to floor, to make automatic pickups, here once must call to alert them to the placement of the shoes. That's an example of a key difference between a four-star and what is truly a five-star hotel.

Also, tourists should note this hotel is NOT walking distance from the key downtown sights but does enjoy a beautiful lake-side location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear “7JAIL”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review for the Sheraton Hanoi. The electricity supply is not always the most stable in Hanoi, so we have 3 huge backup generators in the hotel that kick after a couple of seconds to compensate for the power outages. I am sorry to read about the shoe shine issue, we will have to work on this. As you have pointed out, the hotel is not located in the city centre but is a situated about a 10-15 minute taxi ride away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is located on the shores of the picturesque West Lake and does have a good view of the surrounding areas.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Sheraton Hanoi.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    557
    188
    41
    19
See reviews for
226
451
96
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Sheraton Hanoi lives up to the standard of the Sheratons. The building of the hotel is very nice.
Service is excellent - what even I needed was provided to me in a matter of minutes. Most of the employees speak good English (not trivial in Vietnam).
The hotel has excellent fitness facilities as well as a pool

the only annoying thing is the outrageous prices of food - a buffet lunch costs $50/person!

Room Tip: higher floors (>10) facing the lake. make sure you get a non-smoking room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear “TheLong”,

Thank you for posting these comments on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

It is kind of you to highlight our service,, and I am very pleased to know that we could provide what you wanted quickly and that you enjoyed the pool and fitness centre. The Sunday brunch is not like a normal buffet experience and we do have a wide selection including lobster, Foie Gras, freshly shucked oysters, large dessert selection and free flow wine, beer and soft drink.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Sheraton is quiet dated and should get some upgrading in my opinion. I got a nice room but the bed was not really comfortable and the htel is a bit smelly.

Sorry to say, but we were spoiled but the other hotels we stayed in Da Nang and Saigon. In comparison the Sheraton was not as good, but surprisingly quiet good priced.

On the positive side check in was very well organized, taxis were always waiting for the guests and concierge was helpful.

I would give it 3.5 stars

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear “Fernlicht”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay at The Sheraton Hanoi. I feel very sad to read your remarks and apologise for your disappointment.

Thank you for your candor regarding the bed and the smell. As you can imagine, it is important for our team to ensure we make every guest happy, so if you could provide specific information for us to investigate it would be greatly appreciated. Please contact me personally at paul.tsuji@sheraton.com , the hotel team and I are at your service.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a very good hotel as you would expect from Sheraton. It met our expectations. It is located 10 minutes by taxi from the old quarter and is thus a quiet and pleasant haven to escape from the hustle of old Hanoi. Breakfast was very good and most of the staff had adequate to excellent English.

Room Tip: We always request non smoking rooms preferably on non smoking floors and this hotel obliged. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank White55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear “White55”,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. It’s good to read that the team managed to meet your expectations. As you have pointed out, the hotel is situated slightly away from the hustle and bustle, but is still only about a 10-15 minute taxi ride away (about U$5) to the old quarter.

The chefs and the food and beverage team were really happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. I believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Our pastry chefs have actually won some awards, so our breads, pastries and croissants are really good.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hanoi on your next visit.

Warm regards

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

they tack on a charge to your bill for charity and you have to ask them to remove it. i'd expect a better approach from a starwood property. furthermore, they charge you $15 for internet access. we've stayed at two-star and five-star properties alike across SE asia on this trip-- this is the only place that has charged us for internet access.

rooms were nice, buffet was fantastic. but the nickel and dime antics were a bit much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoggie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear “zoggie123”,
Thank you for taking the time to post this tripadvisor review and to share your thoughts. The Starwood group of hotels is partnered with the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF), the additional U$1 is to help children in war-torn areas and to address the needs of children in the developing world. As you have pointed out, this charge can be removed from the bill. I apologize as the front office staff are supposed to ask if guests are willing to donate prior to putting this charge on the bill.

The hotel does charge for internet access in the room, however we do offer free internet access in the lobby and also at the link@sheraton. The hotel also offers packages that include breakfast and internet that are quite popular.

Thank you for your comments about the room and the breakfast. Our chefs work hard to ensure we have a good selection for breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day.

I hope that you enjoyed your trip around South East Asia Thank you for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We just ended our Hanoi stay with the Sheraton a couple of days ago and the people at the hotel were so welcoming. They were the highlight of the trip actually. The breakfast is a combo of western and Vietnamese food which was delicious and actually better than the food we found on the streets and restaurants. Our concierge and manager, Dat and Quan were extremely helpful in planning our itinerary and what to avoid while in Hanoi. Our Shuttle Bus driver Tuan was super nice and helpful as well. We'd stay with Sheraton again because of the superb customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear “jasper15”,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay at The Sheraton Hanoi. It’s fantastic to read we made the highlight of your trip!

Our chefs are very happy to hear about your thoughts on the breakfast and of the overall food quality in the hotel. Great to read that our front office team were able to give you a hand in planning your itinerary and our shuttle bus driver was also helpful. We strive for great customer service at the Sheraton Hanoi and hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This hotel provided a great value for a couple nights in Hanoi. I would recommend it if you are not keen on staying within walking distance of most of the sights.

Pros:
- Excellent breakfast and good/timely room service
- Staff was super friendly and welcoming
- Spa prices were very reasonable
- Neighborhood had lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance and a top rate medical clinic down the street
- Room was nicely appointed with minibar, modern bathroom, with a great view of the city
- Didn't try the tennis court or the pool, but they looked well-maintained

Cons:
- Not within walking distance of the city's main sights, but cabs are cheap and readily available just outside the lobby
- Must pay for Internet

Overall, a very nice stay all around. And this hotel generally has good rates making it a great value. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfool1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsujip, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear “travelingfool1234”,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. The hotel is located just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre but as you have pointed out, only a small taxi trip away. Great to read your comments about our friendly and welcoming staff, they all work hard to ensure that our guests have a great stay. Our Food and Beverage team were really happy to read your comments about the breakfast and the efficiency of the In Room Dining team.
I have to admit I do like the view from the hotel and most of our guests tend to agree that the views are great.

We have been working on the fitness centre and have recently re-painted the tennis court and Lily Spa is getting a few more new treatment rooms that will enhance on the guest experience.

Thank you again for your review and taking the time to visit Hanoi and the Sheraton.

Warm Regards,

Paul Tsuji
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 591 in Hanoi
1,770 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,827 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 591 in Hanoi
2,190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hanoi Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Address: K5 Nghi Tam, 11 Xuan Dieu Road | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hanoi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly a “resort within the city,” Sheraton Hanoi Hotel provides the perfect balance between tranquility and convenience. Take in panoramic views of Hanoi’s largest lake and enjoy great comforts in the 299 spacious guest rooms and suites, specially designed to help you relax. Experience stunning Sheraton Club Rooms, while enjoying the added benefits of Sheraton Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing