We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in a good location”
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
Ranked #57 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights last week and is located in one corner of the old quarter and, weather permitting, is in walkable distance to everything you would want to see in Hanoi. Although there are not many good restaurants close by. And the restaurants that were recommended by the hotel seemed to be ones that they had connections with and all had terrible reviews. I suggest that you look on TA or a book to find somewhere to eat, don't listen to the concierge! However, the staff were great and they booked tickets to the water puppets for us, no problem.
I stayed in a twin room which was nothing special, the bed was OK but the linen had stains all over it. The room itself was very small and there was no where for my friend and I to put our 2 suitcases. The bathroom itself was also quite small, with the most complicated shower ever. We actually had to get someone to come up and show us how to use it!
We had breakfast there one morning which was OK, but very expensive for what you got as it was USD $14 plus service charge and tax. It had the usual eggs, bread, noodles etc. We also had the room service one night which wasn't very nice, and was also expensive plus the usual service charge and tax.
There was nothing terribly bad about this hotel but paying around USD $100 a night I expected a lot more in terms of the room, food etc. There is nothing to stop me staying there again but I am sure there are better options out there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed two nights and appreciated that the only window was interior, as the street noise would have kept us up. The location was great, close to the old city. The service, however, was poor at best, delinquen at worst.

To use the gym, I had to first go down to the front desk to ask them to open it, even though the posted open time is six am. I watched several hotel staff argue amongst themselves on who would have to delay leaving work by a few minutes in order to open the gym.

The restaurant staff were inexperienced, at least it seemed so.

And we waited fifteen minutes before our guide figured out the bellman had missed several lifts because he was too busy on his smart phone to notice them. This is basically a business travelers hotel, but full of tourists, so I expected efficiency, if not as much friendliness as is typical in a hotel that caters to tourists. But this was bad regardless of reason for travel. If you can find another hotel in the area of this size, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days. It didn't start well as I had got to great lengths to book a room with the balcony. I had even emailed them before booking to make sure I has the correct room. Their website states that all executive suits have a balcony but they don't. The first room was great it is just that I wanted a balcony and thy moved us the next day after me asking 3 times.

But the hotel is in a great location on the edge of the old quarter, we Walked everywhere, although we like walking,but this meant we didn't have to worry about getting ripped of by taxis.

The rooms are really nice kept very clean with a great shower and fantastic firm beds I slept better than at home. The breakfast is good and so is the room service.

I would recommend this hotel for it's Quality and location.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the rout room. Be careful some rooms only have a window that faces another wall 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is newly remodeled and a great location in old part of Hanoi. The b fast is adequate, but the rooms are average to poor. Read TA review before booking but it was so long ago that I forgot to ask for quote room. We had room #201 right above lobby on street. DO NOT ACCEPT THIS ROOM! The street noise goes on till about three in the morning and starts about five. There about a million motor bikes here and horns on cars that have been made louder and they ride or drive with one hand on the wheel and one hand on the horn. It never quits!

Other than that there isn't much to see in Hanoi. Ha Long bay is beautiful and recommended if you can tolerate the three hour drive each way with your driver not paying any attention to lines on the road and passing every car or truck even though traffic is approaching towards you. This is the norm for all drivers. Just ride in the back and don't look.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back or high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazy-traveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked this hotel due to grate reviews that we have read, eventually to come to great regret.

We booked a Premium Deluxe room, which was advertised on their website as high floor, having 2 windows facing the street, king-size bed, and with bathtub. However, when we checked in, they gave us the room 905, which has no bathtub, both windows facing another wall, and a queen-size bed. When we double-checked with the reception, the male receptionist said that the hotel was overbooked, and asked us to accept the room for the first night instead.

We were unhappy as the hotel downgraded the room we booked without informing us beforehand and kept quiet until we found out that we got the wrong room. We insisted on getting exactly the type of room that we booked, or at least they should have given us a compensation. Then, the receptionist changed us to the room 710, which, again don't have two windows facing the street as advertised. We know it's not the correct room that we book because my parents, who also has the same type of room, was given 912, which looked so much better than 905 or 710.

We complained to the reception again, extremely fed up at that time. We demanded them to change room again. The receptionist took our complaints with obvious annoyance showed on his face. Another half an hour later, the reception manager called to our room and offered to compensate us a free pizza from their restaurant. We also laughed when we heard that. A pizza to compensate for a room downgrade? C'on! That was the most ridiculous thing we ever encountered in a hotel. The manager even laughed when she told us that offer.

After a while of negotiating (yes, we need to negotiate to get the correct room that we booked, another first in hotel too), the manager decided to upgrade us to room 302, an Executive Room.

In total, almost 2 hours lost for the whole room changing process. And we were left with the worst check-in experience ever.

Looking at some of the reviews below, we realized we were not the only one who got our booking screwed up. Obviously the hotel screwed up booking for other guests before. Instead of taking the expected way of upgrade guests when it's overbooked, they decided to downgrade them instead!

Other than that, room was OK. We don't think it's value for money, as the price was just slightly cheaper than Intercontinental that I stayed in before, yet the room was not anywhere as good. Maybe the location makes it expensive, as it was conveniently located in the Old Quarter. Wifi did not work consistently. We got disconnected regularly.

Having said, we did have some good experience with the hotel. Checking out (with different reception staffs) was fast and pleasant. The gym was tiny, but the staff was polite and friendly.

Stayed there from 28 Dec 2011 to 2 Jan 2012.

Room Tip: Insist on corner rooms, or at least the outside rooms with at least one window facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samuelhnvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silkpathhotel, Director of Sales at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Mr. Samuelhnvt from Silk Path Hotel Hanoi!

We would like to thank you for choosing us during your last trip to Hanoi.
It is really regretful that we were not able to deliver your expectations during your stay with us which we always provide to all our guests. The issue has happened and we highly appreciated your valuable comments on the shortcomings of our services where we are committed to improve.

In fact we are in the process of rectifying our website that was created prior to the opening of the hotel wherein there were plenty of features and equipments planned to be installed but changes were made at last hour. You will find the changes and improvements to be more precise and informative website of Silk Path Hotel.

On behalf of Silk Path Hotel, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you and your family for the unpleasant conditions you experienced. Rest assured that this will never happen again and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to express our renowned hospitality and true value of Silk Path Hotel on your next visit to Hanoi.

Thank you once again and we do appreciate your kind understanding.

Yours sincerely,

Dao Thanh Tung - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

we stayed at the silk path for 3 nights at the end of 2011 and had a great time there venturing out during the time we were there to all parts of the city. We had great service and very good breakfasts in the morning and enjoyed our stay there as we felt it was a safe haven in the midst of a very hectic and noisy city and from there we toured to siagon and thailand. To get cheaper airfares we had to return from Bangkok to Hanoi for our travel back to Sydney and I opted for a cheaper hotel close to the airport and that turned out to be a 2 hour hotel(our travel agent booked us in sight unseenand was ripped off too) my fiance was in tears and we caught a taxi back to silk path and the staff could not be more helpful. Thank you to the staff at the Silk Path

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel represents good value and is well placed, however not much to see or do if walking!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#84 of 607 in Hanoi
1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#76 of 607 in Hanoi
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 607 in Hanoi
1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Gallery Premier Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter with major attractions nearby, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. Personalized services yet excellent privacy ensure the greatest comforts and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing