We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Box Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Nikko Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Hanoi(Hanoi)
US$247
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
93
72
43
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
72
43
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomair congreat hotel friendly staffall hours of the nightvisa extensionsinteresting hotelold quarterdouble bedparty hostelshalong baybus stationcomplimentary toiletriesback packersfamily roomfourth floorcheap priceplace to sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I was in Hanoi some days ago and stayed in thís hotel for 4 nights.
The manager and the staff are friendly and always at our disposition.
Room ís confortable and service good too.
May be i ll return there when i ll back Ha Noi next year

Room Tip: Deluxe... others are good too
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vungtauhcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hotel room is average but we wont expect more for USD 18/night/room with breakfast. The location is very strategic. There is night market on every Fri/Sat/Sun nights. So be sure to stay at old quarters. However, the best thing about the hotel is really the service. Ken is really helpful and supportive for tourists especially needed in Hanoi whose people generally does not converse in English. He brought us for local breakfast and even arrange tours for us at the best price (yes, it is true, we compared it). He gave alot of good advises and help us to save money too. He even helped us to get some souveniers. Besides that, James, his assistant is also very helpful and proactive.

One thing we have to say, maybe because the weather or occupancy is high, they ran out of blankets and did not prepare the room in time for our subsequent check-in. They managed to resolve that for us, but couldn't resolve for the other room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chokvuisoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have been to hanoi over 8 times, and a friend past me the details of Ken, the location is superb, the rooms clean and presentable, house keeping was always done well...... I felt safe and secure at all times, Ken was available 24 hours a day, a great host and a nice family man.....His wife was really friendly and I wish them well on their new baby which should be arriving any day soon......look forward to seeing you next year and sampling more of that amazing Beef Noodle soup.

all the Best Eric (Manchester England)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The main attraction for us for this hotel was the location. Its well located in the old quarter and pretty well priced. We negotiated down to $14 a person, so a very good value in the area. The locations great, but the hotel is rather old and worn down. Some rooms were rather musty and for the most part typical of a Vietnamese hotel. The ACs in the rooms were pretty new and they did keep the rooms very clean.

The staff was also very friendly to us. They didn't try to push us any tours or anything and were helpful when we asked them for advice. After we left on a Halong Bay trip, we came back to the hotel and they upgraded us to the larger double room for the same price. My only other quam with this place apart from being old is that they play a little loose with the exchange rate, but at the end of the day it'll cost you another 50 cents so not a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Let’s be very straight forward about this. The term “hotel” is often used very loosely in Vietnam and more than often, if it does not have a big brand/chain name like Inter-Continental or Hilton in front, you’re most likely getting a room in a guest house. I’m all in favour of supporting mom and pop guest houses but Emperor is clearly one that has gone commercial. Left to the devices of its helpers, it offers only the bare essentials, without tipping over into the unacceptable.

The room was tidy and the sheets were slightly stained (I’m hoping it was washed and those could not be removed) but smelled rather fresh. I was just happy there were no bugs. There was wifi and hot water provided and that’s pretty basic in any room.

What really left a nasty aftertaste was the poor service. We had paid for airport transfer but on arriving at the airport, our pickup was nowhere in sight for 2 hours. After repeated pricy calls, we finally found him smoking at the open air car park. This inefficiency was repeated when we were about to depart. We were told that our ride had been conveniently stopped at a highway, and not able to pick us up and send us to the airport, just 2 hours before our plane departs. Lapsing into a minor panic attack, we turned to the assistant who returned with a clueless look and no alternative in sight. Fortunately for us, this was very easily resolved, with the friends we made at Hanoi Back Packer’s Hostel (along Ma May road). A simple call, 8USD and 10 minutes later, we were quickly whisked off and got on our flight home with just minutes to spare.

I think the low quality of service of a guest house is very telling when you have to go to another establishment for a simple thing like booking a taxi.The only “highlight” of our stay there was watching a fight break out in a club directly across Emperor Hotel.

I probably would not stay there again; and I’m disappointed that Emperor Hotel falls very short from the royal treatment it promises its guests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews