We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT hotel; two times in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT hotel; two times in a row”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is my family's second time to stay in this hotel. The first one was back in 2011 and then last November 2013. The rooms have been well maintained over the years, and the staff, headed by Martin, are really nice.

Spacious and cozy rooms; nice breakfast selection; and the unlimited drinks offer is for real!

You definitely get more than what you pay for. The location is very convenient also.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Roberto Sandoval - Philippines

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bertS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    274
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
367
648
187
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Read the reviews they don't lie The manager martin is the best you will meet at any hotel great rooms breakfast cooked to order great choice anything you want martin will try is best to get it for you.Book trips for you train tickets onward accomadation he took us on a day out for a trip to a silk factory when my wife mentiond that she liked that sort of thing.He took us to the train station and loaded our cases and made sure we were ok Six hotels were stayed at on our holiday to Vietnam some were over £150 a night this one "£25 a night stay at this hotel in Hanoi youi will not be disappointed 10/`10 Terry and Rosemary Hobbs

Room Tip: The rooms don't have a good view as the street is very narrow but you will see the real day to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGT811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a very small hotel that said what a delightful stay this was made possible by Martin the Manager he could not be more helpful and attentive at all times. We traveled throughout vietnam and did not have a better stay anywhere.
It does not have all the facilities of a large hotel but is made up for with the excellant customer care. The hotel is up a back street has a previous reviewer has said but is perfectly located in the old town and all the attractions of Hanoi. The rooms have all that is needed for an enjoyable stay good TV with a good selection of programmes good ben and shower and very clean.
Our only regret is we forgot to give Martin a good tip for the way he looked after us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked this hotel after reading good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed.
We were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi which was clean and also very spacious. Although it is located in a back street lane ( the taxi took us as far as he could ) it is in a great location, next to the cathedral and the lake is close by.
Martin and Twan were both very efficient Martin a joker and Twan a gentleman. They were receptionists, waiters and tour operators!
They looked after our main luggage whilst we were in Sapa and also on our overnight cruise in Halong Bay. Amazing service, no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywandererSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was bright and clean but what makes it special is Martin, this man sure knows how to multi task he booked our trip to halong bay, bus tickets and even got rolls made for us for th journey, he arranged the next accomodation for us and then rang when we got here to make sure everything was ok! Well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teigywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Splendid Star Grand Hotel.
The room was very spacious, clean and in a great location, very central near Lake
but tucked away in a quiet street. The staff, especially Martin, were fantastic and
couldn't do enough for you. He even managed to locate and retrieve a missing bag
for us on our last day ensuring it was delivered to the hotel before we had to leave
early in the morning. Thank you, would definitely recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on a Far East Cruise.What a bargain,room was fine,spotlessly clean with everything you could wish for.Martin was extremely helpful and friendly and seemed to run the hotel single handedly!
Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#38 of 588 in Hanoi
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#34 of 588 in Hanoi
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#15 of 588 in Hanoi
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing