We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value”
Review of Hidden Charm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hidden Charm Hotel
Ranked #465 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 21 October 2010

A lot of thought has gone into making Hidden Charm comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are well appointed and clean. The hotel is well located near the lake but not too noisy as it's on a side road.
The website is awful but don't be put off -the hotel is nicer than the amateur site would suggest and reception replied to my email promptly. The only criticisms I would make are that the duvets are too small, and I would have preferred a normal shower to a full on spa bath but hey I guess some people like that kind of thing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Hidden Charm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

Beautiful little hotel with gorgeous wood floors in the rooms, spacious, steam shower enclosure, flat screen tv. Good wifi, lovely breakfast (western) , refrig. Cost $35 while I was there at the busiest time of the year.
King bed with lovely linnens. Couldn't be happier! Wonderful crew at the desk and good bookings of trips too!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We really enjoyed staying in the Hidden Charm. The hotel is clean and modern and in a good location for the old quarter (not far from the lake). The rooms were of a good size, and contained good facilities. The staff were excellent, from reception, sales, night staff and the breakfast team. If we return to Hanoi in the future, we will return to the Hidden Charm. Thanks to the team!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at Hidden Charm for 4 nights in the middle of September. We had booked a Regal Elegance room but it was at the front of the hotel and rather noisy. We asked to be moved and were moved to a room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter. The hotel is in a narrow lane at the back of the cathedral (turn right out of the hotel to go past the cathedral and find the lake). We enjoyed staying here and would recommend it but they let themselves down by lack of attention to detail - no tissues in the room, no tea bags, broken lights, cool shower water in the evening, thin towels. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was OK but I was rather sick of omelettes after 4 days! It's reasonable value though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PipNZ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Very comfy hotel in the middle of hanoi. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all the time. The cozy rooms and excellent location come at a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiss30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

When I clicked on the hotel on TripAdvisor a coupon popped up for 40% off and free airport pickup. The rate on booking.com was $40 a night and they said that was the coupon rate. I was met by a driver with my name but he got lost looking for the hotel and had to call three times till he found it.

When I arrived I was met by Jenny who said my room was being made. In the meantime she had me sit down and made small talk and asked what my plans were in Hanoi. When I told her I had already booked my tours, surprise, my room was suddenly ready. I knew this was a little sneaky, but it was a soft sell and I was happy to be able to check in at 10am. However, they told me they would give me a quiet room that was not facing the street. It was anything but quiet! DO NOT STAY IN THIS ROOM! It is the first one up the stairs and you hear EVERYONE talking in the lobby because the door faces the lobby. The room is large but has very bad lighting and the bathroom came with a Japanese style capsule shower that was trendy, but if you are tall, you will have a hard time taking a shower. One of the few times in my life I was glad I am short. The bed is hard, but they provided a mattress pad that helped.

The free breakfast buffet is good, with fresh squeezed orange juice.

The girls during the day are very helpful and speak good English. However, the men at night are of no help at all if you can't speak Vietnamese.

Excellent location just off a main street.

Overall, I would probably try another hotel because there is so much competition in this price range and if 40% off is $40, the hotel is over priced. At $40 it was a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bpdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I want to thank Jenny and the other staff at the Hidden Charm Hotel for providing me with such a great visit to Vietnam. I surely will return!

You and all of your staff were wonderful to me -- from the other women who worked at the desk during the day -- to Dang on the night shift -- to the cleaning staff -- to the breakfast crew. You all made my stay a wonderful one and I will always remember it!

You asked for feedback on the hotel itself and the only improvement I could see is that the bed was somewhat hard but when I slept on top of the covers it had enough padding to be comfortable. So, one improvement might be to place some padding over the mattress to make it a little softer. But this is my ONLY suggestion.

Everything else was perfect and as I mentioned you and the other staff made my stay a pleasure! So, I surely will be coming back to stay with you sometime -- I hope soon.

Thank you, Jenny, and please let the other staff know how much I appreciate their great work.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank alaska_kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Wings II Hotel
Golden Wings II Hotel
#489 of 598 in Hanoi
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#197 of 598 in Hanoi
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#288 of 598 in Hanoi
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#122 of 598 in Hanoi
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#139 of 598 in Hanoi
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Charm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Charm Hotel

Address: 23 Pho Au Trieu St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden charm hotel is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Old Quarter. The hotel is designed in harmony, is the combination of classic and modern style. It’s peaceful and quite, a retreat from the city bus, providing the idea place to muse over your day. The modern rooms are all equipped with air cooling and flat screen TV, bath room with massage, sauna. Guests will appreciate the popular broadband package offer and the 24-hour front desk. The Hidden Charm hotel offers the best quality room for both of Traveler and businessman. It is great for the couple on honeymoon, solo traveler, and specially for businessman who stay for a long term, need translator, accountant service, business center, rent a car, or guide. The Hidden Charm hotel is really convenient for visiting all famous places in Hanoi such as: Hoan Kiem lake, water puppet theater, opera house, Hochiminh mausoleum, and also to ATM, Banks, Restaurant… just by short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hidden Charm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing