We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Splendid Star 2, or Splendid Star Grand Hotel as it is now apparently called, was the best thing to happen to us upon arrival to Vietnam. The hotel was clean, affordable and the staff very friendly -notably, Martin. Martin was always cheerful and very helpful whether we wanted to know where to find a good meal or book a week's worth of travelling. He was our guardian angel during our time in Vietnam and made sure we had the best time possible. The hotel and Martin are both equally highly recommended to anyone passing through Hanoi!

Brad

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebluetyphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

We loved the area in which the hotel is located but were disappointed by our stay. We actually cut short our stay and found somewhere else......

Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly by Martin who ran through a lot of the sites of interest in Hanoi and we found this very useful, but we did feel that our check in process took far too long (about 45 minutes) once he had described all of the tours the hotel provided etc. After an early morning flight we just wanted to get to our room

The room was fine, although the round bed seemed very odd and the bathroom was not very clean. The main door to the room did not meet the frame properly so if the key was only turned once in the lock the door remained unlocked! It would only lock when the key was turned twice. I would not be at all surprised if guests have gone out for the day inadvertently leaving the door unlocked.

Our main concern was that upon seeing the room we noticed that there were lots of cat hairs on the bed (we both suffer from cat allergies) when we mentioned this it didn't seem to register at all that this would be a problem and we were left to it. We had to go to reception to arrange for the linen to be changed. However we still endured an uncomfortable night of sneezing and so decided to check ot the next day. Apparently it is the owners cat, quite how a hotelier considers it acceptable to allow his cat to wander round guest rooms is anyones guess.

Shame really, because I think that the hotel has potential, they just don't seem to have got the important details right.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at Splendid Star for just one night, but we had a lovely deluxe room at Splendid Star - it has a computer with internet, which was great, a fantastic bathroom, and the biggest bed I've ever seen! It was a downstairs room, so was a little noisy from the lobby, but otherwise totally faultless. Breakfast was simple and delicious also.

The staff were brilliant, particularly Martin, whose English is fantastic and has a wealth of knowledge about Vietnam. He recommended a great dinner place for us, where I had the best tofu of my life! Even better, he let us use a room and shower when we returned to Hanoi after our Halong Bay tour - it was exactly what we needed after a hot day and a long overnight train ahead.

This kind of customer service is priceless, so I couldn't recommend enough!!

Room Tip: Better to be upstairs to avoid lobby noise (but its not that bad, honest!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talkingbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This great little hotel in the heart of the old quarter lived up to the high ratings on TripAdvisor. The room was very nice, clean, good facilities for the price and had a lovely balcony overlooking the cathedral. The hotel is in a very quiet backstreet in the heart of old quarter, short walking distance to boutique shopping, the lake, street cafes that spill onto the street day and night with the young cool local crowd (lemon tea and sunflower seeds is the thing) and of course street food etc. For eg, every night in a small alley near the Splendid Star 2 a small stall sets up to serve Nem Chua (pork skewers grilled on a charcoal bbq), grilled dried fish and other small snacks. Join the students and cool set on tiny stools for an amazing street food experience for a couple of dollars.
The real highlight of this hotel however is Martin, as many others have commented. He makes this hotel stand out from the crowd. He understands the concept of hospitality and service, the customer comes first, no matter what. A concept not always experienced in Vietnam on this trip. He is a truly great guy, he knows what tourists want and what they need to know about Hanoi to make their experience as positive as possible. Good luck Martin and we will come and visit you again, either at this hotel or wherever you go next. All the staff are great too, always smiling and happy to help.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piccadillytokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Third trip to Hanoi but first in this part of town. After trying around five other places around the corner in what is sort of "backpacker" street, this was a beauty!. Great room! Luxurious after my other accom throughout 'Nam. And even better - and cheaper than other Hotels I stayed in within the old quarter. Still close enough to the old quarter and the enjoyable eight hour walk through there. But the scenery, the food, the 'trendy' young locals eating on the street in the evenings - or just around the corner on the pavement in the late afternoon, the lake, the "everything" around here made this a great base for enjoying this town once again. Great Room [change if you don't like it to another]. Truthfully, I did not feel comfortable with the manager when I was there .... had a shifty look, and I did feel .... well, they gotta try and make a dollar somehow, but all worked out well after my five days. Definitely will go back. So don't tell anyone this place is good...... or we may not be able to get a room [or haggle down the price] ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yousonofabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I moved from another hotel (NQR) to The Splendid Star 2 and it felt immediately 'right'. As mentioned by other reviews - Martin is a legend - will bend over backwards when you have a query, question or concern - really important when you are traveling alone as I was. fabulous, groovy location - boutique shopping and abundant with interesting dining choices - near the cathedral. the room was gorgeous - I had a 6th floor room with a gorgeous little balcony overlooking the cathedral - room had everything: cable TV - computer - wireless Internet - groovy round bed with comfy mattress - immaculate and spotlessly clean - LOVED the spa bathroom - it was nice to come back home and soak in bubbles after a long day of walking-touring- shopping, and then recuperate and get ready for a night out dining and wining. A perfect place to stay in Hanoi - very decent breakfast and excellent value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The service was great! Manager (Martin) was extremely helpful by suggesting places to see, how to get there and tricks of the trade to make sure we didn't get scammed. Staff at hotel were always very happy and had great senses of humour. Would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#44 of 597 in Hanoi
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#13 of 597 in Hanoi
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#2 of 597 in Hanoi
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £28 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing