We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets and towels. Bathroom stank and had rust everywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #57 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty sheets and towels. Bathroom stank and had rust everywhere.”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I stayed here one night because my usual hotel was full. Total disappointment!!

The staff who checked us in didn't smile nor have a few welcoming words to say. What disgusted me the most was the state of the room -- I expected something modest but at least clean and neat. The sheets had dirt marks on them and the toilet smelled bad. Exposed pipes and hinges in the bathroom were absolutely rusty, and there were only bath towels provided (which were dirty too). The shower head looked gross with all that rust!!

Their cafe/breakfast area looks friendly enough, but the rooms are really substandard for $30 per double room!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poxfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rendezvous99, Manager at Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Hi Poxfrogs.
I'm Luke, Manager of Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel. Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our cafe and breakfast, we think it's a great communal area to meet other travellers.
In regards to the room you were in, I must apologize again, as I did when you were staying here. As I explained to you when you booked the room, that was our last room left and we have had ongoing problems with the bathroom and are thus in the middle of renovating that particular room. We had in fact not been selling that room. After you insisted on needing the room for just a night, and you seemed happy with our Caveat Emptor, we were happy to let you stay in the room.
In regards to the issue you had with our sheets having dirt marks on them, I cannot explain. We use an external laundry service with industrial western style washing machines that clean all of our sheets everyday. There has been a case in the past where during my quality control process I came across a sheet that had been stained by the bleach used, possibly this was the case in your instance also? Had you mentioned to us we would have happily changed them, although I also understand that you shouldn't need to, and I apologise for your discomfort. We do try to do everything we can to make our guests happy here at Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, even though we are in the lower budget accomodation, as can be seen by our favorable reviews.
Once again, thankyou for staying with us, & Happy future travels.
Luke
Manager - Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    272
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
100
358
248
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

the most important thing why would I recommend this hotel is an excellent service from the staff, they are very friendly and give you great advices so that you enjoy your stay in Hanoi even more!!! Bia Hoi and spring rolls they offer every Thursday for free are such a great idea! location is also very good. rooms clean, definitely would return!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We arrived in Hanoi after after a late flight and were impressed that our hotel pick up was still waiting for us . We were greeted by friendly Rendez Vous staff (well past midnight) who had stayed up and were quickly ushered into our room. The room was basic but large, clean and quiet....Great value.
The staff of this hotel were very helpfull with planing side trips , making inquiries on our behalf and providing a secure place to store luggage while we visited Halong Bay and Sapa. We stayed at the Rendez Vous for 10 days or so and have nothing but praise for how well run and how friendly the staff of this hotel are. It was a good all round experience and we would stay there again on our next trip to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Get an inside room on an upper floor for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2011

A very nice "budget" hotel with great breakfast, but relatively expensive for what you get.

One particular annoyance is that the exchange rate they uses was about 5% higher then anywhere else we saw in Vietnam. The prices are in US dollars, so if you are paying US cash you are OK, but if you want to pay Dong or with credit card you are paying extra. We also booked our Halong bay cruise with them so the poor exchange rate was quite costly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcoupletj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We used this hotel on two occasions, with a Halong Bay overnight trip breaking it up. Which means we had two different experiences. The first time we were there we had a great room, relatively clean and quiet at night. When came back we had a different room, which was facing the street so very noisy. Also the bathroom smelt like sewerage and the air freshener did nothing to stop the smell. The shower did not drain and then would overflow onto the bathroom floor. The front of house staff were good, great English, very helpful when wanting to organise tours etc. Breakfast was included, you got to choose one option and that was cooked for you fresh. Its in a good location, central to most things. Free wi-fi which is great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rendezvous99, Owner at Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Hi D8andS7,
I am Luke, Manager of Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel. Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our Hotel and offer feedback. I'm happy to hear that you found our staff accommodating and enjoyed our free breakfast.
For the room you were staying in on your second visit, I must apologize. We have made several attempts to fix the drainage in that particular room, and it seems the problem has re-occurred. We have closed that room off now for bookings and will not be booking guests into it again until the plumbing is completely overhauled.
Thanks again for choosing us. Happy future travels.

Regards,
Luke
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Great place to stay...we had booked and stayed at another hotel but it was very dusty and smelly, the next morning I sent my husband out to find us a better place, and he did. He found this fantastic place. Very clean, new sheets, clean room, bathroom has a sepeate shower, TV is good many channels, cupboard space and large rooms for families, they even put in an extra matress for our second child, so in our room we had a queen bed, single and the mattress and lots of space to move around. The staff are very trust worthy, they helped us organize out trip to Halong Bay they got us a great price, they even helped us hire a motorbike to cruise around the streets on Hanoi. Would come back here. And they have the best breakfast too.

If you are going to Saigon look up Nhat Thao guest house just off Bui Vien St, they have one large family room on the ground floor really good location.

When we come back from Halong Bay this place is booked, so they organized another hotel which is called the Gecko...so hopefully that will be of the same quality. Hanoi is worth coming to!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisapIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Rensezvous hotel great for a central location. Willing to store your luggage for 3 or so days, and the staff is friendly. Nice rooms with big tv, mini fridge, nice beds. Have an excellent tour booking service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jconnell1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#75 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#108 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#195 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel

Property: Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Dieu Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed by two energetic Australian's; Luke and Sarah, Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the heart of Vietnam's capital city, Hanoi.Located in Hoan Kiem district; The Old Quarter is Hanoi's most popular tourist destination. When you stay at the beautiful Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel, you are guaranteed to be impressed by our immaculate rooms, brand new bathrooms with Western showers, LCD TV's, and greeted by our very friendly, helpful staff..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing