We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
Ranked #57 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

When you see the very narrow entrance you dont think that a nice hotel will be behind those doors. Marble lobby area decorated with huge paintings in bright colors is ver striking. I dont know if its newly built but the hotel definitely looks and feels brand new. I stayed in a single room, not very big but enough for one person. Very comfy, very clean, especially the bathroom is fantastic and very luxurios. Breakfat buffet is virtually endless, a lot of things to eat. But probably the best thing about this hotel is the location; just 8-10 minutesnof walking distance from the center.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    604
    82
    14
    3
See reviews for
298
875
81
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel is certainly a 4 star. A central location, a friendly welcoming staff and very plush decor. When you book an executive room, you will not always get what is advertised. Bath tub and guest area are only in 2 rooms according to the reception.
Unfortunately, even on the 7th floor you can still here the intolerable, incessant horn blowing that all drivers insist upon. You take your life in your hands every time that you cross the road.
A must have, is the Hanoi street food at night tour which can be booked at the hotel tourist desk. You get to see a side of Hanoi that the ordinary tourist would miss.
All in all , a very good 3 nights stay, and this hotel is recommended if you fancy a trip to Hanoi.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which had a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFFLUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

An excellent hotel we stayed there for a total of 4 nights in August. It was our first trip to Vietnam so we didn't know what to expect , the Silkpath exceeded our expectations. It is located on the edge of the Old Quarter, which suited us. The rooms, service are beyond reproach and the staff always available ready to help, nothing seems to be too much trouble. We had two rooms one on the 9th floor , then had a couple of days away and on our return we had a room on the the second floor - they were very quiet - no view , just a wall, but it was wallpapered! the corridors are not fully air conditioned, which some might consider a negative - but not for us.
There is very good Vietnamese restaurant nearby - Quan An Ngon - good food and price.
We made some tour bookings through BuffaloTours before we arrived, we would use them again , and they have a desk in the Silkpath, where the staff are also very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two-Grey-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and my experience was great!!! The room is big and bathroom is great (we got an upgrade), the location is great and the staff is very helpful, breakfast is good. The hotel is quiet new and modern, wifi signal is good and it's included.

Room Tip: Depends on your sleep, if you can't deal with noise, ask for rooms not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Silk Path Hotel. Very, Clean, Modern and excellent staff. Conveniently placed in the centre of old Hanoi- walking distance to most attractions Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron and Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very good Hotel close enough to everything. Waking distance to many of the main shopping streets in Hanoi Old Quarter.
On arrival we found Silk Path to be very nice. The staff are friendly and helpful and organised. The decor upmarket and well maintained.
Our room was clean and spacious and modern. A very comfortable bed and lots of hot water.
Breakfast was good with cereals, continental, juices, good selection of fruit, tea, coffee, pastries etc and omelette chef. Some dimsum and local stuff. Service was exceptional. Well done to the Breakfast staff.
Dinner menu covered most bases at reasonable Hotel prices. Western and Eastern dishes with good flat base pizza also. Could do with a simple dish such as stir fry veges or fish fillet (not salmon) for the more delicate stomach. Service was again exceptional and I've been around.

Thank you to the Management and Staff at Silk Path for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TikiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

On our latest holiday in Vietnam we decided to use Hanoi as a hub for our different destinations. That means that we were accommodated at the Silk Path hotel on 5 separate occasions for different time-frames over the period 15 July to the 6 August 2012. We could not have been more satisfied with the manner in which we were treated by the reception and concierge and door staff. Not only were the reservation arrangements seamless but there were occasions when we were particularly looked after. One moment which comes to mind is when we returned from a period in Sapa. We arrived in Hanoi via the overnight train which meant that we arrived at the hotel at around 7am. Our room was not ready at that time of the morning (as you would reasonably expect) but we were ushered up to the spa area on the top floor to have a shower etc to enable us to at least freshen up and look human. It was most appreciated.

On all the times we were at the hotel we did not have the same room more than once. So in that regard I suppose we had an opportunity to see more of the hotel’s accommodation than most. Some rooms had views others did not. That did not bother us as we only really used the rooms to sleep as we were out and about in Hanoi during the day. In all instances we found the size of the rooms adequate for 2 people, tastefully decorated and very modern. I found my first use of the luxurious and high tech showers quite daunting as I scratched my head as to how the whole thing works. Fortunately I was travelling with a genius who worked the whole thing out in less than 30 seconds flat.

The meals we had at the hotel were mainly the breakfasts which consisted of buffet style hot food typical of hotels of this nature together with cereals, juices, fresh fruits and the ability to order cooked omelettes and phos’ from the chef at the buffet. No complaint at all about the quality and quantity of the breakfasts. We had one excellent French and Italian style lunch.

The hotel is well located just being on the fringe of the old town and I agree with other reviewers about the easy access to many of the attractions nearby.

In conclusion I would have no hesitation in saying that if in Hanoi in the future I would again stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone contemplating a future trip to this great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel Trendy
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#75 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Property: Silk Path Hotel
Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter with major attractions nearby, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. Personalized services yet excellent privacy ensure the greatest comforts and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing