We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanoi Asia Star Hotel
Ranked #166 of 623 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No frills, good value”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel is fine overall, and for the price we paid (about £25/night for a double room) I was quite satisfied. We booked a superior room, as the website said some of the basic rooms are without windows, and I didn't fancy that. Our room had a nice little balcony. The hotel is starting to look a bit tired and it need of a refurb. The room was clean enough, but could have been better. The bathroom is one of those wet-rooms with the shower above the toilet, which means you have to remember to move all the towels and toilet paper into the bedroom before you take a shower. The bathroom was clean enough, but it did smell a bit musty - a common problem with wet-rooms if not really well-ventilated. The location is good. We walked everywhere and didn't use taxis or public transport apart from to/from the airport, and managed to see all the main sights. I was concerned on arrival to see that our room overlooked a nightclub, and there are lots of bars around too, but there were no noise problems at all as most places in Hanoi have a midnight curfew and the police come around to enforce it.

We came here from Ho Chi Minh City, where we stayed in the excellent Blue Diamond Hotel (see my other review), so maybe my expectations had been raised a little too high! I would certainly have no problem to stay in the Asia Star again if I ever came back to Hanoi, but would probably have a look at alternative options first.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasisgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    67
    30
    18
    15
See reviews for
25
77
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris FRANCE
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I just spent three nights and i s like to thank you the friendly and helpful staff.

They are trying to do their best to help me on all kind of informations and always with a beautiful kindness and smile.
Special thank to Ana ( not sure with the spelling) and her collegues.
Very nice location and great service and nice room'

Will come back or send customers

Thks a lot :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb75006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here as my hub for tours in and around the Hanoi area. The staff were excellent. Always with a smile in greeting and take the opportunity to practice their conversational English. The breakfast was also a great option to start the day out right. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is located conveniently in the Old Quarter and a short walk to the lake with the Turtle Pogada.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeysmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days and then returned after our trip to Halong Bay.
The staff are AMAZING! They speak great English and are so willing to help in a lovely, friendly, non-overbearing way.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious.
It's a 2 minute walk to the tourist hub - far enough away to give you some space.
Could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 802 has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLVIlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, with a trip to Halong Bay in the middle, arranged through the hotel.
Rooms were clean and a good size, with a king size bed and air con.
Location was great - 5 minutes from the centre of the action, but just far enough away that it was quiet.
Staff were always really friendly and helpful, always interested in what we had been up to in the day, and were able to make some great recommendations of things to do and places to eat.
We had an early flight on our last morning, so they prepared us a breakfast to go.
Would definitley stay here again on our next visit to Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uAndDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Upper level Gives u Nice View of Old Town etc there food is good The Location Close to Places of Night life And Easy Access to food drink and any thing u need !
Markets near by And Easy Access to Where u need to Go out of Hanoi !

Very Highly Recommended Place to Stay At least You wbe meeting By A smile from the Staff and they can do what ever u Need Reagrding bookings of tours Air tickets etc lol xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petraguide623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We used tha Asia Star as our base for travel in the north of Vietnam. We were travelling with 3 kids (11-16); this was not a problem for this hotel. They loved the kids and provided excellent service - packing a snack for one of our kids who was sick for the bus trip to Halong Bay. This was then followed up with a phone call to make sure he was ok. We felt very welcome at the Asia Star.
This is an older hotel, but it was clean & in a good location in the old quarter. Thoroughly recommend the Hanoi Asia Star.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
#202 of 592 in Hanoi
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
#165 of 592 in Hanoi
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Time Hotel
Time Hotel
#96 of 623 in Hanoi
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Asia Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Asia Star Hotel

Property: Hanoi Asia Star Hotel
Address: 20 Dao Duy Tu Street - Hoan Kiem - Hanoi | Old Quarter , Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0084-4, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 623 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Asia Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 3 stars hotel offers 26 rooms and suites with all modern facilities in the rooms. Stay at Asia Star hotel and get true value what you paid for. It is never easier to reach all the attractions Hanoi when you stay at Asia Star hotel. We have fantastic location where you can feel and see how does the local people live, daily life of everyone around. Around us, you can reach all the food shops selling local food where you can sitdown on the pavement and enjoy the special atmosphere. If you don't like that, you can also find some restaurants, bars, coffee shops around very easy. From our hotel, you just take a short walking to Hoan Kiem Lake, Dong Xuan Market, French Quarter.... All the rooms at Hanoi Asia Star hotel has window. They feature air-con, LCD TV with cable channels, desk and sitting area. Private bathroom includes shower, hot water and free toiletries. The facilities in the rooms are working very well. Beside of the room, we also offer all the service what you need to your plan in Vietnam. We offer travel service, laundry, car service and language assistance. You will be introduced when you need. All of our staffs are young, professional who have a lot of experience in hospitality service and speak frequently English. We are friendly, easy going people, always listen and understand what you do need for your memorial time in Vietnam. Your stay is more beautiful with Hanoi Asia Star hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Asia Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing