We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris 12
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed a long time in Splendid Star Grand Hotel and really enjoyed our experience there.
Martin and all the staff are so kind, friendly and professionnal.
Immediately when you come they give you a map of the city and explain you the places to see and the tips to know to have a good journey in Hanoï.
The breakfast is excellent and there is plenty. You are offered fruit juices and watter bottles every day. The deluxe room is clean and large. Like in many hotels in Hanoï you are sometimes waken up by the girls for the cleaning of the room but it's ok, there are very nice persons too. The hotel is calm and has a perfect situation in the old town.
We booked all our taxis (from & to the airport and throughout the city) with Martin so we never had any problem concerning the prices to the taxi. We also booked the cruise to Halong Bay with Royal Heritage Cruise and it was a nice experience (14 pax maximum on the boat, with good staff and food).
We definitively will come back to Splendid Star Grand Hotel when we will go back in Hanoï!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clélia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    265
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
324
597
173
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The staff are very friendly, especially Martin. Although it is in a very small street, it is very accessible to all attraction. Martin provided us with a lot of information for us to travel around Hanoi and recommended us good and cheap restaurant. It gives us a very homely feeling. Martin waited for us at the train station for about 2 hours as our train delayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pehsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Located in the heart of Hanoi, lies this charming hotel. From its friendly and very helpful staff to its spacious and clean rooms, this very affordable hotel is a must stay for all who are travelling to Hanoi. Make sure to speak to "Martin", he will look after you, even upgrade you to the honeymoon sweet :D. This by far was on of the most comfortable and helpful hotel's that i have stayed in anywhere throughout vietnam. I would definitely recommend. 5 stars and thankyou for making my time very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked this hotel online for 7 nights after reading the reviews. We were welcomed with a warm smile and cold drink which was needed as Hanoi at this time of year is a sweltering 38 degrees.
The location is fantastic as it is close to the train station, old town, the lake and everything else. The streets around this hotel have everything a westerner could need. After eating the local food for a few days it is a welcome relief to have a decent hamburger and fries or pizza/pasta.
Martin, who is on the front desk is a funny character. He and the other staff members will always greet you with a smile. They are very helpful with showing the best places to eat, go shopping and explain what to do and what not to do. They will also give you an indication on how much to pay for certain items. This is very handy, as most things on the street here you will need to barter for.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. They contain a fridge, which is great as there is a supermarket around the corner to buy water and snacks. The rooms are air conditioned which is a relief. Breakfast is Awesome, you can have as much as you like! The internet LAN is Super fast!
Martin helped us buy Crabs and Prawns off the street, he was kind enough to cook these for us in the hotel kitchen.

These guys really know how to look after their guests.

After our trip to Halong Bay and Sapa we booked to stay here again for another night. (8 nights in total)
We will be sad to say goodbye.

Would I stay here again? Definitely!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed in 3 different rooms in our time and they have everything you could po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at "Splendid Star 2 Hotel", as there are now 3 "Splendid Star" hotels next to each other, all apparently run by the same people. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Free wireless internet, free water bottles. Plentiful hot water. Free tropical welcome drinks. Best thing about staying here was Martin's service. We left a backpack in the taxi van that brought us from the airport, and he was able to call the company and get it back for us. He also gave us tips on where to eat and hailed taxis for us. Best of all, on our last day he let us keep one of our rooms until 2:45pm so we could all shower before heading out for our flight.

Room Tip: There ran out of Superior rooms, so they gave us Suites which were spacious and nice. My brother got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesstlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel was basic but a good stay. The location is the best as its right next to the cathedral and therefore in the heart of the old quarter. The room was large and clean, as was the interior bathroom. The towels are changed daily but not the sheets, which is fine. The host staff was attentive and polite even if a bit unpolished. They serve breakfast (beginning at 7) in the back of the lobby which is fine though they do not turn on the a/c, but it wasn't unpleasant. The food was basic and nothing special; a set menu and no free refills if wanted. One time when we went downstairs at 7am, everything was still locked up and when a member of the "staff" was sleeping on the couch in the lobby said "starts at 7" well it was 7 so they overslept; and a frantic phone call to the hostess and about 30 min later we were served breakfast - hence the unpolished part. Clearly no management on site. The room door lock is a bit tricky but safe. There is a room safe also. Note there is no elevator so walking stairs might be an issue for some. My last day I wasn't leaving until 5pm, late checkout was 1pm, but, they did let me use an empty room to shower as I was out all day and sweaty. Big plus on that! They kept my luggage while out but it was left behind the stairs, no tags, and no real security with the others that also did the same.

Room Tip: The hotel is 6 floors and better views are 5 and 6; however since so elevator this might be a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

kwe were staying in this hotel for 4 nights and it was a great experience, Martin is very friendly and helpful, although sometimes a bit annoying but we undestand his antention to make every guest feel welcome.
We booked the deluxe room and instead the hotel gave us a family room which was amazing because it has 2 twin doubled bed. Bathroom is clean, breakfast is good. Martin also help us to book the city tour and the halong bay tour, both were superb.
The location is near the st joseph cathedral and not far from the lake, only about 5 minutes walking, so quite central and a few nice cafes and shops near by.
We ended our trip to hanoi feeling happy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#23 of 578 in Hanoi
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#25 of 578 in Hanoi
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing