We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #27 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just had one of our best holidays ever in Vietnam where we stayed in the Splendid Star Grand Hotel. Situated near to Hanoi Cathedral (St Joseph’s) on the edge of the Old Quarter, the hotel is within easy walking distance of a plethora of shops, restaurants, cafes and tourist attractions.
The staff of the Splendid Star Grand Hotel are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they all go out of their way to be more than just a service providing bed and breakfast. Whether it be calling a taxi, arranging a trip or advising where to shop, eat or visit they are more than happy to oblige. Martin or Kelly always seem to be around from first thing in the morning until late at night and will always chat or offer advice. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and air conditioned with ensuite shower and toilet, and Wifi internet access was readily available throughout the hotel.
There was a good selection of food available for breakfast, from scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, bread and jam etc through to pancakes and pork and noodles – something for everyone. We would recommend this friendly hotel to anyone and thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tusheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a 17 night stay based at Splendid Star Grand Hotel - what an EXCELLENT experience it was. The location in the old quarter of town is excellent - away from the noise of traffic but just a short short walk to all the hubbub that is Hanoi. All the staff are attentive and responsive to requests- they really can't do enough for you - from bringing even MORE coffee at breakfast, to organising taxis and directing us on the free maps to interesting locations and restaurants. Kelly was great in helping us organise airport transfers etc before we flew and Martin is helpful, informative - and a real character to boot! They also have a great command of English, which really makes a difference in Hanoi!. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi and would certainly stay there again ourselves if the opportunity arises. Thanks to all the staff - and Martin!

Room Tip: Ask the staff - they really will advise you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for 16 nights. It is in a quiet street in the old quarter, yards from the bustling streets of Hanoi. It is close to the station, lake, museums, and the night markets that are held on the streets of the old quarter. At first glance I thought it would be noisy in the room, so was amazed at how quiet it was.
The staff were really good, especially Martin, with his good humour and easy banter, especially in the mornings. We were a group of 6 and we were really well looked after. I think this is partly due to it being such a small hotel. Martin had lots of tips about where to eat and how cheap or expensive each place was.
I was a little anxious about a holiday in Vietnam, but the hotel seemed really safe and the area around did too - even though there are some really narrow and dark streets surrounding the hotel.
The room was plenty big enough and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfasts were quite large so you didn't need lunch.
I would recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: We were in honeymoon suite with round bed, which seemed a bit strange, but bed was so comfy. Room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Missus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've just left after spending 4 nights at this little gem.
It's in a small backstreet at the edge of the old quarter, a great place to be based for wandering about yet a quiet and small enough street that you won't get run over or kept awake all night by the madness of Hanoi traffic.
Our room was pleasant and a nice shower, and the breakfast is very good; a choice of eggs with baguette and bacon or toasted sandwiches.
The best thing about this place is the staff, they are so friendly and helpful and will do anything to make your stay special, and I can't thank them enough.
We had a call from them on the way to the airport to say we'd left some things in our room, and will post them on to our next hotel. That says it all..
Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After staying in a number of generic hotels in Vietnam, the Splendid Star was a welcome change. The staff was very friendly and helpful, much more like a family hotel. Location was good, near the Lake and Old Quarter, and the decor was warm and homely. I agree that Martin is a real asset.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty quiet, considering the busy location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorelleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights here with my sister and mother.
It was our last stop in our travels before I came home and it was a great end to our holiday.

True to many other reviews, the staff were amazing, extremely friendly and helpful. I read a review below that Martin doesn't sleep. Wondering the same thing, we questioned this. Apparently he's superman, what a champ.

My only issue was that although I love the occasional bath, the hotel rooms did have showers also, however they were handheld, and this was very awkward.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank EdithCattell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is well situated in a quiet street in the old quarter and was our base for three weeks whilst visiting parts of the north. It was easy to walk around the old quarter from the hotel. Staff really helpful and friendly and suggested things to see and do on the days we were in the city. We were met from the airport taxi and felt at home straight away. Only mopeds can use the street on which the hotel is situated but staff always escorted us to taxis (less than 40 metres) ensuring that we were taken where we intended to go. Martin never appeared to sleep and was there to greet us at breakfast and every time we returned to the hotel. A good selection of options for an ample breakfast. Rooms were large and comfortable with wifi that worked throughout the hotel.
All in all great value for our first trip to Vietnam and in three weeks we have only scratched the surface of this country

Room Tip: We stayed in splendid star grand 2 and all rooms seemed similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#43 of 599 in Hanoi
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
Hanoi La Selva Hotel
#14 of 599 in Hanoi
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#2 of 599 in Hanoi
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £28 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing