We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid deal in the heart of Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Solid deal in the heart of Hanoi”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Staff was attentive, breakfast was ok but nothing special (choose one item from menu), location is great though at times can be a bit noisy from the charming and bustling street. However, the best thing was definitely the room which was really large and had DVD (including a selection of movies) and even a small bottle of wine offered. Overall, a really good kick-off for our Vietnam trip and we'd go anytime again.

There is an excellent Spa just next door.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pierre_Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,630
    272
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
351
631
186
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Not much to add to what other reviewers have said. Stayed in large room on 3rd floor. Very clean, lots of small bars and places to eat around the hotel. We were in Hanoi at the weekend of the 1000 year celebrations, it was purely by chance, It was very crowded and I think every motor bike in vietnam had decended there. Plenty of travel shops about to book your trips, Did the day city tour, it was better with a guide rather than doing it yourself, each place we visited was by taxi, the guide sorted it all. We also visited Halong bay, and another trip that included being rowed down a river, a bike ride, and a visit to more temples.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patsyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The location is very close to the St.Joseph Cathedral in a quiet alley away from beeping Hanoi motorists, which is easy to find your way back if you ever get lost in the Old Quarter maze. The rooms we stayed in were on the 6th fl. very cute rooms with circle beds. The rooms were clean with good firm mattresses, good hot water pressure, and clear cable TV.
Staffs were terrific! Jenny helped plan&organize our whole 11 days trips in Northern Vietnam for a bargain, given that we got there without a single hotel booking and yes, we found Splendid Star 2 by accident.
We would recommend you to plan your trips with Jenny and book them through her because she is experienced and reliable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Boonyavee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Why a 5 star Hotel when you get the lot for 2?.
Superb experience
fantadsic rooms and the service with a smile and all that goes with it. great Guys and girls. They go out of their way to be of help and a friend.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hjholewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A small place with a big heart thanks to the very friendly and helpful staff that seems it can't do enough for it's guests. Flatscreen TV, free Internet connection, mini-bar, safe, coffee/tea making facilities in all clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. The hotel is quietly located on a street without cars and 1 minute walking distance away from the St. Joseph Cathedral in the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Betelnutisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Splendid Star 2 and were amazed at the brilliant service we received. The amazing staff ensured our time was enjoyable. We used their travel agent service to book the remainder of our time in Vietnam and were thrilled at the places we visited, the accomodation pre-booked for us, the hotel pick-up services etc. Splendid star 2 is in a great location, in the old quarter near the church and lake. Next time we come to Ha Noi we will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The hotel is nicely located just 10mins walk away from the busy streets of Hanoi town. So you don't get the noise of Hanoi but get to enjoy the convenience of hitting the streets for shopping anytime.

The rooms are clean, well decorated and spacious. You do get to hear the chimes of the church but its definitely more soothing then the beeps of the motorbikes and cars!

The staff there are simply fantastic! They are all really friendly and helpful. They will help you with your trips, laundry, changing of money, and even help you order food from the roadside stalls! We really had alot of fun chatting with them.

Would definitely stay with them again when we next go to Hanoi!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JessicaSeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#26 of 586 in Hanoi
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#35 of 586 in Hanoi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#63 of 586 in Hanoi
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing