We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #153 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
“A good hotel in Hanoi”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The first night we had a room with a window directly across the street from the hotel entrance and this has affected some sleep as the road is very noisy, full of locals, especially in the presence of a hostel right next to the hotel. The room was not very big, but clean and comfortable enough (only flaw was no hair dryer).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CraigB21997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CraigB,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

First of all, Thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel as you preferred place.We always try our best to make our guests happpy.Our staff are trained to serve all guest individually and do extra step to touch at their guest heart. When a guest happy with the service of our hotel, it is our happiness.

We're sorry for inconvenient thing you had met Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.

We looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us again on your next trip to Ha Noi city.

Your sincerely

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    314
    107
    37
    18
See reviews for
124
275
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel was in a great location, right in the heart of the old Quarter. Our rooms air conditioning seemed to make the room have a damp smell to it- Staff were nice but not overly friendly; much friendly when realised we were leaving to move to a different hotel. This hotel is right next door to a very popular BackPackers Hostel with a Bar; so was very noisy till late. Breakfast was ok; but in the heat I wouldn't eat the meats etc that have been sitting out all morning. Can get fresh eggs or omelet made to order. The Bed was probably the most comfortable we have had in vietnam; and the first day we had no Hot Water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12TREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The room is great, clean and modern. I think it's more of a 4 star hotel since the facilities, lodging and food served for breakfast are very good. I definitely would recommend this place to whoever visits Hanoi since it's not only good but it's located in the old quarters, a very convenient place. The staff are also very friendly and helpful which also knows sufficient English to communicate properly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Irene K,

A huge love from Hanoi City!

Thank you so much for giving us a chance to serve you on your trip in Hanoi.

On behalf of our staff, thank you very much for your nice comment on our Medallion Hanoi Hotel. I will share your review to the rest of our team and I am sure that they will very happy.Your comment will bring more power for our team to make us stronger.
We'll alway keep our best services standard to make all guests feel happy and comfortable during their staying.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel and we wish to have more opportunities to serve you and your family again.

Your sincerely

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is near nightlife. That comes with some noise but it was a pleasant experience and I expected the noise so it wasn't a problem.

The breakfast is probably the best for travelers. After many days of trying exotic food, it was always comforting to have a nice, hearty, healthy breakfast here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ashley D,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at our Medallion Hanoi Hotel.
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our service.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.

Your sincerely

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

OK, this hotel has nice rooms in general (we stayed in Deluxe), and it is in a center of the night life area with a lot of bars and restaurants, so it is convenient.

BUT, this hotel has the following issues:

- the receptionists are not really paying full attention to their guests. Service quality is very subordinate, and you do not feel like being served. the reception is among the biggest weakness of this hotel. they could be friendlier and more efficient. other hotels (e.g., Hanoi Elegance group hotels) with the same price range provide much better service, and that really makes difference.

- it is very noisy at night as many other reviewers wrote. first, it is facing the Hanoi's busiest night life street with a lot of bars and clubs, so you can here them, especially when you are on the front side of the hotel. Second, the bars of the Backpacker Hostel (next to this hotel) are extended to the back of this hotel. So even you are on the backside of the hotel, a lot of noise from the bar at Backpacker Hostel and crazy screaming noise of drunk backpackers come into your room. We actually had this. the World Cup even makes it worse.

- breakfast is not well prepared. things are sometimes cold. Again, F&B manager need to pay more attention to the things they are serving to the guest. Just go around to check things time to time!

- NEVER rent a motorbike at the hotel. I got a very crappy motorbike without maintenance and it got a flat tire within one hour because the tube was very old with cracks. I had to find a repair man in the middle of the big road, fix it (replaced the tube), and came back to the hotel. While replacing the tube, I could see obviously the tube was very old and could have broken anytime -- lack of maintenance. I immediately reported this issue to the hotel reception and asked them (the bike rental company associated with the hotel) to reimburse the cost of repair as it is due to lack of maintenance. The company refused, saying I broke the thing. I told them that they gave me the old crappy bike, which could not run even an hour. And the tube was broken as it was already too old, not because I broke it or something stuck in the tire. No intention or willingness to listen to what I said, they just gave me a cold look and kept refusing the reimbursement. Absolutely irresponsible and total rip-off. The hotel reception also kept saying that the bike rental company is different from the hotel, but hello? I rent it through the hotel reception. Can you just be responsible for the company you are introducing to your guests?

Overall, I got very poor and unsatisfactory experience at this hotel.

You can find much better hotel in Hoan Kiem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kenya Alang,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

Thank you so much for your taking the time to write a review and sharing your thought of your stay at our hotel.

We also know that you did not saitify with our service. And that our receptionists had been receive a serious warning because they did not do the righ way and not solve your request in the best way. and we are really sorry about this.

We always try to bring the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. For which, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and unsatifation caused to you during your stay.

Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I wish to have opotunity to welcome you back to our hotel. I also would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly,and may personeely handle your requests.

Yours sincerely,

Hai Yen Nguyen

General Manager
Medallion Hanoi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were on a business trip and enjoyed the very friendly and helpful staff.

the location of this hotel is great because you are in the center of the old town and close to coffee shops and restaurants.
We stayed at first in the front room but the street noise was to much on a Saturday night.Nicer rooms are further in the back of the hotel away from the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A good location to discover the old quarters of Hanoi. The staff was very friendly and always at our service. The room was nice and I cannot complain about noise. I had a last minute upgrade for free on arrival and the room had a small balcony . Very enjoyable.
Breakfast was good, but the breakfast area is not soo inviting. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 14Gabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Public Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Gabrielle,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!
Thank you very much for your staying and contribution. We are so happy to see your review. We will feel more happy to see you in the next time in Hanoi. I think that you will be surprised in your next time in Hanoi Medallion hotel.

Hope all the good things always knock your door house.

Warm regards,

Tran Trung Kien

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eco Hotel Hanoi
Eco Hotel Hanoi
#189 of 586 in Hanoi
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
#154 of 586 in Hanoi
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#29 of 586 in Hanoi
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Property: Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing