We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,450)
Filter reviews
2,450 results
Traveller rating
2,106
292
31
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,106
292
31
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 2,450 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here March 25th for two nights, ....
Pros
Hotel is a great location for the old quarter in Hanoi...
Very helpful staff (most very good English) ....
Good value for money....good breakfast !!!
General...arrived early 6:30am and made very welcome with drinks etc while waiting for rooms to be ready....no charge for these drinks, we had two rooms on second floor, as mentioned in previous reviews the shower curtain and gap around the bath allowed the floor to get flooded (although this seems normal in Vietnam) but minor "fault" ...all in all if you want a reasonable hotel in good location amongst the real city try here...
Con's
This hotel is next to a church ....so can be noisy in the morning (church bells) ..tip take ear plugs !!!!

Room Tip: second floor two large double beds....202 and 203
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewedclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our time here. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and nicely appointed, and it's in a good part of the old quarter. They were happy to try organise trips for us - and didn't push too hard on the sales.

We were glad to find an hotel that would take us and our 3 kids in one room (ages 7-13).

The lobby can be busy at night with travellers talking (all good stuff), which can be heard if you're on level one or two in the back room due to noise up the stairs - just a tip if you have little ones needing an early night :-).

It's on a little side street so the street noise is greatly reduced than if on a busier street.

We can totally recommend staying here given our good experience. Martin and Kelly are extremely nice people and take great care of their guests -they are a great asset to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank WellingtonSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The reception staff will try to sell you trips as you eat your breakfast and every time you step into reception, when they release you've arranged trips/taxis...etc. they don't seem to be that interested in you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACKKLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had just the best time in this hotel, a great location in a quiet part of the old quarter, a lovely room (cleaned daily), and a good breakfast. Martin and his team are very attentive and look after your every need, nothing is too much trouble and always with a smile. I have booked to come back in June i would not stay anywhere else in Hanoi, highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and myself recently returned from a wonderful stay at this Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. In every way, it exceeded our expectations, although we were a little unsure when we first arrived.
The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. The all inclusive breakfasts were delicious with a wonderful choice. No limit--just go thru the menu if you felt like it. The positions was perfect as you could just walk everywhere, but the very best thing was the service. Martin, the manager, was VERY helpful indeed and with a slightly cheeky humour delighted us every day. Not only Martin, but ALL of the staff were charming and helpful and happy.
Marilyn and Gaye Australia.

Room Tip: The back rooms may give you a quieter nights sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews