We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with the most friendliest staff!”
Review of Opera Hotel Hanoi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Opera Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #251 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
HongKong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel with the most friendliest staff!”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I had a wonderful stay at Thai Son Hotel 2. It's very cosy and the staff are simply the best. They are friendly,attentive and genuinely cares for the well being of their guest. They gave me tips and suggestions on where to go and even arranged transportation for me. Breakfast provided at the hotel was good too.
Hotel is located in the Old Quarters which is walking distance to many attractions. There are plenty of eating places nearby and on the weekends,you would just be 5mins walk away from the Night Market.
Will definitely stay at this hotel again when I come back to Hanoi!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santrian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    33
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights (1 night before Halong Bay and 1 night after) in two different rooms. There seem to be 2 'wings' to this hotel and the x01 and x02 rooms have no lift to them. We were on the 5th and 6th floors and it was a struggle (although they have porters to help with bags). Staff were generally helpful but not overly so. They made a mistake(?) when booking us a taxi - asking for a higher price then they'd quoted. Breakfast was very 'OK'. I think you might be able to do better in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Thaison hotel (one night Thaison 1 and one night thaison 2) and we had the 2 best nights of our whole Vietnam stay. Nice clean rooms (very trendy), great beds, the best shower, delicious breakfast and good service.
Don't hesitate, book Thaison!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jozefienh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We booked a room at Thai Son 2 because of all these great reviews, and because it is a brand new hotel. But when we got there, after a very long day of travel, we were told that the AC in our room did not work and we were going to their sister hotel Thai Son 1. They hailed and paid for a cab to take us to Thai Son 1, a few blocks away. Thai Son 1 is very nice, and we were given a big room, but it also room smelled like a dirty diaper. We didn't change rooms because it was very late and we were staying only one night. The location is a few blocks further out from the center of the Old Quarter in comparison to Thai Son 2, but still within walking distance to everything. We did like the large LCD flat screen TV at Thai Son 1.

We tried a second time to stay at Thai Son 2, booked via the web. This time our room was actually in an older hotel, connected to Thai Son 2 hotel, but one that they had clearly bought and expanded upon (it used to be The Sunrise Hotel, apparently). It was a 5 flight of stairs walk up, and definitely not new. No large LCD flat screen here, toilet didn't always flush, spotty AC that wasn't very strong. The room was clean, adequate, but we had higher expectations because of all the hype of a brand new hotel. The front desk guy said he'd get us into the new part of the hotel during our last 2 nights stay.

So the last two nights, we were given a room in the new part of the hotel. It's the smallest room out of the other 2 we've stayed in, no window, and there were water issues the entire time we were there. We requested help as soon as we discovered no hot water upon arrival, but even with the maintenance man, we experienced continued water issues the entire time we were there; no hot water, then only hot water, then again no hot water. On the upside, there is a great big flat screen (HD?) TV, the AC works, and the bed isn't nearly as hard as the one in the "old part" of Thai Son 1.

I'm sure some people had a great time here; the staff is very nice, the breakfast is extensive, but be forewarned that you may be shuffled off to a totally different hotel than this "wonderful and new Thai Son 2" and there are some definite kinks to work out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gocarygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The Thai Son Hotel 2 is a modern, clean hotel located in the heart of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. Highly recommended. The rooms were ultra-modern (read large flat screen TV), clean and well-appointed. The location cannot be beat nor can the value. Staff was very helpful and attended to every request with a smile. Minh (manager) is extraordinarily helpful in booking travel arrangements. Highly recommend getting up at sunrise and walking the streets of the Old Quarter right outside your door- you'll have a chance to see it waking up without the maddening chaos of the day and night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santarosapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAISONHOTEL2, Manager at Opera Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you had a great time.
Thanks again for the positive...

Kenny Thai
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel after our arrival from Europe so it was the first 'point of contact' and good for it. It is very centrally located while still quiet enough for sleeping. We got a bit unlucky by staying in the 6th floor (no lift) on the right hand side of the building... but there are rooms with lift. The room was nicely decorated, tidy, TV and wifi. Breakfast was mainly focused on local food (Pho etc) although there was some toast available. Bathroom was simple but ok. Bit irritating: when taking a shower there was water flowing across the bathroom into one corner. Explanation: no plumbing between the bath tub and the sewer. This is quite common practice and only 'better' (approx. 40 $) hotel solve this the 'usual' way. It was unusual but not really disturbing after all.

The staff was friendly and helpful. As usual they tried to engage us in some tours but left us more or less alone, once we signaled we were not interested.

Rooms were 19$ per night. So a fair deal for a clean room and friendly service. The hotel is about 2 min from Ma may street where most of the agencies for trips to Sapa and Along Bay are.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2010

WiFi in rooms
Up to date LCD TV
Not bad breakfast
5 minuts to center of Ha Noi

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#67 of 585 in Hanoi
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 585 in Hanoi
2,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#155 of 585 in Hanoi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel Hanoi

Property: Opera Hotel Hanoi
Address: No 48A Hang Chuoi Str, Hoan Kiem Dist | hanoi, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Thaison Hotel II)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opera Hotel Hanoi is a brand-new 3 star hotel with 48 spacious deluxe rooms spread over 9 floors in the central heart of Hanoi's ancient streets, vibrant business, shopping and tourist center. It is located within 2 minutes walking distance to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (Sword Restored), Water Puppet theatre, night market and famous 'Hang Ngang - Hang Dao' streets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing