We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff~MARTIN Very good location, at Old Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

To my surprise, Hanoi is a very CLEAN city. People there are generally friendly.Of coz, still hv to bargain for all the goods purchase. Beware of road side eatery, must ask for price first before you eat, unless there is a menu with all fixed price listed.
Donot take taxi with "meter" but bargain the price before u go up. Like from weekend old market back to hotel at old quarter, it is abt usd2-3 . But if u go by meter, it cost u at least usd18.
All taught by Martin, the hotel reception at splendid star grand hotel. Becoz of him, we save n learnt lots and hv a pleasant stay in Hanoi.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I come back to Hanoi.
Oh yeah, if anyone of you have time & extra money, do try the Orchid Spa!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Star Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here as my last stop in a 7-week tour of Southeast Asia. Of all the locations, this was where I felt most at home. All the staff was warm and friendly, though clearly Martin is the star at the Splendid Star...funny, always there with a laugh or a smile, and as helpful as can be. And the location is fabulous: walk out to the main street and you're in the middle of all the Old City has to offer. Near the lake, the street scene and the bustle of the shops. It was a fantastic way to end a fantastic trip--good value, great location and the friendliness of Vietnam on full display at the reception desk. Can't wait to go back, and will certainly stay here when I return!

Room Tip: My room was in the back, so the cathedral bells were a lovely background noise, though they may be m...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, the location is fantastic, the staff are friendly, Martin is so funny and helpful. We always looked forward to returning to the hotel and to be greeted by Martin. Martin will organise taxis to well known clean restaurants and to massage places that will rejuvenate you for you next days outing to this beautiful, friendly town

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubble098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The rooms are very clean and everything including the most important area, the bathroom, looks new. Fantastic service by the hotel staff, especially Martin who welcomed us and shared with us the places to visit in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BensonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It was a on-the-go trip to Vietnam. Prior the trip, we had made the necessary arrangements to visit Sapa and Halong Bay with different travel operators and arranged pick-up from the hotel, though we were due to check-in after the two places. Despite so, Martin welcomed us into the hotel lobby and offered us complimentary drinks. There was once which he woke up from his sleep and allowed us into the hotel at 5am while we lingered around to wait for pick-up. We truly appreciate Martin's hospitality, the way he went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed. We always enjoyed talking to him and love his personality! We are able to talk like friends and we had enjoyed the 2 nights in the hotel. The room was clean and comfy, we slept really well. The entire crew is commendable as well, for their service and effort. Before checking out, we were told to pay for couple of cans of cold drinks from the fridge which we did not drink from. And it was being waived off. However, this isn't enough to change our impression on the hotel. Definitely the place to stay while you're in Hanoi! From your lovely room 403 Girls! Would love to see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YeKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Splendid Star (2 adults, 1 child) and just had the best time! Martin was always a welcoming smiling face when we came home from long hot days out in Hanoi - and always had time to make a Welcome drink!
The rooms are HUGE and we had a great view of life in the backstreets of the old quarter. The hotel is in a great location and is easily walkable to the lake and many of the other districts in Hanoi.
When I come back to Hanoi I will absolutley stay here again! Martin not only gave helpful advise on what do to and see and when to do it, but he also made restaurant reservations as well as making a best friend with my son!
They definitley win my award for the msot helpful in the whole of Vietnam, sure other hotels are fancier and bigger, but you simply cannot go past a clean room and friendly staff!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with a view of the laneway! Who needs TV when you can watch the world go...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthsempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On a quiet street in a convenient location, the Splendid Star was a lucky find. It has to win the award for the most friendly and efficient staff in all of Viet Nam. They helped us with everything, and were always available, friendly and anxious to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 597 in Hanoi
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#44 of 597 in Hanoi
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#42 of 597 in Hanoi
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing