We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and accomodating staff”
Review of Hidden Charm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hidden Charm Hotel
Ranked #455 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and accomodating staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My second stay there and was very pleased with their service.
Right from airport to the hotel and their tours arrangements were very efficient.
Hotel is conveniently located within the old quarters.
Walking to Hoa Kiem Lake is about 20mins.
Excellent restaurants nearby within 2 km.
Hotels serves decent breakfast.
Rooms are spacious and clean but a little bit run down .
Value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing opposite side of road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    47
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
57
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

due to the special design of vietnam building tend to narrow but long, i thought the hotel room wont let me feel any excited to stay, but i was wrong. i check in a king size bed with jacuzzi room,and it's spacious. Laptop with wifi is provided in the room.

good location which we can find the famous food stall/restaurant(pho 10, bun bo nam nam bo...) within few minutes walking distance, and st.joseph cathedral is just located at the end corner of the same street.

The staffs are friendly, they are very happy to introduce places to us for visit. They also help us to carry our luggage from i get down from car until to the room.very worth to stay

The bathroom is clean but some minor thing is old and have to fix it to be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed at Hidden Charm Hotel in Hanoi in March 2013 after booking a room there online for $15 because its proximity to the Vietnam Airlines shuttle from Hanoi old town to the airport.
The hotel is very close to St. Joseph Cathedral and just a few minutes walk from the lake, therefore very central, but on a quiet alley so you can sleep well.
I arrived late (close to 10:00PM) but had no problems getting a room upstairs (room 502), as I asked. The hotel has a working elevator, not many hotels in this price range can boast one.
My room was lovely, well appointed and clean, with LDC TV, A/C and even a laptop (see my attached pics).
The breakfast was plentiful (I had fried eggs AND a pancake): one orders from a generous menu, and apparently may order several items.
I would have given Hidden Charm Hotel five stars if it wasn't for the fact that the toilet didn't flush properly (I attach a pic of the broken toilet) and the shower didn't drain (attached pic of the shower water not draining). Even after notifying both the receptionist and the manager of the hotel, the toilet still wasn't fixed.
If I stayed there again, and wasn't totally exhausted as I was last time, I would ask for another room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulcino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hidden Charm exceeded my expectations by offering service beyond a typical accommodation provider.

1. We booked our Halong Bay and Sapa trips with Ms Lee, whose descriptions and advice turned out accurate and suited to our needs. There were no hiccups during transportation transfers from place to place although many different parties are involved. They ran through of our itinerary with clarity and were able to clarity any doubts. Our itinerary was stored in the reception so different staff members could advise us whenever we needed it.

2. We safely stored our luggage while we went to Halong Bay and Hanoi, offered us a shower at their common bathroom while we waited for our train, and they took the extra mile to make sure our concerns are dealt with.

3. Rooms are spacious enough and is very comfortable for its price. Equipped with satellite TV channels and free wifi and a laptop. Clean room, bed, and bathroom.

4. Location is good and quiet. Located just far enough from the noisy streets. Walking distance to main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakeupcall_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at Indochina-Aquarius. The staff here were always friendly going beyond to make my stay pleasurable. The rooms could do with an upgrade with mould in the bathrooms. Rooms were relatively clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location in walking distance to the lake. Once again the staff were excellent

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbarry1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We spent 5 days with the Hidden Charm group as part of a package trip to Hanoi. The staff are first class, catering to every need. Excellent food recommendations, tour planning, and even had one of the staff take my wife shopping at the night market. Couldn't ask for more! Hotel is clean and efficient and is undergoing renovations to the lobby to spice it up a bit. Only minor negative is that there were a few simple fixes in the room that would have moved my rating to the top. Shower door with broken handle, broken handle on toilet flush (which they fixed after I pointed out). Little things that with just a bit more scrutiny would make the experience that much better. All in all, a very good experience in Hanoi.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Clean, spacious room! Tasty breakfast! Great location in the Old Quarter and Fantastic Service!Similar to other guests, we booked a 5 night package including Halong Bay & Mai Chau Valley. The trips were awesome and well organised with knowledgeable guides. At the end of our package we were going to continue southbound for 3 weeks by our own devices but decided to let Peter organise the rest of our trip. . . hotels, travel & day trips, leaving it pretty much in his hands. We didn't know what to expect and were extremely happy at the end of our holiday. Thank you Peter and to the rest of the Hidden Charm staff for making our Vietnam holiday a wonderful experience

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#479 of 586 in Hanoi
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
#132 of 586 in Hanoi
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#177 of 586 in Hanoi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.6 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#188 of 586 in Hanoi
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#127 of 586 in Hanoi
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Charm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Charm Hotel

Property: Hidden Charm Hotel
Address: 23 Pho Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden charm hotel is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Old Quarter. The hotel is designed in harmony, is the combination of classic and modern style. It’s peaceful and quite, a retreat from the city bus, providing the idea place to muse over your day. The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV, bath room with massage, sauna. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour front desk. The Hidden Charm hotel offers the best quality room for both of Traveler and businessman. It is great for the couple on honeymoon, solo traveler, and specially for businessman who stay for a long term, need translator, accountant service, business center, rent a car, or guide. The Hidden Charm hotel is really convenient for visiting all famous places in Hanoi such as: Hoan Kiem lake, water puppet theater, opera house, Hochiminh mausoleum, and also to ATM, Banks, Restaurant… just by short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Charm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing