We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & noisy - a lot to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #153 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Poor service & noisy - a lot to improve”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

OK, this hotel has nice rooms in general (we stayed in Deluxe), and it is in a center of the night life area with a lot of bars and restaurants, so it is convenient.

BUT, this hotel has the following issues:

- the receptionists are not really paying full attention to their guests. Service quality is very subordinate, and you do not feel like being served. the reception is among the biggest weakness of this hotel. they could be friendlier and more efficient. other hotels (e.g., Hanoi Elegance group hotels) with the same price range provide much better service, and that really makes difference.

- it is very noisy at night as many other reviewers wrote. first, it is facing the Hanoi's busiest night life street with a lot of bars and clubs, so you can here them, especially when you are on the front side of the hotel. Second, the bars of the Backpacker Hostel (next to this hotel) are extended to the back of this hotel. So even you are on the backside of the hotel, a lot of noise from the bar at Backpacker Hostel and crazy screaming noise of drunk backpackers come into your room. We actually had this. the World Cup even makes it worse.

- breakfast is not well prepared. things are sometimes cold. Again, F&B manager need to pay more attention to the things they are serving to the guest. Just go around to check things time to time!

- NEVER rent a motorbike at the hotel. I got a very crappy motorbike without maintenance and it got a flat tire within one hour because the tube was very old with cracks. I had to find a repair man in the middle of the big road, fix it (replaced the tube), and came back to the hotel. While replacing the tube, I could see obviously the tube was very old and could have broken anytime -- lack of maintenance. I immediately reported this issue to the hotel reception and asked them (the bike rental company associated with the hotel) to reimburse the cost of repair as it is due to lack of maintenance. The company refused, saying I broke the thing. I told them that they gave me the old crappy bike, which could not run even an hour. And the tube was broken as it was already too old, not because I broke it or something stuck in the tire. No intention or willingness to listen to what I said, they just gave me a cold look and kept refusing the reimbursement. Absolutely irresponsible and total rip-off. The hotel reception also kept saying that the bike rental company is different from the hotel, but hello? I rent it through the hotel reception. Can you just be responsible for the company you are introducing to your guests?

Overall, I got very poor and unsatisfactory experience at this hotel.

You can find much better hotel in Hoan Kiem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kenya Alang,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

Thank you so much for your taking the time to write a review and sharing your thought of your stay at our hotel.

We also know that you did not saitify with our service. And that our receptionists had been receive a serious warning because they did not do the righ way and not solve your request in the best way. and we are really sorry about this.

We always try to bring the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. For which, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and unsatifation caused to you during your stay.

Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I wish to have opotunity to welcome you back to our hotel. I also would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly,and may personeely handle your requests.

Yours sincerely,

Hai Yen Nguyen

General Manager
Medallion Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    315
    110
    37
    18
See reviews for
127
276
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were on a business trip and enjoyed the very friendly and helpful staff.

the location of this hotel is great because you are in the center of the old town and close to coffee shops and restaurants.
We stayed at first in the front room but the street noise was to much on a Saturday night.Nicer rooms are further in the back of the hotel away from the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A good location to discover the old quarters of Hanoi. The staff was very friendly and always at our service. The room was nice and I cannot complain about noise. I had a last minute upgrade for free on arrival and the room had a small balcony . Very enjoyable.
Breakfast was good, but the breakfast area is not soo inviting. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 14Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Public Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Gabrielle,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!
Thank you very much for your staying and contribution. We are so happy to see your review. We will feel more happy to see you in the next time in Hanoi. I think that you will be surprised in your next time in Hanoi Medallion hotel.

Hope all the good things always knock your door house.

Warm regards,

Tran Trung Kien

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is great to discover the center of Hanoi. Check in was good and friendly. The staff was helpful and answered all our questions. The room was nice decorated and functional. The bathroom would need a renovation, everything looks rather old and used.

Breakfast and the breakfast area are not really inviting and the cleanness has to be questioned.

However, all in all and for the given price it's a reasonable hotel but not more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Public Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear lexli,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

Thank you very much for your recent staying at Hanoi Medallion hotel and taking the time to write a review for us. We highly appriciate your ideal. We have had also some renovations.
We hope to see you in your next time in Hanoi. It must be a better Medallion hotel.

Once again, I would like to say thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel as preferred place.

Warm regards,

Tran Trung Kien

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location, but VERY noisy. The windows cannot be closed properly. We were on the 6th floor, and we felt we were living in the street.
Reception is OK but not super friendly.
Breakfast is OK but pretty basic.
Some mould in the bathroom and in the corners.

You can probably find something better for the same price and in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aurelie_778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Its a very friendly hotel. The staff are freindly and alsways at your service. My mobile phone is not working and the staff brings me to get my phone repaired. They a personal touch. Would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Willy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Public Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Willy H,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadviser. It is a good way for other clients to know more about Hanoi Medallion Hotel. We high appriciate your contribution.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time

Have a good time !


Warm regards,

Tran Trung Kien

Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

rooms at the front of the hotel are very small and old. The shower was tucked inside a very small bathroom and was only screened from rest of room by a shower curtain. After we changed rooms to one at the back things improved.
We originally got placed in the inferior room because the hotel had no record of our booking even though it was done by a travel agent via expedia.com. Rather than deal with us (I had the voucher to prove the booking) we kept getting pushed to the back of the check-in queue and there was no apology for the mistake. Found the check-in experience rude.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Definitely avoid front facing rooms as they're old and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freofreo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#29 of 588 in Hanoi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
#156 of 588 in Hanoi
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 588 in Hanoi
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Property: Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing