We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They try...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangosteen

Mangosteen
Ranked #664 of 2,172 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“They try...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Have eaten breakfast here while staying at the hotel for business. They try. Service is very friendly, many options available ranging from vietnamese pho to pancakes. But the quality of the food is low. An undercooked sausage, sushi that was just not fresh. Your best bet is to go for the local dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is billed as a 5 star hotel (Movenpick Hotel), however the main restaurant (Mangosteen) fails to deliver a 5 star experience. Good selection on menu. Staff are well trained and attentive. Ambiance good. However the food is average in taste and poor on presentation. No imagination at all. Way overpriced considering the excellent alternatives available in Hanoi. I ordered the house red wine which was barely palatable. The quantity of wine was meagre and outrageously priced. Nearly 10 USD per glass (although 'per thimble' - would be a better measure). In total, 1 bland chicken stir fry, 1 mushy mushroom risotto, 2 glasses of house wine for just under 60USD!! What in Hanoi...If you want to spend 50 - 60 USD in Hanoi then there are MANY other excellent venues that render good value but not here..sorry! When I tried to complain about the quality and price of the wine to the food and beverage manager I was told he was too busy! Unfortunately I am now to busy to ever go back to this place again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodValue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent, attentive service with extensive menu offerings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

While we were staying at the Moevenpick, we were so tired one evening that we could not bring ourselves to fight the traffic & chaos of Hanoi to go out for dinner, so we ate at Mangosteen. What a pleasant surprise! (We do not usually eat in hotel restaurants.) The menu was extensive with all types of food offered - everything from sandwiches to pasta to local/Asian. Truly something for everyone! Craving Western food, I chose the mushroom risotto, which was fantastic. Service was extremely attentive and quick.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
1 review
“Quality of food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Rosti menu is the best and I love the way they served with professional hospitality skill. I will be back soon!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good and fancy restaurant, but not my taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I visited here with kids for Sunday brunch buffet. The place itself is not very big, rather cozy and fancy. The service of workers are good and quite on time. (different from other restaurant; no giggling and no talking). I could feel that they tried their best to care about the guests.

At the corner of the same floor, they placed small buffet for kids. Kids could enjoy food, play with toys, play games and watch movies. Staff from the restaurant was there to take care of kids. This was great for parents with young kids, which helps parents enjoy meal themselves.

The food was good, but would be better for European food lovers. There are variety of choices on cheese and bread. Beef was great, but not many choices of seafood and sushi.(other expensive restaurants offer more choices on seafood and sushi.) Rather, it seemed they focused on dessert. not much about the main food. The price was a bit expensive thinking of what you got.

The location is okay, second floor of Movenpick hotel near Hoan Kiem. After meal, available to take a walk around Hoan Kiem, probably 10 minuite walk distance.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangosteen also viewed

 

Been to Mangosteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing