We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and a great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and a great deal”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Splendid Star 2 Hotel in Hanoi for 3 nights. We got a family suite and couldn't have been happier. We took the train in from Hue and were picked up by the funny and enthusiastic Martin. Since our room was unoccupied, we were allowed to check in early (5am). This was fabulous as we just dropped our bags and slept for a few more hours. They told us even if our room was not ready they would find a room for us to rest in until ours was. Our suite was lovely and spacious and a cool and quiet oasis from the hear and craziness of Hanoi. Martin was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and the staff always helped out getting us taxis. The complementary breakfast was fabulous...basically order what and how much you wanted from the menu. We would stay here again if we return to Vietnam and highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexiflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    278
    28
    4
    12
See reviews for
380
666
194
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at the splendid star gran hotel for 3 nights. The service and staff were very nice and helpful especially the manager and Mr. Martin who were great english speakers and understanding. The room was pleasant and had a nice view. It was spacious and had everything you would need. The bad about the room was the aircon machine located at the balcony which made a great deal of noise when turned on. The location of the hotel is practical near the lake in the old quarter. Recommended for the price

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulieDK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Splendid Star 2 provided excellent accommodation throughout my visit to Hanoi / Halong Bay / Sapa. Martin and his staff were extremely helpful and friendly. His recommendations were strong for Halong Bay tours, full arrangements for Sapa (including train, hotel, and trekking tours), as well as local dining. He let me check in earlier than standard time and use showers in between tours, which made the overall stay much easier and comfortable.

Free wifi in rooms, free breakfast, clean bathrooms, and comfortable rooms - especially for price paid relative to hotels in Hoan Kiem area. Enjoyed my stay, and would come back next time. Thank you Martin!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed twice at the splendid star #2. We've experienced hospitality like nowhere in Vietnam. Tuan and Martin really make an effort to make you feel welcome, though Martin is quite the cheeky one. Saying things like "I wanna hit you!" and "I kill you!". Nevertheless he too will make you as comfortable as possible and he's good fun. If you're not full after breakfast just order more until you can eat no more.
The only downside of this hotel CAN be power outs. This due to the crowded block the hotel is situated on where all ac's are working overtime. Otherwise great hotel, great rooms, great staff, great location. Will stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartijnMakelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Absolutely fantastic. I loved my stay in Hanoi, which ended up feeling far too short. I'm certain that I wouldn't have had nearly such a great experience if it weren't for the service here.

Martin was an amazing resource. He's very friendly and a brilliant source of information about the city. He really went the extra mile to help out and make sure that everything was going well for me. He hooked me up with the most amazing motorcycle taxi driver, arranged tours and provided tips on where to eat, where to shop and where to sight-see. When I mentioned wanting to buy some coffee, he was able to give me ideas of where to go. He was concerned about my getting what I needed and not getting scammed, so he pointed out what to look for. When I was uncertain, he offered to go out and pick some up for me, as he was running an errand in the area for another guest.

Not even a blackout early one morning could put a stain on this trip! Nothing like navigating pitch-black stairwells early in the AM to keep you on your toes. Fantastic stay. I'm already trying to figure out when I can make another trip back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I've tried almost 10 different hotels in Hanoi (around the Hoan Kiem Lake), and this hotel has really the best price/quality rate. The bed feels divine and the bathroom is high quality.
The staff, lead by Martin, is very friendly and helpful. Always ready to help you! Great!!

Room Tip: The only room on the ground floor is very good! Beware of the noise people and staff make on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaartenHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris 12
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed a long time in Splendid Star Grand Hotel and really enjoyed our experience there.
Martin and all the staff are so kind, friendly and professionnal.
Immediately when you come they give you a map of the city and explain you the places to see and the tips to know to have a good journey in Hanoï.
The breakfast is excellent and there is plenty. You are offered fruit juices and watter bottles every day. The deluxe room is clean and large. Like in many hotels in Hanoï you are sometimes waken up by the girls for the cleaning of the room but it's ok, there are very nice persons too. The hotel is calm and has a perfect situation in the old town.
We booked all our taxis (from & to the airport and throughout the city) with Martin so we never had any problem concerning the prices to the taxi. We also booked the cruise to Halong Bay with Royal Heritage Cruise and it was a nice experience (14 pax maximum on the boat, with good staff and food).
We definitively will come back to Splendid Star Grand Hotel when we will go back in Hanoï!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clélia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#48 of 591 in Hanoi
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 591 in Hanoi
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing