We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Nikko Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Hanoi(Hanoi)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,450)
Filter reviews
2,450 results
Traveller rating
2,107
292
31
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,107
292
31
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager martinhalong bayold quarterhoneymoon suitechurch bellsthe hotel managera great stayfriendly hotelwelcome drinkhotel is locatedside streetfantastic servicequiet streethoan kiem lakehome away from homefamily roomlocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,199 - 1,204 of 2,450 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What an awesome start to our Vietnam holiday. Great hotel and the staff Sally, Kelly & Marty made us feel so welcome to Hanoi. Nothing was too hard for them. They organised our visas, Tam Coc day tour, Sapa holiday and Halong bay 2 night tour. They looked after our extra bags whilst we toured the above places and provided taxis to/from airport. Marty was such a fantastic funny and beautiful man. He provided my kids with many hilarious moments and always gave us advice on where to eat or best times to view temples/Mauseleum etc....
There is no doubt if we were to return to Hanoi we would be back to stay in Splendid Star.
A bonus was our family stayed in the 1 room which was nice and breakfast was included for approx $60 aud per night.... Thanks Marty, Kelly and Sally for all your wonderful help. X

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank renae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here two nights after a trip to Halong Bay. We were fortunate to overlap with Martin the manager for the first part of our stay and he was very helpful as all the other reviews have indicated. The room was quite good (do not expect any great views from any of the rooms, but most importantly ours was quite quiet, clean, and acceptably modern) and the location is also excellent for walking in the Old Quarter and Cathedral area. The staff arranged a transfer to the airport upon our departure and we had a very enjoyable conversation with our 30-ish driver with whom we shared various observations about Vietnam. The breakfasts were great and staff very attentive to our needs. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bay_area_folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My experience in this hotel was really fantastic :) The hotel is a great location which located very closed to the old quarter and shopping street and just few step to the Cathedral Church and 10 mins to the Lake.

Even though the hotel is near to the shopping street but you won't hear the noise when you close up the room's windows. Some comments mentioned that the room that facing with the Church will hear the church bell at 5am. But we can't hear any bell ring during our stay. Most properly is because of the bed are too comfortable^^

The staff there are very friendly and helpful especially Martin. You definitely can go Hanoi without any planning and Martin will tell you where to go and what to eat! He will recommend the best local food for you.

The BBQ Pork and Fish at the small stall beside the hotel is very nice :) We don't know how to order and Martin have helped us to order it^^

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Shea Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Its hard not to be swayed by the cheap rates offered by local hotels in Vietnam!

We found this hotel to be very clean although a bit rusty. Bathroom was cleaned very thoroughly everyday but it could definitely do with a refit. Shower was a little up and down too.

The room had all the usual western satellite channels and a large screen TV too so on days that one of was unwell we could keep ourselves entertained. Wifi signals are a little weak in the room but it did generally work

Location is excellent; although its down a small back street this street happens to be very busy so regardless of how late we returned it never felt intimidating.

The staff were very helpful

If you want to try something a little different to the usual western chains whilst sticking with good hygiene levels and save some money this is a great option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer_bil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here March 25th for two nights, ....
Pros
Hotel is a great location for the old quarter in Hanoi...
Very helpful staff (most very good English) ....
Good value for money....good breakfast !!!
General...arrived early 6:30am and made very welcome with drinks etc while waiting for rooms to be ready....no charge for these drinks, we had two rooms on second floor, as mentioned in previous reviews the shower curtain and gap around the bath allowed the floor to get flooded (although this seems normal in Vietnam) but minor "fault" ...all in all if you want a reasonable hotel in good location amongst the real city try here...
Con's
This hotel is next to a church ....so can be noisy in the morning (church bells) ..tip take ear plugs !!!!

Room Tip: second floor two large double beds....202 and 203
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewedclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews