We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel
Ranked #430 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Rip-off and smelly. It is also very noisy. There is strong pressure to sign up for trips that are greatly over priced. We left after 3 days, having asked for a better room and having been ignored. It is claustrophobically tiny.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Hotel royal 3 Hanoi (formerly called Hanoi Silver Hotel).
We stayed 4 nights. Location is good, in the old quarter. Rooms were small but clean. No safe available in room. Luckily also a heater is available as it was very cold during our stay. The hotel is okay but does not justify the above average ratings from other reviewers, in our opinion. The staff was friendly, if you book your tours with them. To settle the bill they use a funny conversion rate of 1:21000 which is 5% above what other places apply and also charge 3% for credit card. You are better off if you pay in $ in cash. Laundry prices were above average as well. Wifi is free and reliable in the lower floors, not on the higher floors. On the lower floors there is more noise from the lobby.
Be careful when they ask you to join a halong bay cruise with a night stay on a sailboat. There are several options and the cheaper ones are for 45$ pp including transport. Shop around with other tour operators and you will find out that they offer the same for much less.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms. It was very quiet at night even though it is in the Old Quarter. Very convenient for the shops and eating out. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is adequate - bacon. eggs, sausages and lovely bread ( shaped like a small baquette ) plus noodles and veg. There is free access to Internet so that you can keep in touch with family and friends back home. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong / Kelowna, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is one of the best hotel in the USD$20 level around the old quarter. It is close to everything yet it is quite at night, excellent for sleep! More importantly, there is a Lift / Elevator in this hotel, not very common in the area! Price is reasonable, staffs are friendly, rooms are spacious and clean, over all a very good experience.

Tips:

1) If you're planning on a Halong Bay Tour, front desk will arrange it for you, it is easier if you book it through the hotel. But make sure that you don't pay anything more than USD$19 during off season.

2) the best way to get around the city is by Motor Bike (Cycle), it is VERY SAFE! Automatic transmission one cost VND 150,000 for 24hrs. again, front desk will help.

3) for 3 more USD, the hotel will arrange a very comfortable ride (better than taxi) for you to the airport, with a staff to carry all the luggage for u.

4) the water in the mini bar is very cheap, just drink it, don't bother buying it outside.

5) staff's in this hotel speaks very limited english, be prepared to communicate with body language and drawing, it is a fun experience!

6) Water pressure is excellent here, compare to other hotel in this class

** Free Parking only for Motor Bike (Cycle)

Enjoy Hanoi!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossingtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Legend Hanoi
Silver Legend Hanoi
#311 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#172 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#26 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel
Address: 88 Hang Bac, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Royal 3 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Old Quarter, right in the heart of Hanoi, Royal 3 Hotel has an ideal location in a Hanoi busiest center. Just a minute walking to the lake, you will feel free and quite relaxed when enjoy the peaceful and romantic atmosphere by Hoan Kiem lake or when taking a walk around the busiest silk streets of Old Quarter.Banks and post offices, and airlines boxes are just a few minutes walk. You can either stroll around through Hanoi popular small streets with silk and souvenir shops or visit Thang Long water puppet nearby. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing