We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for Money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Splendid Suite Room. The room was very spacious and I also loved the view of the French inspired architecture of the neighbouring houses. The room had a flat screen TV, a mini refrigerator and electric water heater. Bottled water and coffee were also provided. The room was cleaned daily, this includes a change of sheets and new towels. The A/C worked well and the Wi-Fi signal was strong in the room. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi, although we weren’t really able to use it.

The hostel is conveniently located in the Old Quarter, very near the St. Joseph Cathedral (1-2 minute walk). We enjoyed walking around the area as it is near the Lake and the French Quarter. Cabs can be requested through reception. The staff, particularly Martin and Kelly, were extremely friendly and helpful with giving directions and suggestions on the best way to go around the city. The free breakfast was lovely and it always came with early morning chit-chats with Martin.

I’d say this hotel gives the best value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineS_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    265
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
327
600
173
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on a booking site. Now, before posting my review, I read here on TA the reviews. My experience is different, like talking about a different hotel and hotel manager.

We had booked a Deluxe (that being not the cheapest) room which was old looking: dated furniture, wall paper peeling off, dusty air-co. The shower was only cold or boiling. You cold see the shower room had some upgrades done but not recently, and still looked cheap. The very next morning we went to have breakfast (a la card with good chicken sandwich) the famous Martin came to say hello and ask how we did sleep. Nice! We said that the room does't rises to expectations for which he said he will give us an other one. After some guests checked out we got the new room which was a suite, he said. Well this one was a larger room with an extra bed and a sofa not a suite! We took it since it had a better air quality but the bath was looking even cheaper! A dated jacuzzi tub in which you have to hold the shower to wash yourself if you don't want to lay (was not inviting to have a relaxing bath). When Martin showed me this room I had to ask him to remove his shoes, in Hanoi / Vietnam being very dirty on the streets. OK we accepted this "suite" at the same price as the Deluxe. The bed was good and clean.
Still I am thinking we met an other Martin because "ours" with a "Good Morning how are you?" , to which he didn't listen the answer, was thinking he was close to his customers!? Further more we booked THE luxurious cruise to Halong Bay through this hotel and had a problem with the booking ( we were tricked in paying more by saying what we wanted was not available and when we got on the boat we were 4 people when the boat had a 24 guests capacity). Talking on the phone with the respective company Martin didn't ask a word about how are thinks after we finished talking?! Or when we checked out he was there when we paid and disappeared without saying good bye! This is Martin we met :-( !!!
It can't be that nobody noticed this hotel as it is! Many people say "for the price I can't complain" and the staff is so helpful! The staff does its job only, nothing more than other hotels do! This hotel pretends it has 3 stars while it is not Splendid or Grand!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This little hotel is off the main street and in a great location within the Old Quarter, with easy access to the lake and other attractions. The hotel Manager, Martin, is a character who went out of his way to ensure an enjoyable stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a yummy breakfast on offer daily.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianscott28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in that hotel for 6 days and it was really great.

The hotel staff is super friendly and especially Martin is a really fun guy and always helpful when you need a recommendation for a café, sight seeing or something else.

For example when we arrived tired and early in the morning back from our tour in Sapa he and his collegue gave us a room to sleep for a few hours, so that we didn't have to wait until 13:00. Also when we had to leave in the evening (sweaty after a hot the in Hanoi) they gave us a room to take a shower. Really amazing customer service!!

Also great is that you will get free juice, coffee or tea all day long. The breakfast is really good and you can eat as much as you want.

Martin and the hotel staff will also help you book trips to Sapa, Ha Long bay etc. As the tours have fixed prices (they are printed in the prospects) you won't pay anything extra and can happily book the tour with the hotel. They also offer only the best tour providers (backed up by former customer feedback) so you can trust their recommendation.

Overall I can absolutely(!) recommend this hotel! In 6 weeks Vietnam we didn't experience a hotel staff who was as friendly and helpful as Martin and the Splendid Star Grand Hotel staff. We had a lot of fun and looking forward to come back.

Best regards from Germany,
Richard

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

With a central location and knowledgeable staff, Splendid Star Grand Hotel is an excellent choice for those who wish to explore Hanoi whether by foot or cab. We found this part of the city to have navigable streets with memorable landmarks like the Hanoi cathedral and Hoan Kiem lake. Upon arrival, Martin and the Splendid Star team gave us a map of Hanoi and pointed out several sites to see during our 3 day visit. We felt like they gave great advice and directions without being overbearing. Other notes, the room was clean and cool, and the breakfast was restaurant quality. The only slight drawback was that we were under the impression that the airport taxi was included in the hotel stay, but they do charge separately for this service. That being said, the charges were reasonable and the convenience of having a taxi waiting at the airport terminal helped us look past any misunderstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

after 9 months of Crazzy asia with its Varied accommodation, we arrived at big smoke hanoi 5am on our moto,,,
SUPER MARTIN TO THE RESCUE,,,
what seemed to be an asian angel approached us with a genuine smile and warmth.
he made us coffee while we had a talk and looked at the room (the pice being More than in the country side)
long story short we stayed there for our last 10days , we loved the place, the room was sooooo nice,, incredible shower, great bed, big towels, (all the good stuff+ more) .
the cleanesr where lovely and punctual(not common) coodos to them,
All the staff were lovely and helpful with the motivation to grant a good time in a friendly helpful, patient manner.
breakfast was fantastic, i felt like a bear preparing for hybernation every morning lol.
fruit juice all day,, yum
and as mentioned before,, MARTIN,
You seriously put the SPLENDID IN the Hotel..
such a genuine nice guy, great english skills, friendly, cheeky , respectful , helpful, WORks and Lives there! 7days a week,, he truly makes the hotel more than just just a crash pad,
i will be back
well done! x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narayana10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Top marks to the staff at this hotel. They were very helpful and friendly, also had drinks waiting for you on arrival while checking in. Had that VIP touch to it. Breakfast was delicious and a very good selection. Would defiantly return if I even get the chance to visit beautiful Hanoi again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha578476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#24 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing