We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We picked this hotel from reviews on Trip advisor and were exceptionally pleased with the result. The staff made us welcome from the moment we arrived between Twan booked our Halong Bay trip and gave us excellent advice, the cheeky Martin organised our sim cards for us, anything we asked they were straight onto it to get it done.
I am a fussy traveller when it comes to hotels and I honestly could not fault the value for money and location of this hotel. I travelled with my family, two daughters and a son in law, my son in law requested our rooms on the same floor and the two rooms were the only rooms on the floor, so we had no people traffic coming and going in lifts and being noisy, it was our very own area. It was nice to have the hotel down a laneway and off the main road away from the traffic and noise. The rooms were large and clean, wireless internet worked brilliantly and with a computer in each room we were able to come back after a day out and about and sit down and let friends and family know what we had been up to. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel for meals. All in all we would definitely go back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmoi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Star Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I picked this hotel from the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The location was handy to everywhere. Martin makes this place- he books trips for you - recommends great places to eat - and is just a delight to be around. The only downside is being next to the church where the bells went off every hour from midnight to 6am! All in all, a good place to stay that will bring a few smiles to your face !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeeMac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

If you are looking for a good hotel with excellent service, clean rooms, friendly staff and walking distance to interesting sites in old part of Hanoi then this hotel is for you. The hotels property is based on a shop lot and the entrance is along the paved back lane.

Martin the hotel manager is your perfect travel advisor if you are planning to visit the halong bays or other parts of Vietnam. We arranged our trip to Halong bay through Martin, and it was first class treatment all the way, certainly no regrets there.

The hotel is located close to interesting sites, and walking distance to the gardens and lakes surrounding the old quarters. We did most of our exploring by foot so it was quite pleasant. Shopping experience is a must if you are looking for items ranging from clothing, bags to sports shoes. Each street seems to have shops which sell specific items, and bargaining is encouraged.
The hotel serves good breakfast to order, and if you can’t find what you are looking for in the menu, just ask Martin and he will try his best to get it for you. Do try the local fruits, esp the pineapples (really sweet), and the local ice coffee. Their famous coffee outlets called Highland Coffee are located about 5 mins walk away from the hotel.

The rooms at the hotel come with desktop computers and free wifi connection. So no issues if you need to upload travel photo's or check on travel tips, emails, etc.

At night along the back lanes there is usual local stall setup to sell grilled meat and fish with local sauces and it’s always packed with locals sitting down for a meal or supper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kumar-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great clean place! Great location! Best customer service we had during our Vietnam visit!! Martin was so helpful in all aspects of our visit. He suggested good places to visit and eat at, as well as the best times to go there. He also arranged accomodation and travel to our next destination.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

The staff at splendid star were fantastic-Recommended great restaurants and things to do. They let us have a late check out as our flight wasn't til later in the day. We stayed for 3 nights. The bathroom wasn't in the greatest condition and actually quite 'unprivate'.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jar1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I picked this hotel out of a list provided by AirAsiaGo.com. This boutique hotel hidden away in the convoluted back lanes of Hanoi's Old Quarter is a gem. Although it would be unfair to compare it with a five star hotel, its clean room and friendly service makes it a bargain for any discerning traveller. The hotel manager is very friendly and approachable, and certainly very helpful in arranging the various day trips which my partner and I went on. At least he understood and was able to converse in English, which was more than I can say for the general populace of Hanoi. My advice would be to have the Hotel's business card ready to show the taxi drivers should you need a quick means to return to the Hotel. The food served at the Hotel during breakfast is above average and makes for a good start for any day trip. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a trip to Hanoi. I would personally use this hotel again, when next I take a holiday in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoonLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in Splendid Star 2 Grand Hotel for our trip in Hanoi. And I can say that it was a good choice. Martin, the multi-tasker hotel manager is very friendly, easygoing, funny and accommodating. He gladly told us the tourist spots and how to get there. He also recommended a nice and cheap restaurant. When we asked where the church is, he even brought us there. He also gave us many useful tips like what the good taxis are. He's good at what he does.

As for the hotel, it is has a good location and just near the shops, restos and walking distance from the Hoan Kiem lake. The room is big enough and looks very Vietnamese in terms of design. It's always clean. And the basic necessities are there. Free wifi. Yummy breakfast food included - you can freely order until you're full. You wont find a pool or fitness center there, but that's okay since most of your time will most probably be spent outside exploring Hanoi.

Overall, we had a good experience in this hotel. It's great for backpackers, families, young couples or solo travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 598 in Hanoi
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#45 of 598 in Hanoi
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#39 of 598 in Hanoi
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £23 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing