We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service & attitude, worst breakfast & doesn't worth the money at all. More improvement to make but location is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Medallion Hotel
Ranked #148 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Well, we booked 1 night & lucky of us only booked for 1 night. The service really got to improve a lot. Only 2 receptionist are good & one bellboy however the moment we checked in to the hotel, they somehow lack of politeness & greetings which we find it this is the worst service compared to other hotels we stayed at. The room are small & it's meant for business hotel instead. The breakfast is totally bad. The quantity & the quality doesn't really match the price you paid for. We are disappointed to stay there despite having good reviews but it simply doesn't worth the money at all. More to improve Medallion!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Connieangml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, General Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Ms. Connieangml,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

First of all, on behalf of your staffs, we would like to say thank you very much for sharing your feeling with us about your stay.

We knew that you didn't satisfy with a few things during you stayed with us. We had very quick meeting on the day right after you left that review. We shared this among our team and all had a memorable lesson about services and accomodation.

We will try our best to improve our services and hope that on the near furture we have a chance to welcome you back at Medallion Hanoi Hotel on your next trip to Hanoi and face to face talk with you to meet your expectation.

Once again, we are very pleased to thank you for your staying at our hotel and hopefully we could see you in the near future.

Best regards,

Yen Nguyen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My experience when staying in the Medallion was top class. The rooms and the service from the employees was brilliant. A special thanks must go to Hien. She went out of her way to help us. She helped us plan and book our trip while getting us some great deals. She even acted as my translator at the police station when was reporting my passport missing. She was really great with us. I would highly recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mike,

A huge love from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

Thank you so much for your recent staying at our hotel. On behalf of our staff at Medallion Hanoi Hotel, we hope your visit to Hanoi was memorable and met your expectations. We would like you to know how much we appreciated your recognition of our fine hotel and for the many kind words you expressed to our staff during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.

Kind regards

Hien Nguyen

Customers Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here twice, and was pretty satisfied with the value and location of the hotel.

Unlike most hotels in the old quarter, Medallion is a bit larger and has a pretty big lobby, which is nice because most are extremely cramped and hard to get around with your bags, etc.

The rooms are fine, but nothing to get excited about. They are starting to look a bit rough around the edges, although the second room was much better.

Breakfast was good- much better the second time. Lots of fruits, yogurts, muesli, eggs, meats, cheese, bread, etc.

The hotel is also a good choice because most taxi drivers seem to know the name already, so no problems getting there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear manh_attan04,

Thank you for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel as your preferred place.
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our services.We're seriously appreciate your review on tripadvisor to let us know how did you feel when you stayed here.All of your feelings always be our staff's power.It'll help us a lots to improve our services standard and accommodations.
We hope we can have another chance to see you soon in the near future.

Once again,thank you so much for everything and a best wishes for you!

Kind regards

Hien Nguyen

Customers Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is good quality 3* with reasonable price. Room is clean and has balcony. Buffet breakfast is good enough. Hotel staff are nice and helpful. Location is very good to explore the Old Quarter of Hanoi. Especially hotel offer many connecting rooms, suitable for family travel of parent and 3 children.

Room Tip: room in the back may be more quiet if you prefer quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allasiatravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear allasiatravel2000,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

Fisrt of all, thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel during your trip to Hanoi.
We are all so delightful that you had great time here and enjoyed our services, our location.
We will try our best to make our guests comfortable while staying here and make our services better and better every single day!
We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.
Once again, I would like to say thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hanoi Hotel as preferred place.

Kind regards
Hien Nguyen
Customers Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at medallion hotel Hanoi , either night of a 2 day Halong Bay cruise that the hotel organised . Staff were excellent , and if anything needed sorted it got done ! Stayed in the medallion suite , roomy comfortable and clean , great bed. Some reviews said it was noisy because of backpackers next door , was not a problem for us . Breakfast catered for all tastes . Would recommend , also the 2 night Halong Bay Grayline tour , make sure you do the 2 night option .

Room Tip: Medallion suite , we stayed in 707 both nights. Has a small standing balcony , very roomy and huge c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Helen P,

Thank you so much for your great comments. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and appreciated our service. I sure I will share your comment to the rest of our team and I surely that they all very delightful. Our staff are trained to serve all guest individually and do extra step to touch at their guest heart. When a guest happy with the service of our hotel, it is our happiness.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, in the near future. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests.

Your sincerely

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we had a group of 14 people, check in was fast and efficient, staff were more than accomodating.
The rooms were large, bathrooms big and clean, No cloplaints with the rooms, our air con and fridge wernt working when we arrived, but with a quick call to reception , all was fixed within a short time, the rooms dont have views, except the front rooms, that overlook the small main st.
One of our guests had a small problem, and was quickly mooved to an upgraded massive room at the front of the hotel.
Breakfast was very good, with a great selection of local and western food.
The location was the highlight, located in the middle of the old quater, we were surrounded in shops, bars and resturants. great small bars, that are packed out at night, but close at 12 midnight. so there may be some noise from the streets until 12.

Room Tip: try for the back of the hotel if you dont want noise until 12pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chadsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Chadsue,

A warmest greating from Medallion Hotel!

First of all, on behalf of our staff, thank you so much for choosing Medallion Hotel as your preferred place.We're seriously appreciate your review on tripadvisor to let us know how did you feel when you stayed here.All of your feelings always be our staff's power.It'll help us so much to improve our services standard and accommodations.

Hope we can see you again soon in near future to serve you again.

Once again,thank you so much and see you soon!

Yours sincerely

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is deceptively large as it runs right back to the block behind and therefore is fairly quiet in the rooms that do not face the street. The rooms are good, the service is fantastic bit it is the location that makes this place. Rooms are well fitted out, with too much furniture in them if anything, but with wifi, air-con, TV and important for some (including us) interconnected rooms, which seem to be relatively hard to find in Vietnam. The action is literally on the door step of the hotel, which is located in the middle of the old quarter. Close to food, night markets, bars, sights, lakes, water puppets - although a little too close to the beer swilling singlet wearing backpackers who are literally next door - although to be fair you can't hear or smell them once you get inside. In fact, as you walk through the glass doors into the air-conditioned foyer it is great to leave the heat, noise and humidity behind - it is a bit of an oasis in some respects. Staff were great. Stayed here with wife and two kids (10 and 12) in two rooms.

Room Tip: The few rooms which face the street would be pretty noisy but some of the rooms have limited access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedallionHotel11, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Medallion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Lucass,

A warmest greeting from Medallion Hanoi Hotel!

We're so glad to get your review on tripadvisor to know that you'd been enjoyed your time at our hotel. We're all really happy to served you and your family and we wish to have more opportunities to see you and your family again.

Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the
accommodations and services for our guests.

On behalf of our staff, please send our best wishes to your family's health!

Once again, thạk you so much for choosing Medallion Hotel as your prederred place.

Your sincerely,

Hien Nguyen

Customers Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#112 of 599 in Hanoi
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#123 of 599 in Hanoi
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Medallion Hotel

Address: 11 Ma May Street, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £28 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanoi Medallion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest boutique hotel in Hanoi, ideally situated in the heart of the old quarter, center of Hanoi, "in the middle of everywhere", this exclusive, discreetly luxurious hotel seduces its guests with its intimate atmosphere, cozy comfort and relaxed elegance. A gem of a small hotel, attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special; you will be treated like a guest in a private residence. From the moment you arrive, our dedicated team of butlers will tend to your every need - from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea to coordinating your social itinerary… so that you can totally relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanoi Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing