We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located boutique hotel”
Review of Silk Path Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silk Path Hotel
Ranked #58 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Silk Path is a "boutique" hotel slap bang in the middle of the old French Quarter. It was chosen for us by our Exotissimo travel agent as a four star establishment. There are steps up to the main entrance so it is not very disabled friendly. The atrium is decorated with marble and dark wood. Check-in was warm and genuinely friendly. It is a little open-plan, so the air conditioning in high summer is being challenged.

The hotel is long and thin. There are three rooms that overlook the front on each level. It is on a main shopping street but the glazing in your bedroom detatches you from the vibrancy outside should you choose to keep your window shut. This also means that some of the rooms have windows that look-in over the central area with privicy protected by a bamboo screen. Make you reservation carefully so that you are not disappointed.

Our room was large with all the facilities that you would expect in a four star venue. We had multilingual television, a safe, free wifi, coffee making facilites plus en suite bathroom and separate shower. The bedside table also holds a control panel to manage the room lighting.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the first floor. This was an international buffet with the occasional local delicasy. This room is a little crowded but the food and service was very good.

Hanoi is lovely. By staying in this hotel, you will immersed into its sights, smells and sounds. It is a good choice for you stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Clerkenwell,

Thank you for your comments. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are glad you had wonderful stay with us. We are also glad to see you enjoyed our location, service, facilities, and breakfast.

Thank you once again your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

1/ General impression
The personnel speaks english which is better than most hotel I have been in VN (I have tried a lot), but regarding the accomodations, this is definitively not a 4 stars hotel (except maybe for food). It is like a three stars hotel with sauna and better english speaking people and better breakfast.

2/ The Room
The room is very dirty, the carpet is full of stains, the wall full of humidity.

We had one time also dirty sheets from other people. Dirty stains (I do not want to know what it is is but I guess I know) from other people put in my bed.

3/ Services
Here to me is the worse.
First, it took 10 days for people at breakfast to just remember my name, and stop asking my room number. It is very annoying.
Another point very annoying was the american girl asking if I was there to have breakfast. What can I do at 7:30 in the restaurant where you have nothing else to do?
I skip the fact I also had to say several times my wife was not my "girlfriend" but my wife (I skip also the fact when we came back late the guy at the lobby who spoke to my wife in vietnamese to ask our room number with clearly the will to check it was not a prostitute or a girl I got in a bar).
It may seems stupid, but to me it is clearly the sign no one cares of the guests.
Just the doormen were nice and remembering us. The others were very cold. They really need some behavioral classes.

4/ Other problems
Housekeeping is very unpolite. They ring many time without waiting for any answers and they enter the room very quickly. They barely wait 20 seconds between the first ringbell and the third one when they enter directly.
The last trouble was last sunday when at 6 a.m. they rang and entered the room directly. I went to the lobby to complain and the guys there really did not care at all. They said "We are sorry we did mistake" and that's all. Another guy said to me "Please don't fill complain they work very hard, it is a mistake". They never had in mind I am here for work, not for leasure. When we broke a small glass in the room we were charged 200 k for this, I was not able to say "So sorry, just a mistake, I work hard all week to be able to pay this room.". And when the hotel disturb me, do not respect my sleep, me, the customer, all I have is a cheap "sorry, it is a mistake" and that's all ? This is not very polite.

It is really not good hotel and I will not recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mr. Garu2013,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We would like to apologize since we see that you did not have a wonderful stay with us. While this is out of the norm for us we do apologize for the mistakes made on our part such as the housekeeping error and how our staff handle the problem after it was brought to their attention. This matter has been brought to the attention of our Management and these issues have been added to our service training for immediate rectifications.

We also apologize for annoying you when asking for your room number during breakfast. There were many guests during your stay and it is difficult to remember everyone’s name and room number. Nonetheless, our GM has already taken immediate action by instructing our associates to be more vigilant in remembering our guests, more so their names. Also we are very sorry for annoying you when you came down by asking if you were there for breakfast. Unfortunately, our breakfast area is not the only area on the first floor. On this floor we also have our meeting rooms. We ask to make sure guests are eating breakfast or going to the meeting so that we do not impede the guest on their way and to direct them accordingly.

The next point in your post was about our Front Office associate holding you back to check that you were not bringing just anyone back to the room. This is due to the directive from the City authorities not to allow any joiners in the hotel at night and that we are also directed by the Police Department to submit our in-house guests list on a nightly basis. We hope that you understand that we are actually protecting our male guests from troubles should there be any sudden inspection by the authorities at night which they do frequently. Our GM, a Filipino and I understand your feelings very well because we both are married to Vietnamese nationals and our GM especially has also encountered the scrutiny of staffs of other hotel/resort many times since their checked-in, during a week-end escapade. But because we knew the laws of Vietnam with regard to this matter we really don’t mind. That being said however, the approach of our associate shall be improved to a more tactful and diplomatic manner.

Lastly with our Housekeeping’s error and how the staff handled your complaint, we are grateful that you have brought this matter up. A rectification and improvement of our standard operating procedure on this issue have been addressed effectively to ensure that this will not happen again. Furthermore, our Housekeeping associates have been reminded to be more diligent in performing their duties. Our GM has issued additional instructions to our colleagues to let him know should there be accidents on equipments in the room incurred by the guests to determine whether or not to charge the guests. Most often than not though, our GM waives the charges.

Again, we would like to apologize for our mistakes that caused you to be annoyed and/or upset with us. Lastly but not the least, Mr. Castro, our GM is looking forward to welcoming and serving you again on your next visit to Hanoi and we highly hope that you will give us the chance to let you experience the changes that we have made. If you would call or email us directly to book for your next visit, it will be very much appreciated.

Our sincerest apologies,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely hotel with a pleasant welcome, willing service and reasonable rooms right in the heart of the city. Could have been made better by the use of some form of double-glazing to cut the road noise out from the bedroom (even though we were on the 9th floor).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blackfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Blackfour,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us at Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are also glad our service, rooms and location.

Unfortunately our windows are double glazed, but as we are in a well-trafficked area it is very difficult to completely remove all of the noise. If silence is necessary for sleeping I would suggest booking an inside room. These are quiet even if they have no outside view.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

stayed here in may for two nights, stunning hotel lobby and very pleasant greeting from staff. Room very nice and modern, a bit small and has a screen between bathroom and room so you can kinda see through! This didn't bother us though. Restaurant down stairs had amazing food both western and local. Breakfast was great too, I would defo stay here again. Also location was dead on, only 10 min walk to old quarter.

Room Tip: dine at the restaurant down stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It was out pleasure to welcome you to Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel design, rooms, restaurants, service and location.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very good Hotel, in the center of the city, near the most popular historical monuments.
A place to be... Very clean and comfortable rooms, good food vietnamise and european. enjoy your visit in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paolomorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Silk Path Hotel for you recent stay in Hanoi. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our location, rooms and food.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staff were wonderful and very helpful and a very happy bunch of people.
Would recommend upgrading to room with a street window as some rooms only have internal window which I did not like.
Restaurant had a great variety of food and breakfast buffet was great.
A smaller boutique hotel so not so many people as larger hotels but still had all the amenities.

Room Tip: Upgrade to room with outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne D, Guest Relations Manager at Silk Path Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It was out pleasure to welcome you to Silk Path Hotel on your recent trip to Hanoi. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our staff, room and restaurant.

Thank you once again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Silk Path Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Daphne Daniels
Guest Welfare Manager
Silk Path Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed there as a couple for 2 nights with another couple of friends, as organized by the Vietnamese travel agent, prior to a trip to Halong Bay. The hotel was as described. Check in was smooth and efficient. We had a light dinner at the hotel restaurant as it was late and most nearby places were closing. It was pleasant enough but average quality. The rooms were small but clean. Bathroom tight but the shower was ok. There were only internal windows,so no real daylight but quiet, considering the busy roads outside. Breakfast was reasonable but not a huge variety. Location was quite central and lots of shops around during daytime. Crossing the roads was interesting but we got the hang of it. Checkout was again fairly effortless and uncomplicated. Overall it was adequate, sufficient for what we needed but not memorable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbug21stC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.1 mi away
O'Gallery Premier Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
Movenpick Hotel Hanoi
#84 of 600 in Hanoi
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#71 of 600 in Hanoi
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Path Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Path Hotel

Address: 195-199 Hang Bong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Path Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter with major attractions nearby, the Hotel affords discerning travelers an unrivalled value to explore all that the city has to offer. The distincly electic decor marries beautifully with all the mordern conveniences, creating a truly indulgent experience. Personalized services yet excellent privacy ensure the greatest comforts and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silk Path Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing